We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pick-up your game Patra!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Patra Bali Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Ranked #32 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pick-up your game Patra!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

After returning from the Patra this morning...17/05/2012, i was is two minds of returning next year!!
The Patra have dropped their standard in the way of not trusting their guests!! On arrival 11 days ago the check in went well until they advised us that our Debit Visa/mastercard was no good. What they do now is, take your Credit Card and freeze it to them just in case you do a runna if you buy something within the resort a bill it back to your room. i have many things that are taking out of my account as direct debit, so i just could't see what the problem was.

There motto was, cash only on the things you buy. One day i ordered up $20.00 worth of drinks at the pool side bar, i said to the bar person l'll go back to my room and get the money to pay and they said that they would have one of their bar staff follow me back to get the cash...HOW RUDE, after spending nearly $4.000 i thought i was being treated like a second class citizen and they call this a 5 star resort...I think not!!! Yesterday, the head poolside bar person..(female), ask my wife if we were staying for lunch and she said no and when i saw her as we were leaving the resort i said to her see you after as she knew we were going else where for lunch and she returned her comment as i quote...don't come back, again, HOW RUDE!!!

Drinks and food...my STRONG ADVISE is go and buy them outside the resort, much better value. For one stubbie of Bintang beer at the resort is around $5.50 to $6.00. if you go to a local Kmart store or other shops you can pick them up for around $1.30 to $1.70..big saving!! There's a market called Carrafour, i picked a box of 24 stubbies of Bintang for $31.00 aussie dollars, so i guess you get the picture. To eat out, you can get a 3 course meal with drinks for two for around $40.00, where at the resort you can pay anything up to $100.00 and the thing that gets me, i was talking to one of the managers one night and even agreed that they should lower there prices, but as this resort is owed by the Indonesian Government i think not!!!

My final mention for the Patra Villa Resort is, pick up your game, drop your prices of your food and drinks and "train" some of your staff to be more considerate to us as paying customers, if it wasn't for us these holiday resorts would go broke. In other areas of the resort are still fine, other staff are very well mannered, breakfast is still very good, security is %100 and even the gardeners are well mannered. Hopefully others may say the same thing and you may do something about this, but time will tell!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: For those coming to the Patra, a Delux Suite is the way to go, could not fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robbo011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    317
    114
    41
    22
See reviews for
310
259
32
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

stayed there for 10 days during event for Basarnas Indonesia with UNOCHA delegation.
- 5mnts from airport
- near kuta
- delicious food
- near beach, u can walk along the beach and suddenly u arrived at kuta beach
- warm hospitality
- good for family or honeymooners.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syafitriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We decided to stay at the patra because of all the good reviews placed on trip advisor and I must say they were spot on. I stayed with my wife
son and his wife plus their four year old triplets. We arrived very late at night the staff were very helpful and efficient and were in our rooms in very quick time. The rooms were very clean and spacious.Our sons family room again was very clean and more than enough room for the five of them. Breakfast was fabulous and had more than enough variety to satisfy even the most picky, they had western and asian food on offer I enjoyed the combination of both on the same plate.The pool is fantastic
shallow enough for the children and deep enough the other end for the adults. The gardens are unreal and the staff work really hard to keep them that way. The children loved the kids club and it says a lot when they would sooner go there than come shopping with us. The staff at the kids club look after the children as if they were their own. While staying at the patra my wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding aniversary and our son arranged for a cake, what was a very nice touch was that the staff signed a card and it was delivered along with the cake. little things like this make the stay all the more rememberable. The hotel also has a hosptality car that will drop you off at Kuta square or for around $3 arrange for a taxi to drop you off at the same. All in all a great holiday and we can`t wait to go back, thank you patra and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cunderdin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

WOW we loved this place. Our first trip to Bali and what an experience. The pool is unreal... the people are fabulous, the rooms are nice and roomy.. clean and tidy. We had a suite with the main bed in one room and two beds in the "lounge"... it worked really well!
The gardens are unreal... it was simlply magical to open the curtains in the moring and see the beautiful water features and fish ponds!
We have 2 children 11 and 8 years. The only suggestion would be more older children activity in the kids club.. but we only had them in there for half a day (better for younger children) The resident wood carver did a lesson with the children as they were really interested in what he was doing!!
OHHHHH the cocktails and mocktails in the pool bar were a real novelty!!! Breakfast was brilliant... so much to choose from. We also ate at the italian place and had room service, all great food.
OK yes it was a long walk to the main centre but only $2.50 by car to drive or $1.20 back in a taxi. Personally liked being a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta
We walked to town along the beach and checked out the other pools etc... the kids have asked to come back to the Patra... so that pretty much gives you an idea of what it is like for them!!
The currency converter at the hotel had a really reasonable rate too that that made it easier!!
Honestly I would be suprised if anyone would be disappointed with the Patra.. you would have to be pretty picky!!
We had an unreal time and wish we were there for longer. Thank you Patra, see you again soon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisndusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

This is our third stay at the Patra, with 3years since our last stay. I have read some reviews about it being dated and I couldn't disagree more. Since I was here last they have a new bar on the beach which is fantastic and a great footpath along the beach into Kuta.
Yes it is a 1.5km walk to Kuta (water bomb park area) it takes 15 Minutes along the beach on a paved footpath the whole way, it was great and a fantastic way to get some excercise and the hotel even hire mountain bikes if you'd prefer to cycle in.
The staff here are amazing & helpful & we recieved a free room upgrade to a deluxe Suite (highly recommend) huge marble bathroom, 2 Balconies dining/living area seperate to the bathroom.
The food is yummy too! Club sandwich!!
We went every afternoon to the lovely ladies on the beach for a $5au 1hr massage & they also helped teach me Indonesian. They seem a little intimidating at first but they truly are lovely people!
I couldn't fault the Patra... I have stayed at approx 8 hotels in Bali and my mother and I have both agreed Patra is still our favourite & we feel very safe & comfortable here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaobella1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Great service with friendly smiles, beautiful pool with swim up bar - enjoyed the breakfast and luxury rooms. just a tad far out of Kuta, need to use the blue taxi service to get around.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodvale, Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I was very concerned about staying at the Patra after reading some of the comments on Trip Advisor. They were so varied. What were we in for, have we made a mistake?

Well, we spent 9 nights in April 2012 with our 2 children (6 and 8) and had a fantastic time. As we knew that the hotel grounds were huge, we emailed ahead to request a room close to the pool and upstairs and we certainly weren’t disappointed. Our Deluxe Suite (which suits our family lifestyle) was amazing with two balconies, no common walls, king bed, beds for the children, lounge, marble bathroom, separate bath/shower and plenty of storage and 2 TV’s!! The children's TV was even bigger than ours!!! (Ok they weren’t modern TV’s but they still do the same job). There was plenty of hot water and the rooms were always serviced immaculately by the staff.

The pool area is huge and very inviting, the grounds are beautifully manicured and the staff could not do enough for you, they were so friendly. To some it may be a little far out of Kuta for restaurants and shopping but it only takes about 15 minutes to walk on the beach to the centre of Kuta (which by the way is a lovely stroll) and if you don’t want to walk ....well $2.00 AUS isn’t much to take a metered taxi or there is a free shuttle bus at different times during the day from the hotel. For us it wasn’t a problem and we enjoyed not being in the hustle and bustle of Kuta especially whith children. Being close to the airport doesn’t cause any grief either - the children loved seeing the planes land.

Breakfast at the hotel was great, heaps and heaps to choose from. If you didn’t want to eat at the hotel, there were 3-4 restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance that were very reasonably priced, actually all of them were cheaper than most of the restaurants on the main street of Kuta.

We couldn’t fault our experience at the Patra one bit and we would definitely stay there again. Congratulations on a fabulous resort which is well priced to suit down to earth families.

Room Tip: Upstairs Deluxe Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dancam06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.5 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
1.0 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
1.3 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#39 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patra Bali Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patra Bali Resort & Villas

Property: The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Address: Jl. Ir. H. Juanda | South Kuta Beach, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kuta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#24 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#33 Family Hotel in Kuta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Patra Bali Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas is a five star hotel set among 11 hectares of combination panoramic ocean and lush garden views, reflecting a true element of style in the culturally rich environment of Bali. The location is ideal, a huge landscaped property on South Kuta Beach, directly on the Indian Ocean and only five minutes from the airport. A huge (free) kids club with variety of kid's activities and great facilities for families made Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas one of Bali's most popular family resorts and the tropical gardens are particularly favored for weddings. The huge variety of breakfast selection (International food, Japanese food, Indonesian food and Indian Food) will indulge you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Patra Bali Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patra Bali Resort And Villas
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Hotel Kuta
Patra Bali Resort
Patra Bali Hotel
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing