We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Ranked #23 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here in 2013 for 7 days and it just wasn't enough. So this year we stayed 14 days and loved every minute of it.
The staff at Splash Restaurant by the pool are just simply amazing! They serve you in the cabana's, on the lounge chairs, from the poolside and in the restaurant. Each of the staff are just gorgeous and will do anything to ensure you enjoy your time with them. They will assist you in any way possible and are very friendly and humorous. G'Day's suggestions on what meals to eat hit the mark each time. We had many laughs and then tears and hugs on our last day.

The other staff around the pool also added to the atmosphere with the same friendly service. Book a cabana where you grab your towels, a little costly and we noticed the price hike from last year but worth it if you have children or like a nap in privacy! The lifeguards and entertainment staff are funny and very very patient with children whilst running the poolside activities each day. They do a great job entertaining both adults and children throughout the day.

Be sure to book in for the Saturday Night Smorgasbord at Splash Restaurant - fantastic price and great selection of food including spit roast pig or rib eye and much more. All you can eat.

The upstairs Starz Dinner is great for Breakfast and if you like Asian food but really not much chop for Westerners. Plenty more restaurant options outside the Hotel that we would prefer.

You may as well pay for your room upfront and get 20% discount as when you check in you have to provide a credit card to hold the amount anyway (or pay in cash). Just ask the staff to provide the amount in what every currency you would like.

Be sure to check out the gym, sauna, hot pool, and cold pool are really cool and something different. All free with your accommodation.

Do bother with the Day Spa as the prices are ridiculous, they are charging western prices. You can go to Fabris in Kuta and get better treatments for a quarter of the price we pay in Australia.

Centre Stage is the bar for late night entertainment, don't bother as the bands that play their are just awfully out of tone. You wouldn't even be able to play a game of pool without the awful singers driving you crazy whilst murdering perfectly good songs. They really need to either look at the singers they employ or the sound equipment needs serious attention. Same murderous tones two years in a row.

Rooms are on the smallish side, so I would definitely recommend spending the dollars and getting a suite with the kitchen/lounge area separate from the bedroom en-suite. Also go the extra mile and get the Rock Star Experience, especially if you have kids as the little surprises you get are really cool.

If you love music playing constantly everywhere you go and just want to relax and be pampered, whilst the kids are amused with the fantastic pools, slides, activities and kids club this is the place to be. We love it, wish it was cheaper though. :)

Room Tip: Rooms by the Chill Out Pool not worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_Bali2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,677 - 3,683 of 5,722 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed fir 3 nights. The hotel us centrally located and within walking distance to many bars and restaurants. The staff were friendly and attentive. Obviously trained to a very high Standard. This place is great for kids, even though we don't have any, we saw the way the kids were entertained by the kids club.
The breakfast buffet was vast with a selection of dishes. The rooms were a tad on the smaller side considering the price. The chill out pool was quiet and relaxing and the larger pool area was picturesque with a swim up bar. I found the bar prices overpriced for Bali. Overall a pleasant stay for 3 nights before moving on to Nusa Dua

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHRHB, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear dhasap,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to know that you enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff.

I'm also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and both of our pools. For the benefit of other readers, the prices at our bars are in line and in most cases below other 4-5 star Hotels in Bali. Daily from 2 pm to 9 pm, take advantage of our 2 for 1 drinks promo in all our Hotel bars, which is the best thing happening.

It sounds like you had a fantastic holiday. I have shared your kind feedback with the team and all of us look forward to welcoming you again to Hard Rock Hotel Bali.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share this review, which we very much appreciate.

Love All - Serve All

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for a vacation trip from Office.
We stay in a group of 50 people.

Before we reach the hotel, I thought it would be as Hard Rock as it could be. It turns out nothing much different with other hotel at the same class.
Its not that bad, but its not that "Hard Rock" anyway.
Spend Sat-Nite at Center Stage with some office-mate, have some beer and enjoying the live music show so much.
The location was good, since Legian, Kuta Square, Discovery Mall, Kartika Plaza is a walking distance. And this hotel is located exactly across the Kuta Beach.

Room Tip: Pick Room that is facing the garden, way much better, mine was facing at the backside of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpeJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in a Kids Suite and from the minute our free transport arrived at the airport, the staff and service were fabulous. I am not sure if it was because we were in a ''suite' but everything opened up to us - the kids could use the kids club for free (even our 3 yo), we could eat down by the pool for a la carte, we could use the teenagers area as a family area if it was raining and we just wanted to play snooker or jenga, one of the kids meals was free. It was absolutely the best hotel/service we have stayed in in Bali.

Someone has mentioned the pool was dirty. This definitely did happen one day when we were there. At 8am it was clear, by 9am it was murky and you couldnt see your feet. They staff ran around like mad people trying to work out what was going on and it looked like the filter had back washed in to the pool. By about 2pm it was clear again and it didn't happen again while we were there. I also noticed them doing ph levels around 9am and 4pm every day from every filter and adding cholorine so they seemed to be looking after it.

There was always space to get seats around the pool as it is so massive. And even though heaps of people it is a great space to never get in anyones way. We did struggle to find shade though so on the last day we hired a cabana and it was excellent. Cabana 11 is a perfect location to watch the kids on the slide, youngens in the sand and easily get to the swim up pool bar.

Entertainment for the kids was huge! The kidssuite had heaps of little things for the kids that made their day - kids toothpaste/toothbrush, kid height shower, little beds with toys, sand play equipment, a playstation (not that they had time to use this!). The kids club we used a few times for short bursts depending on the activities as we wanted to have a family holiday so wasn't going to put them away in the kids club. At 11am each day though the kids club did rockclimbing so we used that to our advantage every day and my son loved it. Also every day around 3pm there were activities/competitions in the pool for kids, and again at 4. Which meant that as an adult, we could sit at the swim up pool bar and have a beer, watch the kids being entertained and having a great time for 2 hours - joy! Note though, if you didn't have kids I wouldn't hang around the main pool at this time.

Our room was overlooking the chillout pool and although we could just hear the band it wasn't anything that interrupted anyones sleep. We had a king size bed that was very comfortable and the only issue we noticed was if we left the curtains open the room would be quite warm and difficult to get to sleep. If we closed it up then at night it would be quite cool - same as home really! The only thing we didn't realise was we didn't have a balcony. It was a tiny Juliette balcony that wouldn't fit a chair. So at night we were stuck in our room while the kids were asleep, rather than relaxing on a balcony. I think we'd investigate that more next time as some rooms definitely had balconies.

I would really struggle to go somewhere else on our next trip to bali. Watching the kids have such a great time really makes it an enjoyable holiday. Thanks for a fabulous time Hard Rock!

Room Tip: Check if they have balconies or not as some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ab_n_tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

OMG. We checked in on the ####th January. We have stayed before. Its not getting any better. The staff are fantastic and do thier very best all the time. The pool was the worst I have ever seen anywhere. Its was dirty, very dirty. NO excuses. They blamed the rain and sand but we checked out 4 other hotels close by and they had no such issues. We spoke to some of the staff who we have got to know over the years and they advised us that the pool filter system etc has been needing repair / replacing for 3 years! Room was fantastic, breakfast was great and like I said the staff are fantastic as well. Pool bar, again needs a make over big time. Drinks and food by the pool need to be reviewed. Very $$$$$$ for what you get. No wonder so many people take their own stuff down to the pool. I would suggest that the HRH Management go around and visit some of the other hotels in the area and see what they need to do. Mind you if people are still booking then why do anything. One last word of CAUTION. Do check the pool BEFORE you swim. We asked to see the water test results and we (all 6 of us who all have pools in NT) were shocked. If those readings were in apublic pool in Darwin it would have been shut down. The kids had a great time as there were 8 of them to keep eachother busy and kids club etc. Come on HRH, lift your game, spend some $$$$, we want to come back we really do but your slipping. FYI We have been coming to Bali for 22 years. This is the first time I have ever written in Trip advisor. Please, please fix up the little things and make this hotel great again.

Room Tip: Suite is the way to go or room that you have access to the private pool area. The private pool whail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHRHB, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Fish B,

Greetings from Hard Rock Hotel Bali and we thank you for patronage of our Hotel recently. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff and that you found the room and its beds, Lil’ Rock Kids Club and breakfast to be fantastic.

On behalf of my team please accept my sincere apologies for the service shortcomings experienced during your stay, as these are not reflective of our aspirations and standards at all. Further to that, I wish to put your queries into perspective.

At this time of the year, the whole of Indonesia including Bali experiences the raining season. The variance in temperature throughout the day coupled with strong winds and daily showers play havoc to daily life. The daily rain, especially heavy in the early hours of the morning, result in the overflow of pool water and contribute to the loss of chlorine in the water; after been dosed with chlorine the night before. On 17th Jan 2014, samples of the pool water were taken and sent to the government laboratory to test. The results clearly showed that we were complying with the standards required by the Ministry of Health.

For the benefit of other readers, our food and beverage prices at our restaurants and bars are in line and in most cases below other 4-5 star Hotels in Bali. Daily from 2 pm to 9 pm, take advantage of our 2 for 1 drinks promo in all our Hotel bars, which is the best thing happening. Hard Rock Hotel Bali chose to be a responsible server of alcoholic spirits and only buys ‘genuine’ products from bona fide distributors who pay the custom and excise tax. Unfortunately, this tax is the most exorbitant compared to other ASEAN countries.

The Shack, swim-up bar, is scheduled for a full make over with the introduction of the much-awaited Foam Party pool.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback, which we very much appreciate.

Love All – Serve All

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I had a girls only holiday with my sister and our daughters, stayed 10 nights and had a fabulous holiday. The pool area is absolutely awesome, a huge pool, with lots of different areas to get away from others or you can get amongst it at the swim up bar. The pool activities were a lot of fun for young and old, with free drink vouchers!! The food and drinks were higher prices than other hotels in Bali but well worth it for the atmosphere! Staff in the pool area were awesome especially G'day who we loved chatting to. We stayed in the Loft Room with 3 adults and 2 kids. The loft is extremely high and I felt very unsafe walking the spiral stairs (wouldn't recommend for small children). It doesn't look this high in the photos on website. Room very nice and clean. We had to ask every day for 2 more towels and more toilet paper, they just couldn't get that there were 5 people in our room even though we had booked for that many!!! Breakfast very basic. Loved the atmosphere in the Centrestage, band were awesome. Overall our stay was fantastic and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Loft Room is very roomy and we could only just hear the band in the Centrestage, definitely didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We brought another family this time with kids and introduced them to Hard Rock Hotel experience .This is the first time In January that I have stayed in Bali. The weather was pretty nice and it rained a little which mixed it up bit and made it interesting. The staff treated us like family again and room accommodation and food was A1. Boys at the poolside that I know pretty well were always their to ensure that we had drinks and food if required. Kids club staff pretty good with our active kids. I have mentioned many times the quality of service and hospitality we receive and they never let us down. My other family members have made new friends and are now sold on the Hard Rock experience.

Room Tip: Deluxe premium room surrounding chill out pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHRHB, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear MrTim1,

Thank you for this review of your stay with us. I'm delighted to know that you are a returning guest as we always welcome our Rock Stars.

I'm thrilled to read that you enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff, the room and dining experience. We are extremely pleased to read about you introducing the Hard Rock experience to others and we could not thank you enough. I have shared your kind comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you and the family again soon.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share this review, which is much appreciated.

All is One

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 251 in Kuta
2,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#66 of 251 in Kuta
1,385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#42 of 251 in Kuta
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Bali

Address: Jl. Pantai, Banjar Pande Mas, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kuta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#15 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#24 Family Hotel in Kuta
#39 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $123 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Bali- However You Wanna Play It Rock 'n' roll is more than music. It's a force-a kinetic spirit that's ageless and electric. And Hard Rock Hotel Bali is a monument to that spirit, creating destinations where anything is possible. A weekend of poolside lounging by day and hotel club-crawls by night? Yes. Incredible outdoor recreation for the whole family and kids-only clubs that are actually cool? Yes. An all inclusive experience you'll never forget? Yes. Indulgent spa treatments? Yes. A mind-melting event experience? Yes. Whatever your destination, when you stay at Hard Rock Hotel Bali, you have arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Kuta
Hard Rock Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing