We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go back in a flash.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel Kuta
Ranked #51 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would go back in a flash.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went for our honeymoon. We had a pool access room which I would highly recommend. The food and staff were excellent. The entire hotel was spotless. There was an external company providing currency exchange in the hotel lobby at the best rate we could locate anywhere in Bali and this makes cash exchange very easy with no funny business.
The staff went out of their way for our honeymoon. Day 1 was a cake and rose petal bath. Day 2 towels folded into swans on the bedding. Day 3 Honeymoon bears. Little things in the whole scheme of things but this gives you an appreciation of their attention to detail.

Room Tip: Pool Access is a must if you like to hang on the porch in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krisperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Krisperth,

Greetings from the island!

My team and I were honored to be part of your recent romantic getaway. It pleases me to learn that both of you had a wonderful time. Thank you for your kind word on all aspects of our hotel. We are already so looking forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    251
    78
    22
    11
See reviews for
101
208
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Suns Island is an excellent and relaxed mid hotel.
It gives a clean and safe feel and has some nice elements.
First of all it is in walking distance of Kartika Plaza Shopping mall and also some nice restaurant like Bubba Shrimp, even going to Legian Djalan is not a stretch.
The welcome is hartwarming with a nice welcome drink and friendly staff at the desk who all speak undstandable English.
The transportation to and from the airport are short and the fair is reasonable.
It might not be the choice for the young and vibrant but is is definitely a good choice for those who want to do some traveling on Bali and have a safe stay not to far from the centre and the beach.

Don't expect to much from the breakfast which is still nice and clean, the staff gives their best.

I will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Book a room with poolview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear H V,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

I am delighted to hear from you after your recent stay in our hotel, and most of all, I am happy to know that you felt welcomed and secured and your vacation went as you planned. Thank you for your kind word regarding our staff and services. Your feedback with regards to our breakfast is very much appreciated. We keep doing our best to give our guests more options while maintaining good quality. I truly appreciate your kindness in recommending us to other travelers. We certainly are looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel was central only 200m from discovery shopping mall, the new Lippo mall and Waterbom park. The staff were very friendly, we had an issue with our safe not working but it was fixed within about 5 minutes. The facilities were very clean and modern, and the hotel was only two years old which was great. We stayed in the deluxe room with pool view, which for us was basically a pool access as it was on the ground floor. We had three people stay in the room so paid for an extra bed which was full size and comfortable. Room service food and cocktails were safe to eat, well priced and delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Steph D,

Greetings from the fun side of Bali!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, and thank you for sharing the detail of your stay with other travelers. I am happy to learn that your vacation ran as you wanted it to be and that you had a great time while staying with us. We’d be honored if you would consider staying with us again in your next getaway in Bali.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for our anniversary trip. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel because of its friendly staff, good servtice and good location. Check in was fast and front desk staff were nice and friendly. The pool side access room was nice and big and had direct access to the pool. Only minus thing is the toilet which was not designed properly - the toilet could get wet easily. No place to hang wet clothes. Other than that we were really pleased with room, facilities of the hotel and the good customer service. Buffet breakfast had a nice spread and plenty of choices.

Location wise : very near to discovery mall, waterbom park and many restaurants.

Highly recommended for families and couples. Good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shazalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Shazalia,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

Though it’s late, I’d like to wish you and your husband a happy wedding anniversary and a fulfilling journey ahead! Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your special vacation at. I’m happy to know that both of you had a nice time. My team and I are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to our fun and friendly hotel.

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegal, Indonesia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We go to Bali for golf in BNR and did a dinner meeting in this hotel. First we chose this hotel because the location is really near from NGurah Rai Internasional Airport (15 minutes drive and no Traficc Jam). This hotel also near from Discovery Shopping mal, Lippo Mall(the new one), and Bali Water boom. the swimming pool is good, and the room is really big for hotel in KUTA. The Staff performance is really profesional, they arrange our Golf bag really well in their reception. Only one minus point for them, they used really weird room number and floor, so some guest confuse to find their room, and also their staf is confuse too, because they also made mistake write the meeting room floor, i think that should be change.

Room Tip: choose room in first floor, because no view in higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Agustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear C Agustino,

Greetings from Bali!

My highest appreciation to you for choosing to stay in our hotel in your recent business trip. Thank you for sharing the highlights of our hotel to other travelers. I’m pleased to learn that you had a great time. Your feedback regarding our room and floor numbering will be one of our references for improving our services and facilities in the future. Thank you again for your review. My team and I will always look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Warm regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sun Island over the NY's period due to it being advertised as close to the beach. If you have been to Kuta before the area is designed in a very weird manner and there was no access to the beach at all from the hotel. You had to walk around and travel to pretty much the end of the strip for the access which was not that great at all. However, the staff were friendly upon check in (especially Indi) and as per normal welcome drinks etc was provided. Our bags were kept secure as we had arrived a bit early. The staff offered a 5min guidance of the area to show us the good spas and shopping areas.
The rooms are nice and tidy but not very big. Bed was comfortable with a balcony. Bathroom was great but small too and did not offer rails in the shower like other places to dry your clothes (needed in wet season) if required. The buffet breakfast was good with a variety of selection. Their restaurant offered good choices if you wanted to have lunch or dinner.
The centre of Kuta is about 15min walk. This is where Beachwalk (new shopping centre) and Hard Rock Cafe is. Cab should cost ~40k rupiah here.
The discovery mall is about 300m from the hotel and offered good shopping and eateries.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RegNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear RegNZ,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

I’d like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent Bali getaway, and I’m glad that you had most your time here. Thank you for sharing the highlights of your stay with other travelers who, I’m sure, will gain better information about our hotel from your insights. I am hoping that you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Bali. In the meantime, I’m wishing you and your family a wonderful year!

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#34 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#5 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#26 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#68 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
0.3 mi away
The Vira Bali Hotel
The Vira Bali Hotel
#15 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Property: Sun Island Hotel Kuta
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#44 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to introduce you to our latest establishment of property in Kuta area. Sun Island Boutique Hotel Kuta offers you its definite impeccable service through the 126 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star luxurious hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese traditional architecture and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, Discovery Mall, Traditional Art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sun Island Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing