We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy but probably wouldn't return ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Ranked #29 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy but probably wouldn't return ”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Patra for 10 nights with my 8 year old. We arrived just before midnight and politely greeted and checked in, given little information. We were then taken to our room by buggy. Room was a deluxe room, clean but nothing special. It also had a very strong smell of smoke. When we woke in the morning and decided to head to breakfast, I realised we had no idea where we were - no map given and nothing explained the night before. (I thought this may have been an oversight until one morning another confused looking couple asked us where to go for breakfast. ) We were in a room which was the furthest from lobby and pool - a 5-7 minute, brisk walk. On the positive side, staff were very friendly, informative and obliging. The staff in the pool area were especially friendly and chatty - which we didn't mind, but be aware that they all have a brother / wife / friend who they can recommend for tour or selling you something!! The pool was very clean and well kept. I think around 5ft deep at the deepest part. There were a few noodles and kick boards around for kids to use. Most days the pool was very quiet. This hotel is very close to the airport and when outside you see (and hear) the large planes taking off. We didn't notice too much at night. It was a short drive to Kuta for shopping - cost around 30,000rp (A$3.00) from hotel. On return we always caught a metered taxi which cost around 12,000rp (A$1.20). You could walk along beach to shops and restaurants also - however we didn't want to be hassled by beach sellers.
The restaurants at the resort were virtually empty every night. The food was not bad.
In all, the place was very quiet all day except for the breakfast buffet. Not as many families as I hoped. This was our first trip to Bali and we enjoyed our stay at the Patra away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    325
    118
    41
    23
See reviews for
319
271
34
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

stayed here for new year nice place but not for kids , needs a bit of a make over, close to airport food quite good one restaurant in hotel is not link to hotel not very good , staff very friendly . small convenience store just outside of hotel on beach side very good .

Room Tip: we had a room on ground floor it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

First night we were disappointed as the interconnecting rooms had a few issues - ours smelled of cigarette smoke, we had super thin pillows and the kids' aircon and fridge didn't work. The next day we asked to be moved and were very excited to be upgraded to an embassy suite which was two levels with a separate lounge room. The staff were very helpful. A plus for this hotel was the pools (minus the loud Aussies that you can endure in Kuta) and how it overlooks the beach. It is just a bit far from Kuta to walk with kids (20mins to Discovery) and to restaurants. We ended up getting the reasonably priced hotel drivers out and the Blue Bird Taxis home. One day we hired push bikes from the hotel which was a fun and easy way to get all the way to Seminyak along the beach (made it easier to avoid hawkers too!). This hotel was built to last and we would recommend it if you want to be close to the action without the hussle and bussle.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is so close to the airport, you can even walk there to reach it. So its suitable for short business trip to Bali. The best value to the hotel I think is the beach, its quite clean, very wide, and surprisingly much less crowded compared to other spots in Kuta. The sunset is beautiful, and the view of planes landing over the sunset (you can see the airport runway in the distance) makes it even better.
All of the rooms are in the form of bungalows. The architecture is okay but outdated.The rooms are mostly nice. In my last visit (my 4th time coming here) I stayed at the the Deluxe Suite. Its huge with its own living room, dining room, two flat TV with decent cable channels, and a beautiful bathroom. The downside was my room is far from the lobby and the beach (more than 10 minutes walk). The furniture also need updating, they were so retro.
The staffs were nice, but need to smile more. The breakfast was also nice, but I had to get my own coffee. They need to put more staffs for breakfast time.
The pools are okay, although I had difficulty finding towels and there was no staff near the pool to be asked for help.
Overall its a very good choice if you wanna stay in Kuta or near the airport. Patra needs to develop it's other hotels like this one.

Room Tip: the bungalows facing the sea are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simply_tyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patra Jasa B, Public Relations Manager at The Patra Bali Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas.

Thank you for selecting Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas as your recent stay during your holiday in Bali and for posting your review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have passed your valuable comments to all the staff and manager concerned to ensure it would not happen again in the future. We are all more than happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

We all wish that we will have the pleasure to have you again with us at your next holiday.

Best Regards,
Mina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Patra is ok! It used to be my favourite hotel but seeing that the manager left the service has gone down hill!! As I have stayed here every time I go to Bali nearly all the staff know me and try to give me a warm friendly greating with flowers!! Would recommend Patra for a short stay and for shopping as it is close to the main shopping area!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patra Jasa B, Public Relations Manager at The Patra Bali Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas.

Thank you for selecting Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas as your recent stay during your holiday in Bali and for posting your review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have passed your valuable comments to all the staff and we are all more than happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

We all wish that we will have the pleasure to have you again with us at your next holiday.

Best Regards,
Mina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent the last of our 3 weeks in Bali at the Patra Jasa and could not have wished for better. From the incredibly warm welcome on day 1 to the politeness and helpfulness of the staff on checkout, we could not fault it. Yes, it is older than some of the hotels nearby and there are the odd maintenance issues that need to be attended to, but the setting, the service, staff and facilities more than make up for it.
Buffet breakfast was a huge variety that would suit the fussiest of eaters from any country, with impeccable, fast and friendly service. Room service was speedy, polite and very accomodating for any housekeeping requests we had.
Two amazing pool areas, swim up bar, a variety of restaurants, friendly staff and right on the beach, who could ask for more? It is close to the airport and yet the noise the planes make is not intrusive and we had a great time waving from the pool (Bintangs in hand) and feeling so blessed to be in such a beautiful spot.
My husband enjoyed Bali, but had no intention of returning until we found this lovely place, now he is talking about our next holiday with family and friends in tow.Thank you Patra Jasa, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patra Jasa B, Public Relations Manager at The Patra Bali Resort & Villas, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas.

Thank you for selecting Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas as your recent stay during your holiday in Bali and for posting your review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have passed your valuable comments to all the staff and we are all more than happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

We all wish that we will have the pleasure to have you again with us at your next holiday.

Best Regards,
Mina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Came from the Padma to vary our visit to Bali, and booked into the Patra Jasa for the final 5 days for over new year. Very disappointed with how old the resort is. Yes Gough Whitlam stayed here in the 70's, and I dont think they have made any changes since that era!
The pool was ok, and we stayed in a Royal Villa which cost over US$700 per night for our family of five. The rack rate was over US$1500 per night so dont think anyone in their right mind would pay that. The Villa was spacious and comfortable enough, but we found the service around the resort second rate to where we had just stayed. The breakfast area is old and worn out, with the line up for the egg station too long (one person on??). The food was below par, and if you wanted a cup of tea or coffee, you had to go and get your own from an old machine.
The wireless connection was so frustrating as it came in and out, but generally very slow to the point where dont bother trying to hook up.
Didnt eat there (except some breakfasts) as meals were not enticing at all, unless you like buffet style with no flavour.
The grounds were ok, but again tired and old. Sunset outlook from our room was great.
Hope whoever owns this resort puts some investment back into it and does an update.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
1.5 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patra Bali Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patra Bali Resort & Villas

Property: The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Address: Jl. Ir. H. Juanda, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kuta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#20 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#32 Family Hotel in Kuta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Patra Bali Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas is a five star hotel set among 11 hectares of combination panoramic ocean and lush garden views, reflecting a true element of style in the culturally rich environment of Bali. The location is ideal, a huge landscaped property on South Kuta Beach, directly on the Indian Ocean and only five minutes from the airport. A huge (free) kids club with variety of kid's activities and great facilities for families made Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas one of Bali's most popular family resorts and the tropical gardens are particularly favored for weddings. The huge variety of breakfast selection (International food, Japanese food, Indonesian food and Indian Food) will indulge you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Patra Bali Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Hotel Kuta
The Patra Bali Resort And Villas
Patra Bali Resort
Patra Bali Hotel
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing