We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique museum”

Fantasea Bali Shell Museum
Ranked #51 of 114 things to do in Kuta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Labuan Bajo, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“unique museum”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We travel a lot but never see museum like this, like the name most of display at this museum is a shell. But the shell is coming from around the world and age. One thing if you entrance this museum, what you feel is like shell store, but after you get into the museum venue, you can feel the different atmosphere. a Lot of shell collection you really don't want to miss.

Last time we visited here, they told us will move to a bigger place. But we don't know exactly when they will move, you can contact first before you came.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bajoguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    6
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You must see”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I know the museum for quite sometime but never really made an effort to visit. This time we did and it was beyond our expectation. The place looks like a small store from the outside, so you tend not to take it seriously, until you see the collection. It has an amazing collection and it is actually a private collection of one person !!.. We are very impressed. Stop by if you get a chance !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank idethke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a bad little place”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went there for an hour or two on a rainy Bali afternoon. Kids liked it but they are a bit too young to really appreciate it. Decent collection of shells and fossils and decent gift shop. Costs 75,000 to get in for adult and 50,00 for child which I think is a bit steep but we are on holiday I suppose! With KITAS we got the price down to 100,000 for 2 adullts, a four yr. old and a 2 yr. old.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Wolves_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“best place on the planet”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is amazing. so many shells. I woud travel from london to bali in economy class with easyjet just to spend another 79hours looking at the shells.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank EMMAabouttheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with stunning collections”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went there to spend my last day in Bali and ended up getting more than what I expected. It was a three story building. The second and third floor shows the various collections of shells, some cristals, corals, sea creatures, and fossils. The staff were friendly and seems to know much about everything displayed there. Unfortunately some lamps were broken, so the room was a little bit dark. The first floor was suppose to be the gift shop. It sells various kinds of souvenirs mostly made of shells with reasonable price. Love the lamp collections. They are gorgeous and affordable. The giftshop staff, mbak Putri, was friendly and very helpful. Definitely a must visit place in Bali.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Pratiknya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fantasea Bali Shell Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fantasea Bali Shell Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing