We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite restaurant/bar in bali”
Review of Warung MAX!

Warung MAX!
Ranked #108 of 1,218 Restaurants in Kuta
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Indonesian, Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pizza & Burger house and best cocktail bar, prices start only $1 (10.000 Rp)! Open every day, live music and dj, backpackers and surfers meeting point.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite restaurant/bar in bali”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stopped here one night just for a few drinks and ended up coming back probably 6 or 7 times for dinner and drinks. The service was absolutely amazing and the owners Andrea and Lily always showed us an awesome time.

The food was absolutely spot on, we stuck to mainly the Mexican dishes and the Pizza as well and we never regretted it. Good prices for the food and the beer is always cold! Good range of daiquiris and margaritas as well. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    17
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Love Back Street Surprise with Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nothing better than walking down a back street and finding the surprise you were hoping for (but often don't find). Small one way street off Poppies 2, many restaurants along the lane.
When you walk through the front entrance there is an immediate change in atmosphere from the outside Kuta streets.
Dimmed lighting, good music and decor.
Food is fantastic. I'm not sure what the difference between Tex-Mex & Mexican is but it is good either way.
We sat at a long family/party table near the open shop front, watching the noise of the street as we ate.
Service is good but could be better.
Prices a little high but worth it for the experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but little bit pricey”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We had double Nachos with everything. The portion is not really double, and the meat is only 4 slices, cost Rp. 91.000. I think that's overpriced. Taste is OK though.

Helpful?
Thank Irawan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth finding - but don't get lost...”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is indeed a very difficult place to find. Don't bother trying to use GPS or google maps or anything as they'll just send you round in circles. After hunting around the backstreets for quite a while we were determined to find this place and eventually stumbled across it. The best directions I can give are if you come out of the back of the Akmani Hotel (the 3rd floor lobby) and turn left just follow the road for about 10 minutes and there it is. It's actually pretty simple once you're on the right road.

Anyway, the food and drinks are fine. Big portions of enchiladas and chimmichangas (the latter were the tastiest). The margaritas aren't too bad but it seemed to take ages for the waitress to understand what 'straight up' meant, she only wanted to offer frozen or on the rocks. Eventually we told her on the rocks but hold the rocks... We seem to have this problem in quite a few places so it's not a big deal.

It was pretty quiet but we did get there about 10pm and service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sags72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, service and atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Warung MAX in October last year with friends an loved everything about it. The service was fantastic as was the meal.
This year we tried the lunch menu and unfortunately, not all who dined, were impressed. I loved my 'Burger from Hell' but the nachos were not the favourite meal on the table. Still a great atmosphere but

Shame about the street hawkers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warwick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung MAX! also viewed

 

Been to Warung MAX!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing