We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exterior is nice but the room is not up to the expectation and a bit pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Kuta Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kuta Bali
Ranked #77 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exterior is nice but the room is not up to the expectation and a bit pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was a long awaited Bali trip for both my husband and I. We booked a cheap air-ticket last year and waited long for our Bali trip.
Initially looking at other hotels but finally made up our mind to stay at Mercure Kuta Bali as one of my friends stayed there before and told me it is a good hotel.
The location of the hotel is great, next to Pizza Hut, Starbucks, Mc'D, and few minutes walk to BeachWalk. Opposite the hotel is Kuta Beach, where you can have lots of beach activities at.
We booked through Agoda 2 weeks prior to the trip and paid around RM300++ per night (without breakfast) for a room. When we reached the hotel, the exterior design was amazing and with some Balinese feel. After checked-in, we were directed to a room located at ground floor. We were not amazed with that. Hence, my husband requested to change the room to a higher floor but been informed that the room that we booked is located at ground floor, if we want to change our room, we have to pay extra. With no other choice, we just remain the room.
The room is relatively small, shower area is okay and with a balcony outside. Believe the room can be made a little spacious so that we can have more room to move around.
On the third day, when I tried to wear my shoes, there was a lizard dropped out and scared me away. Can't imagine that lizard already slept in my shoes for how many hours. It's a bit scary to see that. Other than lizard, found some tiny bugs in the bathroom and also on the bed. The lights are a bit dim, can't find my things sometimes. I suggest that the room can be equipped with more lights.
On the last day, we decided to take our breakfast in the hotel and paid 100,000 Rupiah each. The variety is not much and the taste is not so up to the standard but I must said that the view is nice because the restaurant located on 4th floor and we can see the ocean while having breakfast.
The swimming pool is located at 4th floor as well and the view is nice but a bit small. On the first day we arrived, we have been informed by the staff that ground floor guests can't use the swimming pook facilities. We were wondered how much extra higher floors' guests paid for a room to enjoy the swimming pool. While on the third day, we asked another customer service staff and she informed us that all the hotel guests can use the facilities included the swimming pool. The staff are very friendly but only the information given was incorrect.
Overall, you can stay here because of its location. Or, if you are very particular on lodging, you can find a better one with this price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjwa_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Room Division Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Beach Bali…

We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Beach Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.

Your comments on our services has been well noted and Our aim and intent is to ensure all employees are totally customer focus and all guest concern and requests are handled quickly and efficiently.

Kindly rest assure that appropriate training will be conducted to avoid the recurrent such incident in the future.

I do appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention and therefore giving us an opportunity to improve.
We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you in the near Future.


Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    534
    351
    109
    58
See reviews for
221
523
134
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We are regular travellers but NEVER had this bad expereince in a branded hotel like Mercure....
There were bed bugs in our room bed, morning on waking up found three myself, killed them, told reception, they said they will change all linens. Next day again found two more bed bugs.. Rashes all over body for both myself and wife...
Had enough, went down to reception, raised voice, complained got room changed to new room for last night.
Fortunately the new room was without bedbugs and had a peaceful night...
On return still nursing rashes on arms, legs, taking medicine....

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL if you want peaceful sleep in night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tokyo_gaijin_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Room Division Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Beach Bali…

We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Beach Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.

The Experience you describe causes us deep concern. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any frustration and anxiety that it may have caused you on your holiday.

Kindly rest assure that General Cleaning into Guest Room has been conducting to avoid the recurrent such incident in the future.

I do appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention and therefore giving us an opportunity to improve.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you in the near Future.


Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel has the best location along kuta beach with a splendid view of the ocean front once you step out of the hotel. One disappointing point was the 'ocean view' room that we had wasn't exactly facing the ocean; was half ocean and land view. Other than that, the infinity pool was awesome and faced the sea. we love it there and will go again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineChng09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Room Division Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Beach Bali…

We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Beach Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.

We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the Friendliness and Assistance of our staff and you had enjoyed your Holiday.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable customer are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

On a recebt trip to Bali I stayed at the Mercure at Kuta beach. Located straight over the road from the beach and in the heart of the main shopping district this hotel is ideally located. The customer sevice ( in true bali style) is outrstanding. Nothing is too much trouble and its always service with a smile. We actually didnt stay over night as we have late flights out (10pm) so we sued the hotel asa base for the day and a place to shower adn freshen and keep our luggage etc secure. The staff were only too happy to give us 4 extra towels etc. and had no issue when we explained we were not all staying in the room for the night lol... we usted the bar and had graet cocktails, swam in the pool (rooftop infinity pool with a beach vew is amazing) and just took in all that was in the area. When we checked out, I asked for taxi's to be called and the staff first checked to see if the hotel van was available ( very nice thing to do especially for a day guest)... when out transport arrived the staff loaded our luggage and we were told to just relax and take it easy.. I would stay in this hotel again.. its service is outstanding and the location is ideal.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Room Division Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Beach Bali…

We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Beach Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.

We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the Friendliness and Assistance of our staff and you had enjoyed your Holiday.
It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable customer are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here 5N. It was centrally-located, closed to almost everything - shopping, food, beach, sea. The hotel offered spectacular views of the Kuta beach from its rooms, restaurant, pool and observation decks. Views from the infinity pool was breathtaking, though the pool was a tad too small.

The sea-facing room was big, clean and spacious with a modern touch. Breakfast was superb with a wide & generous selection of food choices. Convenient access to the beach by crossing a small road and you could engage in a variety of activities & services like sea sports, beach games, massage, hair plaiting, manicure, pedicure. Snacks, cold drinks and beer were easily available on the beach by makeshift stall vendors.

Generally satisfied with our stay, basking in the Balinese hospitality of the friendly service staff.

Room Tip: Choose level 4 with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank explore2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Room Division Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Beach Bali…
We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Beach Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.
We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the Friendliness and Assistance of our staff and you had enjoyed your Holiday.
It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable customer are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Been stayed here for a short vacation last month with some friends. The hotel is located right across the famous Kuta Beach with many entertainment, shopping and dining spots available within walking distance.

The hotel itself has a pleasant atmosphere as small garden in the middle of the hotel gives a relaxing feeling. You won't feel like you're in the middle of the most visited area in Bali, it's quite and comfortable. In the morning you'll find tasty meals for breakfast along with great view as the restaurant is on the top floor that facing directly to the ocean. Pool is located in the same floor where enjoying sunset will be a fascinating moment from up here.

Rooms is average, amenities provided adequately. Rooms have their own balcony but make sure your room's balcony is facing to the garden otherwise you'll find unpleasant view of walls like mine, fieuwhh..

Overall, it's quiet satisfying and will be glad to recommend it to others who wish to visit Bali.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony facing the garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swanpram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Beach Bali…
We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Beach Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.
We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the Friendliness and Assistance of our staff and you had enjoyed your Holiday.
It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable customer are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is in a great location overlooking Kuta Beach and with many shopping and dining options close by. I was in a room on the 4th floor at the front of the building and the evening sunset views were spectacular. Although it overlooks the road there was little traffic noise at night and no desturbance from people partying.
The infinity pool and rooftop deck area is spectacular and never seemed to get crowded.
The room was well apointed, the cleaning staff did a great job, reception was efficient and the security guards always had a cheerful greeting.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the property offer great views over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Beach Bali…

We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Beach Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.

We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the Friendliness and Assistance of our staff and you had enjoyed your Holiday.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable customer are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.0 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
0.1 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#99 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kutabex Beach Front Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kuta Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kuta Bali

Property: Mercure Kuta Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta 10 X | Br Pande Mas, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#52 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kuta Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from Kuta Beach, Mercure Kuta Beach Bali is surrounded by numerous shopping and dining options in the center of the city. It features an outdoor infinity pool and free wired internet in public areas. Air-conditioned guest rooms feature modern minimalist furnishings and private bathroom with tub and shower. A minibar, tea/coffee-making facilities and in-room safe are provided. There is also cable TV. Guests can enjoy Balinese massage treatments at Bali Spa or lounge by the hotel’s rooftop pool. The hotel’s tour desk plans day trips and water activities at Kuta Beach. Alang Alang Restaurant features splendid views of the Kuta Beach and serves a buffet dinner with Asian and Western dishes. Snacks and cocktails are served at the Lotus Lobby Bar and the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kuta Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kuta Bali Hotel Kuta
Accor Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing