We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down!”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The hotel was very average and a bit of a let down after our stay at the Royal santrian in Nusa dua. The location is perfect and everything is a just a short walk/ride away from the hotel. However, it was too crowded and faces the road lined up with street shops/ hawkers. Getting breakfast was a struggle as the restaurant seemed to be full till closing time! Quite an average stay and would have preferred a more comfortable stay for the rates we paid!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank arunimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anastasia247, Public Relations Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole staff of Ramayana Resort & Spa, we would like to take a moment to thank you for your recent visit to Ramayana Resort & Spa.
We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction during your stay with us.
Thank you for sparing your time in bringing this matter to our attention and we sincerely hope that you will have no further cause for any complaint in our service and hope you are satisfied with the corrective action taken by us. Your comments will help us serve you and our entire guest better in the future.
We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors
If you have any clarification please don’t hesitate to call us.

Kind Regards,

Management
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    648
    194
    76
    37
See reviews for
375
620
81
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Had a fantastic time at the Ramayana Resort and Spa. Would recommend it to anyone for location, cleanliness, service, value and great rooms not to mension great eating places. Had a ball and only minutes to shopping at markets and kuta square which has Gloria Jeans coffee. Thank you everyone at the Ramayana Resort and Spa will see you again in late September to early October 2011 when we come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsidol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anastasia247, Public Relations Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole staff of Ramayana Resort & Spa, we would like to take a moment to thank you for your comment to Ramayana Resort & Spa. Your comments will help us serve you and our entire guest better in the future.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Kind Regards,

Management
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I don't know where to start. We have just experienced a wonderful holiday staying in the Club Rooms which were spacious, clean and a wonderful escape from the heat .
Breakfast had a great choice for everyone, sometimes a bit frustrating with people not respecting queues but otherwise ok.
The staff in every area of the Hotel were wonderful courteous and professional at all times,
We had fun afternoons at the pool bar being entertained by the staff while drinking cocktails. The food we had in every restaurant was top notch. Special mention to the Seafood House where we had the best BBQ Duck we have ever had.
The Ramayana has the best position in Kuta we hardly had to worry about the traffic jams we just walked everywhere, most times it was a lot quicker. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Ramayana to anyone. The Club rooms would be our choice again we stayed on the ocean side Room 911 which may be noisy for some but the music across the road finished at 11pm every night so it didn't bother us at all and although the view wasn't directly to the beach it was great to look out and just watch below.
We have stayed in Bali many times and for convenience to absolutely everything Bali has to offer you can't go past The Ramayana. Thanks for everything Paul & Robyn

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbielowep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anastasia247, Public Relations Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole staff of Ramayana Resort & Spa, we would like to take a moment to thank you for your comment to Ramayana Resort & Spa. Your comments will help us serve you and our entire guest better in the future.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Kind Regards,

Management
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were valued guests. We booked the Club Rooms - which have all been fitted with new pillow top mattresses so that was a great start. Free afternoon tea which was great after the big breakfast in the gabah restaurant, then a free evening cocktail each, plus free 1/2 hour massage. We ate at the restaurant one night and the meals were fabulous - the presentation was excellent, and i highly recommend the seafood laksa. All the staff were friendly - particularly the guys at the pool bar - thanks to Wayan in particular! Location is another plus - across the road from the markets, a short stroll to the beach, and the sports bar downstairs. Brilliant - can't understand why some people have knocked this place - our whole experience at the Ramayana has yet again been unforgettable, and i've already started plans for our next stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyblu_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anastasia247, Public Relations Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole staff of Ramayana Resort & Spa, we would like to take a moment to thank you for your comment to Ramayana Resort & Spa. Your comments will help us serve you and our entire guest better in the future.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Kind Regards,

Management
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

This is a good hotel and has an ideal location close to the beach. It is also within walking distance to Legian nightlife. The rooms are spacious. This was an very welme and pleasant experience after experiencing a terrible night and Ramayana's sister hotel the previous evening. The airconditioner was not working.

There is a 24 hour convenience store right at the hotel's doorstep and eateries are not far away.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezign99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anastasia247, Public Relations Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole staff of Ramayana Resort & Spa, we would like to take a moment to thank you for your comment to Ramayana Resort & Spa. Your comments will help us serve you and our entire guest better in the future.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Kind Regards,

Management
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed here 3 years ago and recently over the Chinese New Year weekend.

I found that they've done some refurbishment since or they must've given me a better room this time.

My room was right by the pool and was well equipped with all I needed, comfy bed, good showers, many tv channels (to watch while I'm in bed). Garden surroundings and shady trees made it feel like I was in an oasis in bustling Kuta.

Staff were friendly and helpful despite being busy during this peak holiday season. Many good restaurants nearby eg Gabah, BlueFin & Stadium. Kuta beach is only a few minutes walk away.

I think the hotel can improve on the following areas:
- should offer free wifi to hotel guests for the price they are charging.
- room rates have gone up by 30% since I was here 3 years ago.
- spa services are way overpriced. I managed to get the same service for 1/3 at another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anastasia247, Public Relations Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole staff of Ramayana Resort & Spa, we would like to take a moment to thank you for your comment to Ramayana Resort & Spa. Your comments will help us serve you and our entire guest better in the future.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Kind Regards,

Management
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The location was good.
Grounds were well kept.
The staff were friendly - a little unprofessional at times.
Beds were hard as rocks and creaked. My lower back is still sore.
Rooms were rundown but clean.
Air con in one of our rooms was broken and after much complaining our guests were moved to a temporary room. The temporary room was apparently lovely.
Breakfast was standard. No complaints. The chefs made a good omlette.
Sports Bar restaurant was the highlight. Great food at cheap prices.
I have stayed at cheaper, cleaner and more modern hotels like Febri's... so didn't feel value for money was that good. Location is better than Febri's though.
Speaking with a travel agent, she told me that people come back from the Ramayana feeling lukewarm - people rarely dislike it, but no-one has ever come back loving it.

Biggest concern is the reports that legionairre's disease has been originating from the Ramayana. These reports came out during our stay, however we only found out when we returned home.

http://www.oneperth.com.au/2011/01/19/fourth-bali-legionnaires-case-emerges/

The water system was flushed with chlorine while we were there.
However the notice telling us that the water system was being cleaned out and to turn our taps on for 10minutes before showering was received hours after we had showered and emerged with red stinging eyes. I feel the hotel could have done a better job at communicating.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleStarLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anastasia247, Public Relations Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole staff of Ramayana Resort & Spa, we would like to take a moment to thank you for your recent visit to Ramayana Resort & Spa.
We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction during your stay with us.
Thank you for sparing your time in bringing this matter to our attention and we sincerely hope that you will have no further cause for any complaint in our service and hope you are satisfied with the corrective action taken by us. Your comments will help us serve you and our entire guest better in the future.
We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors
If you have any clarification please don’t hesitate to call us.

Kind Regards,

Management
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#41 of 251 in Kuta
1,562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#42 of 251 in Kuta
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
0.3 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Resort & Spa

Property: Ramayana Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Bakung Sari, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#10 Family Hotel in Kuta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramayana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a heart of Kuta, Bali, the resort is hidden away in a tranquil tropical garden, complete with serene koi pools with cascading water features providing the soothing sound of running water. Close to International airport, Kuta Beach, Kuta Art Market, Shopping Center (Discovery Mall, Kuta Square, Kuta Center, and 5 star shopping mall "Kuta Beach Walk"), Food Center, Water bomb, and only walking distance to Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramayana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Resort And Spa
Ramayana Resort Kuta
Ramayana Resort & Spa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing