We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells Like Vomit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Ranked #39 of 338 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Smells Like Vomit”
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Being in the hotel industry I always thought hard rock hotel's would be a pretty cool place to stay, however my impression has totally changed after staying at Hard Rock Hotel Bali. We only stayed one night as the rest of our stay was at a private villa, however after this one-time visit I will never stay in a hard rock hotel again. To my surprise, the overall service was very poor and unattentive throughout our entire stay from the moment we pulled up to taxi and departed in a taxi. I was quite surprised they never asked for a credit card or deposit upon check-in. I assume they just use the credit card you gave when making your reservation, so next time I'll just use someone elses card I guess since they dont even verify upon check-in (being sarcastic). We were taken to our room by the very ill mannered and poorly groomed bellman whom the only time said anything to us was while he was standing there waiting for his tip (clearly waiting for it!!). The overall hotel is ugly and in desperate need of a make-over. The room was very cold (in terms of design and feel) and even the balcony door was totaly blocked by a couch that was from wall to wall?? whats the point of a balcony???. We were given a room that was very close to the lobby, where a band played till very late and it sounded like we were in a rock concert so we asked for a new room. Surprisingly they actually changed our room and upgraded us to a "deluxe" room (without any apology or smile I might add), however when we got to the room, it was absolutely no different from the first "superior" room with the expeption of a wonderful VOMIT smell that wreaked the room and what felt like over 5 minute or more walk from the lobby. We used nearly an entire bottle of perfurm to rid the smell enough so that we could at least fall asleep (as it was already to late and too tired to change again). The following morning during breakfast, we had to seat ourselves and not a single person attended to our table. When I accidentially spilled my juice, it took 4 wait staff and about 10 times to ask someone to help clean it up. I ended up cleaning most of it myself by going to the waiter counter and getting napkins. So long story short....terrible terrible stay and even though I was given a discount because I hold a local resident card, even the discount was not worth the stay and I've stayed in much cheaper hotels with far superior rooms/facilities and service than Hard Rock Hotel Bali.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kris_goku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,163
    1,821
    733
    240
    142
See reviews for
3,051
795
122
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Everything at the Hard Rock Hotel Bali was great, right up until I brought up a complaint to the Front Office Manager. He was rude and arrogant, asking me to 'stop and listen to me'! He ruined such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOOHRHB, Director of Operations at Hard Rock Hotel Bali, responded to this review, November 3, 2009
Please allow me to introduce myself; my name is Leo Llambi, Director of Operations at Hard Rock Hotel Bali.

The reason for my message is that I have noticed your comments on Tripadvisor.com, and I am concerned about your perception of our Hotel. As such, I have personally replied directly to your email address, and I remain available to further discuss your concerns at your convenience.

Rockin’ regards,

Leo Llambi
Director of Operations
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Tel: +62 361 761 869
Fax: +62 361 762 119
Email: leo@hardrockhotels.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I left with two chipped fillings in my teeth as a result of a stone in the rice I ate for breakfast. Staff did not seem to upset by this, except to call a doctor to confirm that I was telling the truth! They did not even reimburse me for the prepaid breakfast. Had to ask several times for bathroom supplies. Same band played for the two weeks, would have liked a change, especially as you can hear the band playing while in your room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

i spent 2 nights (early oktober) in this hotel with few girlfriends..we had the Superior twin room.and i it was out of this world.

check in was very fast (5 minutes) and went to our room i think it was 5209

it's cold (which means the AC work very well) , 2 queen beds , nice tv with lots of channel - dont expect LCD it's an old TV .

rooms are very very clean, i agree that the towel is turning greyish but it smell and looks clean, water pressure was very good, hot water.

the pool was AMAZING with lots of families, and the noise of the BAND singing every night didnt bother us at all...i sleep like 10 PM (and i sleep like a baby) although the band was banging upstairs..didnt hear anything.
this hotel is funky..i have bjork photos above my bed and the rooms are alocated like rock theme, blues theme, Pop theme...very cute and nice

good for large families and friends (not for elderyly people..well i saw couple of elderly people still rockin at the hard rock cafe..no problem)

this hotel is very very large so make sure you know where you're going..i lost my room couple of times..LOL

food at breakfast was very good, FULL BUFFET style but make sure you come early cuz if you're up party all night and wanna have breakfast like 10 PM it will be FULL (you're not the only one who's having lare late party)

security measures was the Best..they check everyone in the car, ask questions and search the car..i feel very secure.

hard rock is a beach front hotel with lots lots lots of restaurant and enetertaniment around it. you will enjoy yourself..

will i stay there again?? Hmmm......YES I WILL...i got a good rate around USD 100/ night
Love it Love it..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local-taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Our honeymoon at hard rock was lot of fun, we stayed here first and then stayed at ayana resort for a more romantic experience. Hard rock is definitely more fun than romantic, with live bands every night, swimming pool open until 11pm, etc. , Everyone at the hotel had a perfect smile on their faces and always ready to help. the staff were just fantastic. We went for our honeymoon, but i imagine families with kids would enjoy much more, lot of family activities.
Would definitely recommend for others looking for fun vacation. Ohh and the hotel is ideally located in the center of Kuta, which was fantastic. lot of shopping at walking distance and the beach is right in front of the hotel.

  • Liked — great staff, very cool people, location, live band night
  • Disliked — the bathrooms...could be nicer looking
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shilpa1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Loved the setting filled w celebrity instruments,etc. Service is awesome too. A 5 Thumbs up !

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Samanthalouise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes and No. It is hard to really label this hotel with clear comment of GOOD or BAD (if, its not to the worse). The location is great, close to the shopping center and just across the beach, not to mention good pool they have with sand island. Apart from all this, we found the room rather quite old .. furniture are worn out .. bedding are not as comfy as a good brand hotel should be.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaipeiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#70 of 338 in Kuta
2,169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#68 of 338 in Kuta
1,583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#120 of 338 in Kuta
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Bali

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Address: Jl. Pantai, Banjar Pande Mas, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kuta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#27 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#37 Family Hotel in Kuta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Bali- However You Wanna Play It Rock 'n' roll is more than music. It's a force-a kinetic spirit that's ageless and electric. And Hard Rock Hotel Bali is a monument to that spirit, creating destinations where anything is possible. A weekend of poolside lounging by day and hotel club-crawls by night? Yes. Incredible outdoor recreation for the whole family and kids-only clubs that are actually cool? Yes. An all inclusive experience you'll never forget? Yes. Indulgent spa treatments? Yes. A mind-melting event experience? Yes. Whatever your destination, when you stay at Hard Rock Hotel Bali, you have arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Kuta
Hard Rock Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing