We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Ranked #43 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Kalgoorlie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hotel”
Reviewed November 25, 2008

We stayed at the Patra end of Oct beginning of Nov and absolutely loved it. Mostly the grounds were immaculate and vast; my husband has a back injury and is unable to walk far so we always had use the buggies to get around the hotel which the staff were really great about, they even let my 3 and 4 yr old sit on thier laps and help steer!
The buffet breakfast was amazing with a huge choice of cereals, fruit, cooked breakfasts and continental choices available. Breakfast went from 6.30am - 10.30am and we found if you went after 9.45am the service was poor with plenty of dirty tables and no-one available to serve tea/coffee.
We stayed in a deluxe suite - on arrival they showed us to a deluxe room but when we explained that this was not what we had payed for we were immediately moved with the smallest amount of fuss possilble. The 2 bedrooms (had a sliding door to separate them) were massive and clean, though after the first night of the kids constantly rolling over and kicking/hitting each other in thier sleep (their bed was a thin saggy pull out sofa bed) we requested another single bed, but the next day 2 single beds appeared and they fitted easily into the room along with the sofa.
Our bed was king size and contributed to, along with the most fantastically comfortable pillows, very comfortable sleeps. There was a TV in each room so kids and adults were happy.
The bathroom was immaculate and the toilet sprayer of great entertainment to the 3yr old! as were the 3 phones in the suite!
The fridge in the room is small if you are trying to cater for constantly hungry /thirsty children - we invested in an esky!
The staff were always happy and extremely helpful especially the concierge staff.
We used the kids club 3 times during our stay and though the hotel boasts it is the largest in Bali, We were not really impressed, it was average. We took our kids once to swim in the small kids club pool and they had a ball, though parts of the pool edges were very slippery with slime so extreme care had to be taken. The grounds in the kids club certainly did need some work and the trampoline springs were rusty. On the second occasion we left the children with the kids club babysitter (3yr olds and under have to have thier own babysitter, $25000rp an hour) and the children certainly didn't seem to have had the greatest time when we picked them up - it was luck of the draw as the other kids were older and wouldn't play with ours. On the third occasion our nanny took them and they had a great time because she gave them individual attention. I would recommend the kids club if your kids are 8yrs and over - this was our first trip away as a family and us adults were looking forward to making use of the kids club, so it was a bit of a dissapointment.
Hotel prices were very expensive (43000rp for a bintang) so be warned!
The main pool certainly could have been cleaned better - we didn't notice any green slime but there were alot of leaves and flowers floating in it.
When we wanted to go out we asked at the concierge desk to call for a Blue Bird taxi as they were always cheaper than the metered taxis that the taxi stand would call for. The taxi stand won't call for Blue Bird taxis.
Overall our stay was fabulous but the hotel prices certainly put a dent in our budget, travelling with toddlers did not make us as mobile as we thought we'd be, many times they were just too tired to go out to get dinner, so we felt like a captive audience to the hotel restaurants.

  • Liked — huge rooms, friendly/helpful staff
  • Disliked — prices of food and drink
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    330
    122
    47
    23
See reviews for
330
275
34
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Far North Coast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2008

My husband and I and our twin girls (12 y.o) stayed for ten days, we booked two connecting rooms and they were nice, but a bit far out of the way, the kids didn't mind as you can take a ride in the chauferred electric buggies ( this can be a problem waiting around if their are conventions or special guests as we found out ). There were renovations being done to the hotel next door and it was quite excruiciating at times as a concrete cutter was being used, I complained two morning in a row and nothing happened, but I think everything was lost in the translation - but when I complained nicely on the third day, a manager went out of his way to offer a solution to the problem - ie moving us if we wanted and allowing us to check out at ten pm the night of our departure withoout an extra payment. A few days later it was my birthday and a cake was delivered to our table and the staff not only sang happy birthday, they each had signed a card they'd made for me! My girls didn't like the kids club they said it was boring, but they loved the pools, and the swim up bar. They had heaps of fun hiring pushbikes with us, a new pathway along the beachfront (which is also being 'renovated' is nearly complete) so we went around the local streets and met the friendliest people. Ther staff are all friendly, the security was really good, ( when we were there the 3 bombers were executed ) and every vehicle is checked right over and at night security roam the grounds, but it is unobtrusive and actually made us feel safer. The airport vacinity really isn't a problem, you really don't notice it and the Patra has this very quiet, cruissie feel about it. I'd definitely go back.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank twinsmum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Spent the last week in October staying at the Patra. Overall I'd say the experience was very good. Went with my wife, 15 year old and 8 month old son's. Excellent place to stay for families.

Stayed in a deluxe suite - room 450. Arrived at 10pm. They didn't realise we needed a cot but brought one to our room pronto (complete with mosquito net). Very roomy, clean and comfortable. TV in each room with 53 channels to keep our teenager occupied at night.

Wifi internet available for those with a laptop - 200,000R for 10 hours - a tad expensive but hey, we're on holiday! Gave us 1.5 hours every day to check email, look up Bali websites and for our love-sick teenager to MSN his girlfriend.

The grounds are in pristine condition with diligent, friendly, grounds staff working hard to keep it that way every day. Beautiful gardens, statues, fish ponds etc.

All the staff were always very happy and would go out of their way to help you any way they could.

Pools are in very good condition. The obligatory pool bar was very welcome at the end of a hot, humid day out and about.

I found the food to vary between average and very good. The buffet breakfast was consistently good. Had one excellent and one average meal at the Japanese restaurant (apparently the fourth best restaurant in Bali). The food at the Balinese night was awesome.

Security seemed very good. All vehicles/baggage gets checked reasonably thoroughly at the gate by guards with and under-car mirror and metal detectors. Towards the end of the week when there was a lot of press in Australia about the Bali bombers' executions we noticed more security guards than normal patrolling the grounds.

If you are SUPER EXTRA fussy you might complain about a few grotty bits in the deepest, darkest corners of the bathroom. A few bits of mould above the waterline in the main pool. Some building noises coming from one side of the resort. The sound of bulldozers on the beach. The odd jet taking off from the airport next door. And YES some of the cushions in the main restaurant are quite stained!

All these things however had very minimal impact on our stay and I feel we got excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, immaculate gardens
  • Disliked — Construction site next door with minor noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil71Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Just got back from 7 days in Kuta. Stayed at the Patra and found the whole experience fantastic. If you like a holiday where you're not immersed in the hussle and bussle, then staying at the Patra is what you need to do. It's only a short taxi fare to the main area of Kuta and a nice walk (about 20mins) along the beach front - which is currently being developed to make the beach bigger. Hotel facilities were great, staff were exceptionally obliging and friendly, I had breakfasts included in my package and could start the day with more then enough food to get me going - fresh fruit, coffee (great coffee!) cereals, pastries, hot food - eggs (of any kind you desire), bacon etc. I stayed in a Deluxe room (I think it's their basic suite) which was more than adequate for my needs. King size bed, fresh towels daily (not grey as I read in another review), the room was always made up after a day out. Anyway, who goes to bali to hang out in their hotel room? It's where you sleep, shower and dress. Excellent pools to relax by surrounded by resort grounds that were always immaculate. Someone had written in another review the grounds were terrible....maybe they'd just had a hurricane go through there because there is no way these grounds were anything less than pristine every day. Overall I would recommend the Patra to anyone wanting a relaxing place to retreat to after a day on the streets of Kuta. I will definitely return and stay at the Patra once again.

  • Liked — The resort ambience and Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Just back from a week at Patra Bali for our honeymoon - we were upgraded FOC to a deluxe suite. Last year we stayed at the much smaller but equally highly graded Komenka in Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, which we loved. We enjoyed the Patra more. The suite - bedroom, lounge and bathroom was very high standard. We'd had a couple of nights in a suite in the Sheraton in Perth after our wedding, and the Patra was a postive contrast to the competent but relatively soulless chain operator in Perth.
Breakfast in the main restaurant area was fully equal to the offerings in most high end properties, and the staff were invariably helpful. At present there is a major beach reclamation project underway that includes the area in front of the Patra, so there is earth moving equipment about making a bit of noise 24/7. Surprisingly this didn't really seem to have a big impact on guests - or maybe it was just because we had our own earth moving thing going on? If you get my drift!
One small maintenance criticism - a layer of mould around the water line of the pools was evident and did not seem the type of problem that should be there when maintenance on the rest of the property was of a high standard.
During our week there we spent a lot of time looking at all the hotels along the beach south of Kuta to plot our next trip - in our view the Patra is the pick of them, the only real disadvantage being that it is a 10K to 15K rupiah trip by taxi to Kuta Square, and there's not a lot in close walking distance to the Patra.
Overall we enjoyed our time at the Patra, and despite our preference for Ubud, we'd return if wanting to stay near the coast.

  • Liked — High quality construction of suites
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.5 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#42 of 252 in Kuta
2,191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#40 of 252 in Kuta
1,603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rama Beach Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patra Bali Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patra Bali Resort & Villas

Property: The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Address: Jl. Ir. H. Juanda, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kuta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#30 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#32 Family Hotel in Kuta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Patra Bali Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas is a five star hotel set among 11 hectares of combination panoramic ocean and lush garden views, reflecting a true element of style in the culturally rich environment of Bali. The location is ideal, a huge landscaped property on South Kuta Beach, directly on the Indian Ocean and only five minutes from the airport. A huge (free) kids club with variety of kid's activities and great facilities for families made Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas one of Bali's most popular family resorts and the tropical gardens are particularly favored for weddings. The huge variety of breakfast selection (International food, Japanese food, Indonesian food and Indian Food) will indulge you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Patra Bali Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patra Bali Resort And Villas
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Hotel Kuta
Patra Bali Resort
Patra Bali Hotel
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing