We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Catering”
Review of Cafe Dijon Bali

Cafe Dijon Bali
Ranked #37 of 1,173 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Dijon opened as the first gourmet delicatessen in 1999 based in Bali, the island of Gods. Our cafe opened since 2001 and we do catering started at 2009. We have renovated the cafe and extended the hours. Quite a lot in a little more than 10 years! With the passion of food, we offer fresh, creative and nutritious food; reduce, recycle and reuse, therefore minimizing our impact on the environment and we aim to ensure excellent customer satisfaction. We never stop trying to provide the best of a range of quality foods to meet the varied tastes of our diverse customer base. We commit our service promise to the community. We will display our objectives to all our customers. We will continually work to develop our service and ensure the highest quality of our food. Dijon implements food safety standard since food safe is a vital part of healthy eating and a vital responsibility of any food service provider.
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Dijon Catering catered our wedding in Pandawa Cliff Estate on Bali.
Dijon delivered high quality food served with a dedicated group of servers.
All 4 courses were perfectly prepared and served. Including the small bites during the reception.
We can highly recommend Dijon Catering for your event or wedding!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Marco196412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidScherer, Owner at Cafe Dijon Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Dear Marco196412,

Warm greetings from Dijon Bali!

We thank you for taking time to write such lovely feedback and for recommending our service to others here on Trip Advisor. Kind appreciation such as yours is what means the most to encourage us to continue to improve our service.

Thank you again for trusting Dijon as your caterer, and we hope to welcome you back at Café Dijon in the future.

Best Regards,
David Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 222 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

I must say that Everything on the menu was excellent with a burst of uflavours in your mouth!
Plus a lil foodie shop next door that has all the secrets

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank shahirsultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidScherer, Owner at Cafe Dijon Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Dear Sharirsultan,

Thank you for sharing your very good impressions of our food with others. We do try hard to make our food flavorful and give people lots of choices in the types of food we offer.

We hope that you come back again soon and try something else from Café DIJON.

Thanks again,

David Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018

I frequented this restaurant for their excellent delicatessen across the gang and the wide range of small goods including hams, salami's and sausages. I ver occasionally ate at the restaurant. I was surprised 4 - 5 months ago to find that the restaurant was Halal. There was no signage to indicate this thus removing the ability to make a decision to eat in the restaurant or not BEFORE entering. I discussed this with the manager who by his manner treated my complaint as a joke. In Bali there is a small minority of Muslim/Jewish clients who require non pork resto's No issue with that and that is entirely their choice but we would appreciate prior warning concerning Halal menu's. Beef bacon, beef salami's and beef ham's etc are not the same as the pork products and actually taste terrible. I was further shocked to find that the Deli is now proceeding towards Halal certification - photo attached. This has just further guaranteed that the lack of awareness by the owner will cost the business many expat clients who previously went there as a premium source of small goods. Dare I say it pandering to a minority group. I've previously built hotel and resto kitchens that deliberately cater for both dietary requirements by having a smaller kitchen and store facility for the minority dietary choice be it Halal (and Kosher) or pork based cooking. With non muslim tourists in bali representing that larger portion of the market this move will precipitate the decline of this once very popular and excellent restaurant/delicatessen.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Food
Thank tonycBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidScherer, Owner at Cafe Dijon Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Dear tonycBali,

Thank you for your attentive feedback on DIJON Deli and Café DIJON.

Café Dijon has not sold pork for some 7 years. At the time we stopped serving pork, we did announce to customers that we would no longer be serving pork products. We have had no negative feedback in many years about this practice.

Recently, we decided to extend the no pork policy to the Deli and a sign has been put up on the door to inform customers that DIJON is no longer selling pork.
For a Muslim business owner to choose to apply for Halal certification is surely not (to use your words) pandering to a minority group.

We are sorry that you were offended by the manager who you say treated your complaint as a joke. We will look into it with him as customers’ complaints are never a joke for us.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

David Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed this, our first visit to a Cafe Dijon. Staff were efficient and attentive, and the drinks were fine. The carrot cake was okay, but I am comparing it to an extremely high bar set by a former partner of mine who makes the best carrot cake in the seven known universes.

I note the experience of the previous reviewer, Amy, and can tell Cafe Dijon that had you done the same thing to me, I would not have been so generous as to give you two stars. Absolutely unacceptable practice. If you give something to a customer that they didn’t order, you are giving it. Not selling it. You need to cease this practice immediately.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank stevekyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidScherer, Owner at Cafe Dijon Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear Steve,

Thank you for your positive comments on our food and staff. I am sorry to hear that your impression of our carrot cake was not up to your high standard; we always try hard to improve so if you have a specific idea on the carrot cake, we would appreciate the input!

As to the incident, actually, what happened was that the staff made a mistake in not explaining that FREE Dijon chocolates come free only with certain orders. Since the guests did not order any of those items, the chocolates were charged. This is a simple misunderstanding and lack of appropriate explanation on the part of our staff. After that incident, we held group training on the importance of explanations and communication with all service staff, and we hope that this will not be repeated in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate the comments of our guests and take their suggestions seriously.


Sincerely,

David Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018

We've been going to Dijon for ten years and have always been happy with the food and service. However, the whole experience was ruined for us when most recently we realized that we had been consistently charged for chocolates they bring you at the end of the meal. Yes, tiny wrapped chocolates, like the complimentary ones you'd find on your pillow at a hotel, one per person, at 7,500 Rp each! WTF?! The server brings them on a serviette with your bill, then takes your money and the bill in the leather folder back to the register. But when you get your change back in the leather folder, it is not the same amount you expected because there has been a deduction for the chocolates! A separate bill for the chocolates is placed in back of the one you already looked at. Not understanding why we were charged for "chocolates" we went to the cash register and said, "We didn't order dessert" and they pointed to the chocolates still in our hands with the serviette. Sneaky, greedy. That evening we were talking with another restaurant owner in Bali who said "Those are the little things that ruin a customer's experience. It's very hard to recover customers after they have an experience like that." Bingo! No one likes to feel they've been purposefully duped.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidScherer, Owner at Cafe Dijon Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Dear Amy,

We were sorry to hear of your experience with the DIJON Mini chocolate being charged. Actually, we do not charge for the small DIJON chocolates when a guest orders coffee. Any other time, there is a charge for the chocolate. In this case, our staff neglected to explain that to you, and for this we do apologize. Please let the waiter/ waitress know who you are the next time you come in and we will have a package of chocolates for you as a token of our good will. We apologize for this incident and hope that it doesn’t spoil your years of being pleased with DIJON.

Regards,
David Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Dijon Bali also viewed

Kuta, Kuta District
Kuta, Kuta District
 
Kuta, Kuta District
 
Kuta, Kuta District
 

Been to Cafe Dijon Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing