We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sunset Bali Hotel
Ranked #83 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Sunset Bali Hotel was a lovely surprise, needed a cheap night, as we were going to check in at 1am and the staff there were excellent.We were concerned that the Hotel reception was not going to look after us,as it was very late, but totally wrong all the staff at the Hotel were great. Stayed 2 nights in total.

Rooms were clean, with a large bed that slept 2 adults and a 9 yr old, and rooms were modern.
Hotel provided us with a shuttle where ever we wanted to go to, enquired us that the Hotel can drive us to a Bank or where ever else we needed.

With the price of the Hotel, and the service we received, we would have give this Hotel a rating of 5, but the Hotel has a negative, and that is it is a good distance to Kuta Beach.

Went out for a run and got totally lost on the way back, that I had to get a taxi back to Hotel.
Always carry their card that shows a small map of the Hotel on the back, has i had a exclusive tour of a couple of Sunset Hotels in Kuta.

We would definitely use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OS_here_we_come
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent service from super friendly staffs.
Great location that is away from traffic and convenient area to get anywhere!
The room is so big with wifi connection available.
I would definitely refer this hotel to my friends what wish to visit Bali and I myself would love to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall the hotel is good. The pool is lovely. The room is spacious and clean. During our stay, we only managed to enjoy one day buffet breakfast, the other day buffet breakfast is not available, probably too little of tenants, however the hotel did offered ala carte breakfast for us. 20 mins walk distance away from Kuta center is pretty far. Hotel provided one-way shuttle service to Kuta center only valid until 4pm. Reception can help to call for taxi. Taxi only costs around Rp20,000 to Kuta center and Rp.40,000 to airport. Travelling time to airport by taxi is 20 mins depending on the traffic condition.

Room Tip: Request for ground level room for quick pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JC_T7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at The sunset bali hotel..
loved the big clean rooms, friendly staff, nice bathrooms and pool. didn't try the resturant
Not much around the hotel in the way of food or shops. Its about a 15-20 min fast walk to the Bali memorial.
The only negitives are that the rooms have poor sound insulation so being next to a main road wasnt much fun and Our hot water disappeared for two days ( wasnt a major as it was 35 degrees outside)
Also there is a new hotel being built right next door so its wasnt uncommon to be woken at 9am to the sounds of jack hammers and angle grinders. ( its out of the sunest hotels control but it would of been nice to know before booking the hotel )

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel.. less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We found this hotel to be lovely. All areas were scrupulously clean and the rooms were spacious with very good bathrooms. There were toiletries provided and clean towels and linen every day. We had a room which looked in on the pool/courtyard which was nice. It is on a busy road and there was very little traffic noise. There is a new hotel being built next door but this didn't really present us with any problems as it is shielded by a lovely screen which looks like sails. The only downside to this hotel is that the bar is open and by the road so there is traffic noise.
The staff were wonderful and really went out of their way to help in any way they could. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus which we used a few times to get to the Galeria shopping mall and to Seminyak & Kuta centre. There were only a few shops and a supermarket within walking distance.
The reception staff booked trips for us from the many brochures available and called taxis when we needed them. The restaurant staff looked after us very well and Beny & Emma took particular care of my mum & aunt! The hotel isn't near the beach but the use of the Bluebird taxis (very cheap and on a meter, costing around Rp20,000/£1.50 per journey) and free shuttle meant this wasn't a problem. In fact, it could be a blessing as the beach area of Kuta/Legian is very busy. I would certainly recommend this hotel. Thank you for making our holiday so special, we have lots of wonderful memories. :D

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 2, 3 or 4 with a pool view as the ground floor rooms open directly onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AllyG082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we staye for 3 nights at sunset bali hotel and we did enjoy the very big, nice and clean rooms and bathrooms. the are not in walking distance from shopping areas, but the hotel offers free shuttle drop offs to malls, Kuta and Seminyak. very friendly staff, good place to stay. we had a very good price too

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bajobakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner and myself recently stayed here and found the quality of service and condition of the room great. The pool was nice to relax in and the staff were very friendly. There were a few small things that would make me reconsider staying here again; There is not much around in walking distance (need to get a taxi into Legian st or Kuta beach) or book the hotels free shuttle bus 2 hours in advance. When there are a lot of people staying at the hotel, it echo's quite a lot which makes it hard to relax in the room. Our mini bar wasn't functioning when we first arrived - though the staff had this changed for us straight away. The food menu doesn't have the largest selection, and not too much to offer for room service. I would probably not recommend for families, as there isn't much on offer for kid's apart from the pool. Other than that, the hotel is a good place to stay when on a budget and the staff are accommodating. I would recommend for anyone that want's a good quality hotel without the extra costs.

Room Tip: Getting a room facing the pool will get the best views. Other rooms just look on to buildings and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearldrummerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.5 mi away
Palloma Hotel Kuta
Palloma Hotel Kuta
#73 of 253 in Kuta
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berry Biz Hotel
Berry Biz Hotel
#56 of 253 in Kuta
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atanaya Hotel
Atanaya Hotel
#24 of 253 in Kuta
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Solaris Hotel Kuta
Solaris Hotel Kuta
#74 of 253 in Kuta
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#12 of 253 in Kuta
678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Livio Kuta Hotel
Grand Livio Kuta Hotel
#81 of 253 in Kuta
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Bali Hotel

Address: Jl. Dewi Sri no. 11a, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
#36 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#57 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $15 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sunset Bali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Rooms, Strategic Location, Good Value Hotel.The Sunset Hotel offers a minimalist-concept boutique city hotel with a touch of luxury and elegance. We are strategically located at the heart of triangle of Kuta, Legian and Seminyak which provide easy access to district most popular attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Sunset Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Bali Hotel Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing