We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the only paradise in kuta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel Kuta
Ranked #50 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“the only paradise in kuta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

i stayed there april 2013.

bad research led me to stay in kuta. the hotel wasn't the problem. it was kuta that was the total letdown. i never viewed bali the same way again.

back to the hotel. it was paradise in that rowdy area. i often found myself not wanting to go out. it's clean and comfy, and quite near the discovery shopping mall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear marie s,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

Thank you for posting a review on us. I am sorry that you found Kuta area far from what you had expected. It is indeed far busier than Ubud or farther north of Bali. However, I am pleased that you found comfort and convenience in our hotel. If you happen to be in Bali again in the future, I am hoping that you will consider staying with Sun Island Hotel Kuta again. In the meantime, have a wonderful one!

With warmest regards,

Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    251
    78
    22
    11
See reviews for
101
208
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We got married at Sun Island Kuta on the 09.05.2014 and it was truely beautiful, more than we could have imagined. Our ceremony and reception was on the roof top venue. Sun Islands wedding coordinator Shanti did an awsome job of organizing our day and ensuring that it ran smoothly. We are extremely with the service we received and how our day went. Everything exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend Sun Island Kuta not only for a destination wedding location but also for holiday accomodation. The cost of the wedding including the ceremony and accomodation at Sun Island Kuta and there sister resort The White Rose was well priced and we received great value for our money. Everything we needed and required for the wedding ceremony and reception was included in the wedding package. Everything from the flower decorations to the buffet was done to perfection and well presented. Thoughout our stay the service from all staff was wonderful and highly professional. Pavoz restaurant makes the best cocktails, delightful. We will definatly be back for our first wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: The pool access rooms, say no more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Kristy B,

Greetings from sunny Bali!

Trust this message finds you and your husband well. I would like to congratulate you once again on your recent marriage, and I am wishing both of you a blessed, happy life together! We were honored to be part of your big day that went smoothly from the start. Thank you for your trust in our team; your special mention of Shanti has been passed on to her. I am delighted that you had a memorable moment with. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers, especially those who may be looking for a wedding venue. My team and I are looking forward to your return!

With best regards,

Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stay there for my wife birthday give holiday and our honeymoon. Was given a beautifull decorated room and cake. The staff was polite, always smile and accomodate. The location of this hotel is very strategic. 5 mins to Discovery mall where we can reach Kuta beach from the mall. There is a new mall at the other side called hypo mall. Along the way of this hotel was small shops. The hotel is clean. The best room was those facing the pool. We arrive early and the staff prepare a room for us to check in early. Everything was great. The egg station was the best part for breakfast. Food need to be change as they may receive different religion of guest so this must to be put into account.

Room Tip: Pool view room. Those facing the road maybe a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HISHAM-AINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear HISHAM-AINI,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

Trust this message finds you and your wife well. Thank you for your recent stay with us; I appreciate your time posting the review. I am delighted to know that both of you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our food option. We will take it into consideration to better improve our quality in the future. I am hoping that you will plan another getaway with us, hopefully in not too distant future.

Warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel is not to far from discovery mall, so i can walk. They give me user Id and password if i want to use wifi, but sometimes i got sometimes not (unstable). When i take a bath with warm water sometimes warm, sometimes cold. They have nice place to stay, simple room but ok. King size bed. Breakfast is not bad. I stay for 3 days n i recommended if you want to stay at this hotel, better if they can improve their service, make the wifi strongger and stable. And be friendly to anyone come.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fnras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Fnras,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you liked the room you were staying in, although I wish that the problem with the water heater could have been reported and fixed when you were still in-house. I thank you for your feedback regarding our wi-fi connection. We will improve this as we are aware of its importance to our guests. In response to what you implied in your comment about our service, I am sorry that you had such impression. Please rest assured that our staff honor and treat our guests the same, as every guest is important. I am hoping that you will plan another stay with us in your next Bali getaway and let us show you the true and warm hospitality of Sun Island Hotel Kuta. We look forward to your return!

Warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Was there for company meeting. This is a nice hotel. With perfect location, for me.
The room is big enough for two. The room facilities didn't fail me. Their breakfast were great, eventhough, a bit crowded when i was there. Also. The nice touch was at night, there is a small cafe in front of their restaurant, and they have livemusic! You will enjoy staying there. But, one note, that it'll bit crowd and noise there, because it located near Kuta beach and discovery mall.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Eva T,

Greetings from the vibrant side of Bali!

Thank you for staying in Sun Island Hotel Kuta. I truly appreciate your time posting a review, but most of all, I am happy with the fact that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Sun Island Hotel Kuta is indeed suitable for both leisure and business travelers like you. With a great location, near Bali's International Airport and big shopping malls, we also have a ballroom and smaller meeting rooms as well as reliable event & banquet support. I am hoping that there will be another time when we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future!

With warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and i stopped over at the sun island hotel last year for a night before heading to the Gilli Islands. we found the hotel to be fantastic the hotel staff were great with check in and helped us to our room. breakfast had a good variety and they had an egg station to order your eggs made fresh. we had room service the evening we arrived as we had only just landed and were starving couldn't fault that either both had beef burgers.

Extremely clean and tidy hotel with great grounds. pool is average size rooms were spotless.

we were that happy with our quick stay we've now booked this hotel for september with our two children and 5 family members.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinbali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Lovinbali2,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

It was wonderful hearing from you after your stay last year! Thank you for all your compliments on our rooms, staff, and breakfast. I am delighted to know that you had such an amazing time. My team and I can't wait to welcome you and your family back to the warm hospitality of Sun Island Hotel Kuta in September!

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel room is spacious compare where we can put many things in the room, clean and comfortable. Wifi is okay though it's not too fast but I can check and send email. Hotel staf is very helpful and check in process very fast approximately 5 minutes only. Hotel Location is very convenience, 2 minutes walk from discovery mall and there are many restaurants along the way also many mini markets.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear hustle from the main road, try to request the back room. we stayed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feny_Tse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Feny_Tse,

Greetings from the lively side of Bali!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta and I am hoping there will be another one in the near future! Your feedback and insight were highly appreciated. I am delighted knowing that you did enjoy your vacation. Thank you for your positive comment on our room. With premium quality mattresses and linen, paired with ample space, each of our rooms is indeed designed for maximum comfort for guests. Your kind word with regards to our staff has been shared among my team who will continue delivering the best, efficient service from the heart.

Looking forward to your return!

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#29 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#70 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#5 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
#13 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#25 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Property: Sun Island Hotel Kuta
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#44 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to introduce you to our latest establishment of property in Kuta area. Sun Island Boutique Hotel Kuta offers you its definite impeccable service through the 126 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star luxurious hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese traditional architecture and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, Discovery Mall, Traditional Art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Sun Island Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing