We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guest House Matahari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guest House Matahari
Ranked #106 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
wexford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

very cheap budget hotel, but you get alot for the price- Free wifi, lcd tv, fridge, aircon, towels, water. small room, but well laid out. Comfortable bed, and floors so clean and shiny! Staff keep to themselves and dont try to sell you tours etc. They also provided us with reasonably priced transport to our next destination. Dont let the windy little road to the hotel put you off, as you are a 5 min walk to the beach, and seven minutes from the bars and clubs, meaning its accessible, yet very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumbulywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
21
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Matahari Guest House has a clean room, very comfortable because they have very clean room. But my room has smoke smell that make me a bit of not comfortable. The weakness of this place is disturbing noise of outside street make me can't have a good sleep. But Actually I like this place and i will sleep here for my next holiday. But i want to request the room far from the outside.

Room Tip: Choose far from the street is better from disturbing noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JiujiuJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

For only IDR 200,000 per night for 2 persons, this accomodation is very value of money! The room has Air Conditioning, big fridge, LCD TV, coffee maker and the separate toilet & shower was convinient. The free wifi is also a big bonus! Our room was on the 2nd floor so that the road noise wasn't the big issue. We had such a good night sleep and felt a bit sorry for only staying there one night (Bali was just the transit place after our trip from Australia).

Room Tip: Chose rooms on 2nd floor. They are not that noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milka_yk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed here in jan.2012 for 2 nights. Room was very clean, price was decent, close to beach and shopping. Very little water pressure in the shower but the cleanliness of the place made up for that. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaelstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed there for 2 night, precisely on november 25, 2011. The hotel is quite small, the room was clean and all the part of building was maintai well.Location is near the main street of Kuta, it's make we are easy to go anywhere but noise at the out side because just 3 meter from the road.

Room Tip: Please asking room at second floor, will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madesuardika82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Bemo Corner Guest House
Bemo Corner Guest House
#134 of 280 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuta Sari House
Kuta Sari House
#155 of 280 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ananta the Kubu Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taman Tirta Ayu Pool and Mansion
0.9 mi away
Saimai Residence
Saimai Residence
#118 of 280 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
GM Bali Guesthouse
#51 of 280 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Matahari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Matahari

Property: Guest House Matahari
Address: Jl. Tegal Wangi no. 14, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guest House Matahari 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Guest House Matahari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Matahari Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing