We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Oasis in dreadful area of Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Oasis in dreadful area of Bali”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Just returned from four nights in this oasis. If you like noisy Aussie sports bar Kuta then the area might be fine. The hotel itself was pretty, with a nice pool, restaurant, and rooms, but location a noisy, bustling, dirty part of Bali. I wouldn't stay again in this area of Bali unless desperately needed something near the airport. But hotel lovely escape off the street.
At the time of our visit Kuta beach was very polluted. The sand is covered in rubbish which seems relatively permanent.Yuck. I can't understand why they sweep the streets, but then everyone puts up with all the rubbish on the beach. So unneccesary. It rained just after our visit, and to be fair, the lovely surf is probably generally cleaner, but had much plastic rubbish floating in at time of our visit. Hundreds of people surfed in it, but I couldn't bear it and had to get out. I cant understand how Australians or NewZealanders could swim here as we never have this in our countries. It seems despite the massive tourism income government doesn't prioritise waste management and it flows down rivers to the ocean. Put me off spending tourist dollar here again.
Fortunately hotel swimming pool was nice, although occasionally slightly rowdy music, hard to get thepool lounge seats. Room was cute slightly Balinese style touches, frangipanis flowers on white sheets :-) Clean although towels etc not brand new. Shower fine but not working brilliantly, but so warm in Bali not a concern. Lovely Balinese style cottages from outside and hotel area is lush balinese foliage, very pretty. Restaurant had great food and often live Balinese music mixed with a great foreign DJ, nice at nighttime. Hotel has a sportsbar where some visitors loudly cheered to sports games which wasn't so nice background noise.
Staff pleasant and generally helpful, especially at the pretty good breakfast, although not amazing service overall. But no problems, helped with all our needs in a relaxed smiley fashion, after some slow explaining in English. Enjoyed the hotel, felt safe, relaxed there, as a true oasis away from the traffic and beach noise and pollution outside.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleanAirEnjoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    648
    193
    76
    36
See reviews for
375
616
81
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Our stay at the Ramayana was fantastic. A perfect blend of relaxing and sight-seeing. The location in the heart of Kuta makes everything accessible - the markets, the shopping malls, the beach. Waterbom Park and restaruants. The staff were friendly and helpful and prescence of a western-style doctor's clinic makes it all the more reassuring for those worried about overseas illness. With a choice of 2 swimming pools, what more could you want!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore,india
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Initially saw the deluxe room (which smelled strongly of cigarette smoke) and the poolside room (which was better) - but after seeing the resort rooms we did'nt want to stay anywhere else.
Rooms: The resort rooms are on the topmost floor, with a business lounge on the same floor. Beautifully decorated with pitched wooden ceilings, four-poster bed, lcd TV, spacious with even a day-bed in the corner, the room was exactly what we were looking for! The balcony had a screened day-bed for lounging in & views of the sea. The bathrooms were spacious & luxuriously appointed.

Location: Very central, close to shops, massage parlours & restaurants - the beach is also at walking distance. Just step out of the hotel & everything is at your door-step literally.

Hotel facilities: They have 2 pools which both looked great although we did'nt use them. The hotel has a great restaurant which is a sports bar, which might not be everyone's cup of tea on account of the hordes of football fans, but the food was really great - especially the indonesian food. breakfast was also very nice- with a wide selection of food. But the highlight for us was the afternoon tea, which was included in the room price -a wide variety of sweet & savouries & hot food was on offer - we didn't expect it so it was a very pleasant surprise!
The spa at the hotel was good, not the best massage I've recieved, but adequate.
Grounds are beautiful, staff are polite & friendly. If I had to nit-pick: Storage in the rooms was a bit small & The open corridor leading to the resort rooms block is a bit dark. Rooms facing the main road can get a bit noisy at night. But nothing that really bothered us.
All in all it was a great stay, would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaytp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

I travelled with my daughter, our first time in Bali, in February and found our stay at the Ramayana Resort and Spa tranquil and pleasurable. The staff were always full of smiles and willing to help if needed. We stayed in a superior room and it was very clean and spacious. Beds made , bathroom cleaned, fresh towels and bottled water supplied daily. Welcome drink at the Gabah Bar and Restaurant, where a full buffet breakfast was also provided with an endless variety of food. Again very friendly staff always greeting and smiling. The grounds were very clean and well maintained and so was the pool. I would strongly recommend the Ramayana Resort and Spa for your next stay in Bali and the Gabah Bar and Restaurant! You won't be dissappointed!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugmelbourne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Loved this place it is amazing!! and am definatly going back for our honeymoon! the service was spot on and the people.. just lovely! p.s brekkie was delicious!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S2LoveBaliS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2010

The atmosphere inside the hotel is great. Indian reception and cottage type accomodation. Good complementary breakfast to suit different nationals from around the globe. Reasonable tariff.

  • Liked — Reasonable tariff
  • Disliked — Right on the road
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SS4India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2009

We had a Pool Cottage Balcony room, which we expected to be small, but it was kitted out quite nicely with a large flat screen, dvd player and an extremely comfortable bed.
We had an added option of our room booking of breakfast being delivered to your room, so on day 2 we hung our order out on the door for delivery on day 3..... day 3 came, no breakfast, left the order there again for day 4.....day 4 came, no breakfast again. Informed reception to come and pick up our order...they did finally and guess what on day 5.........NO BREAKFAST. Spoke to management and the next day we got a very ordinary tasting breakfast, but it could feed 5 people. They did apologise and gave us a "gift" of a sarong and a t-shirt each, but this hotel is supposed to be a 4 star, i would stretch to rate it as 3. Nice enough room but the food (e.g breakfast) well well below par..
On Bali in general.....i would say go to Thailand....MUCH cheaper shopping, and my top tip for Bali, bring your OWN calculator when changing money in the streets.....everybody in Bali is willing and ready to rip you off. Thailand is a much better holiday, spend the extra money and the shopping is heaps better.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittain1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#40 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#41 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Resort & Spa

Property: Ramayana Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Bakung Sari, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#10 Family Hotel in Kuta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#15 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramayana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a heart of Kuta, Bali, the resort is hidden away in a tranquil tropical garden, complete with serene koi pools with cascading water features providing the soothing sound of running water. Close to International airport, Kuta Beach, Kuta Art Market, Shopping Center (Discovery Mall, Kuta Square, Kuta Center, and 5 star shopping mall "Kuta Beach Walk"), Food Center, Water bomb, and only walking distance to Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramayana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Resort And Spa
Ramayana Resort Kuta
Ramayana Resort & Spa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing