We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guest House Matahari
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$30
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramayana Resort & Spa(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$65
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kuta Paradiso Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$88
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Inna Kuta(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$101
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satriya Cottages(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$56
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$57
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kuta Puri Bungalows(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$59
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
10
29
38
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
29
38
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary waterbudget hotelwould stay here againair conditioningstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 91 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Last June 2013 I & my family stayed in this guest house for our holiday. It was superb! We stayed in superior room. The location is extraordinarily strategic. It's within walking distance to the beach, market, supermarkets, everything! The staffs were all very helpful & friendly. We will definitely stay in this guest house again if we come to Bali.

Room Tip: Because there's no elevator or lift, we'd suggest that you stay in the 1st floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0ny3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we(group of three) just returned from our trip to bali and for 3 days of our trip we stayed here. it cost us less than rm200 (around USD 68) for the entire duration of our stay. Quite cheap considering it was located in central kuta itself, with access to kuta beach, hard rock and kuta's nightlife and shopping district by foot itself (takes ard 10 minutes or so of walking). the rooms are ok, clean enough, and the double bed is big and comfortable. The bathroom was clean but small. Overall, we were happy with the cleanliness. The staff, however, were a different story. I had emailed them a couple of time prior to arriving at the guesthouse that we would require an extra bed. But alas, when we reached at 11pm at night, they said they had no extra beds and so the three of us had to squeeze on the double bed. I was a little miffed and i kept repeating that i had emailed them so many times(which they had replied ok) and asked for them to check their email, but all the staff(a guy) said was, "you can talk to my manager tomorrow" which was basically code for, we really can't do anything and frankly can't be bothered. Also, we requested for two extra pillows, but they said no and only gave us one. Thank god, the extra bed came in the next night though because three to a bed was terrible! The staff were alright but some were a little grumpy/moody. The day staff hardly ever smiled. But all in all, the pros very much outweighed the cons since the price was good and it was clean. For the remainder of the stay we decided to try the S8 hotel also located in Kuta.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roshwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The guesthouse is a little bit hard to find the first time, but is nice enough. The room are fine, nothing special. It just has an overall "average" feeling. Nothing is particularly good, or bad. I stayed in Kuta again a week later and stayed in Tanaya Bed and Breakfast for the same price, but a really good value and would prefer Tanaya if I stayed in Kuta again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaca97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked superior room at Matahari from Agoda on January 29, 2013. When we arrived there in April 2013, the staff put us in one room. When we got into the room, we were confused why the room was so small. After we asked him back, apparently he gave us the standard room because there were no other available rooms since all already occupied. He said that there was something wrong with the Agoda system without any further explanation. What made us soooo upset, how dare he put us directly to the standard room, without telling us the real condition. It was like trying to cheat on us.

Matahari tried to move us to Coco Heaven Hotel because it is under the same management with them. But, Coco Heaven is not that close to Kuta, plus the traffic jam. Matahari didn't consider that actually guests have planned their holiday and we were planning to spend it in Kuta at that day. We insisted to give back our money so that we can move to another hotel, but Matahari keep persuaded us to move to another hotel namely BOC guest house.

We were really disappointed with Matahari and for sure do not want to stay there again on our next visit to Bali.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherwitme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The cheapest room are old and not clean, I did not use the sheet. The place looks good at the first time but then, the swimming pool's water was trouble, not changed for a while. Breakfast was not goos as well. The staff (men) were heavy with me as woman alone. I don't recommend this place. I moved in Lamancha homestay, cheap clean room, staff very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAJU1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews