We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Mercure Kuta Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Kuta Bali
Ranked #75 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Nothing to say. Perfect location and very good hotel for reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear JImF,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Bali…
We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.
It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable customer are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    540
    353
    110
    60
See reviews for
222
529
135
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Mercure for 3 nights as part of a 7 day holiday to Bali. We've visited bali a number of times and stayed in a few different hotels.

We both loved the Mercure, it is in a fantastic location. You can stroll across the road and drink on the beach and watch the sunset. You can walk into the heart of Kuta and poppies to do some shopping and experience things in the thick of it. Or you can relax on the roof top, swim in the gorgeous pool and enjoy the view with cocktails.

The shower did tend to spray over onto the bathroom floor a bit but if you aren't precious it's not a problem. The water pressure itself is great and the whole room was very clean and cosy. Our room was on the side of the building so could be a little dark at times, but we loved it! we were out all day wandering, eating and drinking anyway.

would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegreybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Bali…
We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.
It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable customer are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I've been to Bali many times staying in resorts, hotels and backpackers with a mattress on the floor. This time my girlfriend came so I thought I'd step it up but after reading some negative reviews on here i was a little worried about the mercure. Let my put the average Aussie travelers mind at ease. The mercer is fantastic! Great location overlooking beach, great infinity pool, rooms are pretty good, not world class but nice enough. Security is awesome and the staff are great. I felt fine leaving money and passports in the room. Breakfast awesome. I think it's great value for money. Will Stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blakole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Blakole,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Bali…
We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.
We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the Friendliness and Assistance of our staff and you had enjoyed your Holiday.
It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable customer are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Let me preface this review by saying that we were a group of young travellers (mid-twenties) who were only in Bali for 5 days and used the hotel as a base to see Bali - so the Mercure Kuta was PERFECT for us as is is in a very central location. I stayed here with 3 other people (2 rooms) and we loved it, and reading the reviews now we’ve returned I don’t know what all the fuss is about. In fact I’m so shocked that I was compelled to write this review (I don’t generally review hotels on the internet – or anything else for that matter) and set a few things straight, because it seems there are some uninformed people out there who are unnecessarily damaging the Mercure’s reputation. I get the impression that those who didn’t enjoy their experience were either too fussy or hadn’t done their research properly. I’ll break my review up into different topics to go into further detail:

LOCATION
Firstly, if you don’t know the difference between the various regions/locations in Bali then stop reading this and go do some more research. Find out what area you want to stay first (i.e. what suits your needs) and then pick a hotel within that area. To stay in Kuta and then criticise it for being busy, full of traffic, full of people selling you things, etc is just unfair – that’s what Kuta is. If you don’t like it, go elsewhere.
BUT, if you do want to stay in Kuta (and there are lots of reasons to want to) then the Mercure is in an excellent location, within walking distance to Jl Poppies 1 & 2 and Jl Legian where all the little shops, restaurants and night spots are located. The whole time we were there we only needed a taxi when going to the airport, Benoa Harbour or Jimbaran (fair distances away). It’s also located right near a couple of convenience stores and ATMs, as well as being about 10 min walk away from the Matahari shopping centre (with full supermarket, chemist, book shop, etc...). The beach is right over the road and accessible through a gate about 100m down the road.

ROOMS
We stayed in Superior rooms on the second floor with a balcony that overlooked the central courtyard/pond area. The rooms are small, but then who wants to spend much time in their room anyway? If you do then you’re staying in the wrong area. They were also very comfortable (good beds), clean and had good A/C which was easily adjustable. Rooms had a small wardrobe, writing desk, couch/padded bench, safe, bar fridge, kettle and a flat-screen TV with about 50 channels. The bathrooms were clean and the water pressure in the showers excellent. Complimentary bottles of water were provided in the bathroom for cleaning your teeth.

HOTEL FACILITIES
Personally I thought the hotel was a great design with its open foyer and central courtyard. While it is on the street, there is a boom gate and security guards at the front so only authorised vehicles can get in. This also prevents unwanted locals from walking in off the street attempting to sell their products or services. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff super-friendly. Staff would always smile and say hello – even the room-service staff would greet you while walking around. The bar downstairs is small, but perfect for a drink or two. If you want to have any more than that, there are more bars within walking distance than you could poke a stick at. The pool deck upstairs is fantastic, with an infinity-edge pool looking out over the beach and ocean. It’s also nice and cool, so you actually get refreshed when you go for a swim – too many pools in Bali are heated and when you get in there is no relief from the ambient heat. The decking is large and there are lots of sun lounges – we never had trouble finding 4 sun lounges in a row. There are also a number of tables in the shade where you can sit and read if you want to get out of the sun, or kick back with a Bintang or cocktail and watch the beautiful sunsets. We never ate at the restaurant so I can’t review it. But when there are so many good meal choices (local food/Western food, fast-food/cafe-food/fine-dining, cheap/expensive) within walking distance, why would you bother eating at the hotel?

CONCLUSION
It irritates me when people don’t do their research properly and expect a hotel to be something it’s clearly not, and then get disappointed and write poor reviews because it’s not what they were ‘expecting’. Quite simply, this is a very nice larger-style hotel in Kuta, relatively cheap (for a big hotel anyway - not so much when compared to a smaller property), good general facilities and clean rooms. It doesn’t advertise itself as a 5-star all-inclusive resort, so don’t expect it to be! If you take away the negative comments from those uninformed people who haven’t done their research, the general feedback is extremely positive, with only a few minor general issues that people have had. But then any hotel in the world will have its issues, no matter where they are or how much they cost.

If you’re a family looking for a hotel with all kinds of in-house facilities and dining options, then you’ll be better off at a ‘resort’ style hotel up the road in Seminyak or down in Nusa Dua. Ditto if you’re a couple who want to just stay within the hotel grounds and enjoy each other’s company – go rent a Villa or stay in a private boutique resort. Why such people would even be looking at staying in Kuta is beyond me. Do some research before you come!
But if you want to stay in Kuta and you're after a clean, friendly hotel to use as a base while you explore Kuta and the rest of Bali then this place is absolutely perfect. And as I said it also has a fantastic pool & deck area, so there is always the option of chilling out by the pool, lying in the sun while overlooking the beautiful view. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a room on Level 2, 3 or 4 (Level 1 = ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 8JM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Bali.

We sincere Thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Bali as your accommodation during your holiday in Bali.

We appreciates your comment and We will share it to all of our staff as our motivation to encouraging our superior service to all of our valuable customer.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Your Sincerely,


I Gd Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

very difficult to sit on the toilet, not enough space for leg/knee
Arrived in last flight, hotel receptions personnel were not well prepared with incoming guest check-in. They look confused/sleepy. Some guest were not Queying and being "entertained" by the hotel personnel. All guest were trying to rush to check-in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Bali…
We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.
Your Suggestion on the Toilet has been well noted and will be taken into consideration for future room renovation.
I do appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention and therefore giving us an opportunity to improve.
We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you in the near Future.


Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great location! Nice hotel and nice staff. Everything is walking....shopping, massages, local places to eat, beach and night life. Very safe.

Loved the pool and pool deck. Great sun set up there.

Only issues:
- Pool is not heated, it's very cold
- No hot tub
- Hotel Rooms are small, even the bathrooms are difficult
- Noise at night that can wake you
- Don't spend money to eat at hotel or pay for services. You can find it all in town within walking, including spa services

Over-all though, this is a great hotel and in great condition. Very comfortable and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would get the delux room or above if you can afford. Nothing on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurekutaBali11, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kuta Bali, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Mcruff,

Warmest Greeting from Mercure Kuta Bali…
We sincere thank you for choosing Mercure Kuta Bali as your accommodation during your Holiday in Bali.
We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the Friendliness and Assistance of our staff and you had enjoyed your Holiday.
Your Suggestion on the room has been well noted and will be taken into consideration for future room renovation.
It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable customer are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

I Gede Ngurah Mertha Sedana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.0 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
0.1 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#42 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#103 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kutabex Beach Front Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kuta Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kuta Bali

Property: Mercure Kuta Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta 10 X | Br Pande Mas, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#51 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kuta Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from Kuta Beach, Mercure Kuta Beach Bali is surrounded by numerous shopping and dining options in the center of the city. It features an outdoor infinity pool and free wired internet in public areas. Air-conditioned guest rooms feature modern minimalist furnishings and private bathroom with tub and shower. A minibar, tea/coffee-making facilities and in-room safe are provided. There is also cable TV. Guests can enjoy Balinese massage treatments at Bali Spa or lounge by the hotel’s rooftop pool. The hotel’s tour desk plans day trips and water activities at Kuta Beach. Alang Alang Restaurant features splendid views of the Kuta Beach and serves a buffet dinner with Asian and Western dishes. Snacks and cocktails are served at the Lotus Lobby Bar and the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kuta Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kuta Bali Hotel Kuta
Accor Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing