We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Bar & Grill

Bamboo Bar & Grill
Ranked #32 of 944 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, American, Bar, International, European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bamboo is an example of using eco-friendly building material, combined with a modern fresh and simplistic interior to present to you a feeling of calmness and relaxation, like......BAMBOO...... "The restaurant where you holiday"The food is simple and fresh on the plate, non frozen fish, Australian beef, home style pies and delicious pizza's cooked to perfection! The staff are handpicked, friendly, efficient, presenting crisp and warm service with a smile. Bamboo next to Waterbom in Kuta, Australian owned, Australian operated, and we understand modern dining expectations! Remember this "when you as our guest come under our roof, your happiness is our personal responsibility" See you soon at Bamboo!
Victoria
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“So very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Did you know that it takes 1 hour and 50 minutes to sear salmon? Neither did I, until I went to the Bamboo Bar & Grill. I went with my two sons aged 9 and 3. I ordered calamari, pancakes for the 3yo and salmon for the 9 yo. We waited for over half an hour, no big deal but then the meals of other people around us started to arrive even though we had been there long before them. So I asked the waitress about our meals and was told 'Sorry but the salmon takes a long time.' Um....what the!!!? So you can imagine two kids starting to get bored and fidgeting etc and then add hungry on top of it and it wasn't so nice. Then after and hour or so they brought out the pancakes, and half an hour later my calamari and then twenty minutes later the seared salmon. I asked the manager (who offered me a gin and tonic as compensation) if they had trouble catching the salmon. He didn't get my joke and said 'No missus, we have in cold room' I know plenty of people love this restaurant and I can understand why because ours was lovely, but I will not be returning in a hurry. But then again, they don't hurry either!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hapasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara J, Guest Relations Manager at Bamboo Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you from your review and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    485
    154
    50
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place was a highlight for us. Great bar with fantastic staff. Also good for the kids. The quality of the food was just fantastic (the tom-yum soup, was too die for!). Lots of TV screens with great atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clarkey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara J, Guest Relations Manager at Bamboo Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and happy to hear your enjoyed our Tom Yum soup :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and location in Kuta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Owned by Australians - quality of food is excellent and seafood and meat imported from Australia. Prices are average compared to Australia. Located opposite Discovery Mall shopping centre.
Caters for the sports minded - plenty of flat screens to watch footy.
We enjoyed our meal and highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeoAdelaide1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara J, Guest Relations Manager at Bamboo Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great place to kick back and relax and have a drink and do some people watcfood watching or watch sports on the big screens. The food is amazing we had a few meals here and thoroughly enjoyed them. Would recommend everyone to go here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank renee n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara J, Guest Relations Manager at Bamboo Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a great Bamboo experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant look great, but that is about it. The service was terrible and the food was not much better. I ordered a fish curry and the fish was so tough and dry, it was just about inedible. Not what I was expecting from all the good reviews I have heard about it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeyBueEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara J, Guest Relations Manager at Bamboo Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and your comments are very important to us. They will be taken up with each department concerned as this is not what we aim for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bamboo Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing