We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Ranked #97 of 340 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great stop over.”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We only had one night here on our way back from Lombok and were very pleasantly surprised by what found at Sun Island.

I have to admit that I wast expecting much. It was the Hotel's proximity to the airport alongside a reasonable price tag that initially attracted us. However, upon arrival we were immediately greeted by their wonderful staff who took the bags and checked us in quickly and efficiently. They even offered to open breakfast early for us so we could eat before flying out!!

The whole hotel was clearly pretty new and so far has been kept very clean and in good condition. Our room had everything that we needed and it was a very comfortable night stay.

Situated on the main road in Kuta it is easy to walk straight out to find a huge range of restaurants bars and shops. I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a place in that area!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Amy H,

Greetings from the vibrant side of Bali!

First of all, thank you for staying at Sun Island Hotel Kuta managed by Sun Island Bali. It was always a pleasure to hear that our guests had a wonderful time while staying in our hotel. Thank you for leaving such a positive note on our staff, room, and location. With the strategic location, first-class service and facilities, I am happy that you considered us value for money. I am hoping that you will return to our hotel in your next Bali getaway.

Warmest regards,

Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    261
    82
    25
    12
See reviews for
110
220
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The rooms were clean and cozy with good size.The location is very good, nera to centro shopping mall and waterboom and nearby restaurants The breakfast was very good with wide range of choices . Ther staff's were polite and helpful. The only negative point was internet . The connection get lost and very slow speed. if they can improve this item then it should be an ideal choice concerning the reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe Pool View Rooms.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear xxanty,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

What pleasure to hear from you after your stay in last March! I truly appreciate your time in posting the review. I am pleased to learn that you loved most aspects of our hotel and that your family getaway went amazing. Thank you for your note with regards to our Internet connection. Despite reasons such as high traffic when we're in tight occupancy that may slow down the connection, we keep doing our best effort to improve it as being able to access the Internet is one of crucial necessities for our guests. My team and I are looking forward to your return in your next Bali getaway. Meanwhile, I am wishing you and your family a fantastic time!

Best regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in sun island hotel kuta from 13-16 April. We booked the pool access room via agoda and paid SGD 368 + USD 30 as we requested for late checkout. We got room 114 which is beside the bridge. Overall, our stay is very good, i cant give them a 5 star rating coz their F&B area needs a little bit of improvement.

Staff - courteous, nice and respectful to all their guests. They are very attentive to the needs of each guest. If you forgot to put the "refresh room" signage at your door, they will actually knock and ask if you would like your room to be cleaned. You can also borrower power adopter - just call the front desk and they will deliver it to your room. 5 stars for the staff

Room - nice, clean and cozy room. The room has all the facilities you need - king size bed, tv with lots of channels, small fridge, coffee & tea facility, cozy lighting (which is very good while taking photos), cabinet with hangers, bath robe and sleepers, safety box and the most important of all - very clean bathroom (free bath amenities). It has a bath tub which is nice but realized the water will splash all over the floor whenever you take a shower in a standing position. It would be better if there is a sliding glass door next to the bath tub to prevent splashing of water all over the bathroom floor. 5 stars for this.

Hotel - the sorroundings are very clean, well maintained and i believed this is a fairly new hotel. Pool is of medium size, not crowded at all as i think everyone is outside exploring bali. Hotel also provide beach towel which you can get in the bar area. Free wifi of course (youre in bali so dont expect fast internet!). We never experienced noisy sorroundings at all during our stay. 4.5 stars.

Food - Our room comes with a free breakfast. The spread is ok, they have bread, salad, fruits drinks, egg and mains station.Though they rotate their menu on a daily basis, the taste is nothing but ordinary. Food are being replenished quickly by the staff.
We also tried dining here on our first night. We ordered a beef something with mashed potato, quesadilla, 2 bintang, 1 coke, 1 cocktail drink and a sheesha (first time to try). Total bill is abt IDR 400K (SGD 40-42) which is reasonable. Again the taste is nothing but ordinary. Maybe the hotel can improve their F&B area. 3 stars for food.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jt_and_lowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear jt_and_lowie,

Greetings from the island!

I would like to personally thank you for posting such a detailed and insightful review on us. I believe many travelers will gain important information from it. Thank you for giving us high scores on our staff and rooms. This was indeed meaningful for us who always strive for excellence in ensuring that our guests experience a comfortable stay and their needs are well taken care of. Your note in regards to our wi-fi was well acknowledged, and we'll keep making our best effort to improve the connection and be at hand for troubleshooting. I appreciate your comment with regard to the taste of our food. Please rest assured that it will be one of references to better improve us in the future. Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. My team and I are looking forward to welcoming both of you at the warm hospitality of Sun Island Hotel Kuta, hopefully not long from now.

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I can't praise the staff at the Sun Island Hotel Kuta enough. They gave exceptional service... Nothing was too much trouble. No hesitation to go that extra mile. Wonderful, beautiful people. The food was wonderful, the room was very comfortable.. No complaints at all

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Barb And John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

Thank you for posting a review on your stay with us in March. i truly appreciate all the compliments you gave us, but what matters most to us was the fact that you had an amazing time during your family getaway. We will always look forward to welcoming you and your family back, hopefully in the not-too-distant future.

Best regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for two nights to spoil ourselves a bit, especially because it was my husbands birthday. We enjoyed every minute and took full advantage of the room. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful and surprised my husband with a great birthday cake! The second night we enjoyed live music at the bar. Our room was towards the back alley and it was really quiet and enjoyable.

Room Tip: take one away from the bar, as this can be quite noisy in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellieus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Ellieus,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

I trust this message finds you and your husband well. Thank you for spending your getaway in our hotel, and sharing your experience here. I am happy to know that the little surprise birthday celebration for your husband went as planned. Thank you for complimenting our staff and facilities. I am hoping that the next time you visit Bali, you will stay in the warm hospitality of Sun Island Hotel Kuta again.

With warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I had booked this hotel through one of travel site and for this hotel only one type of rooms were offered. However when I reached the hotel and I was allotted a room at the back of hotel with filthy view. When I requested to shift to Pool side rooms, they demanded more money and that to too much saying these pool side rooms are costly where in the website only one type of room were offered. After making lot of noise I was shigted to front of the hotel but not on pool side.
Now coming to hotel yes it is in the middle of market next to Discovery shopping mall. the Hotel has good breakfast to offer. Service was good and hotel has all usual amenities.

Room Tip: Before booking ask for pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajkumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Mr. Rajkumar G,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay with us. Please kindly be advised that we have 4 room categories in our hotel as mentioned on our website. What you booked originally through your travel agent was most likely our Deluxe Room, our standard category. The next categories are Deluxe Pool View, Deluxe Pool Access, and Suite; and the rates vary according to the categories. Despite the confusion in the early stage of your stay, I am glad that you had most of your time in Bali. Thank you for sharing the detail of your stay here. My team and I are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathridge, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

At very short notice I needed two nights accommodation in Kuta. Found Sun Island on a hotel booking site and liked price and location.
Was very warmly greeted at reception by very polite staff, welcome drink and very welcome cool towel. I had a few problems getting my 'tablet' to log onto their wifi to show my booking receipt, as I had not been in the position to print it out. The staff were very patient with me and my limited computer knowledge. They sorted it all out and showed me how to get to the appropriate page for next time. I had a lovely room overlooking the pool area. The room was spacious, very clean. and the bed was very comfortable. I stayed over the Nyepi period so there was no problem with noise. The staff were very good during this special time and (free) breakfast, (very reasonably priced) lunch and dinner were all served and although not a wide selection the food was very nice. I left the hotel early in the morning, as Nyepi was coming to and end and again the staff were very polite and helpful. Even arranging for water for me before I left. Thanks for a lovely few days of peace and quiet, which was exactly what I needed after a very hectic and stressful time leading me up to staying there. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sandra F,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

I'd like to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel in such a short notice. I am happy to know that your Nyepi with us in April went amazing and that our services left you with such a wonderful memory. Thank you for complimenting our services, room, and other facilities. Thank you for recommending us, and we can't wait to welcome you back in your next Bali vacation!

Cheers,
Ismullah, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#63 of 340 in Kuta
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#106 of 340 in Kuta
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#9 of 340 in Kuta
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#68 of 340 in Kuta
1,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vira Bali Hotel
The Vira Bali Hotel
#28 of 340 in Kuta
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta

Property: Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kuta
#53 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#64 Family Hotel in Kuta
#65 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to present Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta that offers you its definite impeccable service through the 121 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese hospitality and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, shopping malls, traditional art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing