We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Modern & great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Ranked #59 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel was central only 200m from discovery shopping mall, the new Lippo mall and Waterbom park. The staff were very friendly, we had an issue with our safe not working but it was fixed within about 5 minutes. The facilities were very clean and modern, and the hotel was only two years old which was great. We stayed in the deluxe room with pool view, which for us was basically a pool access as it was on the ground floor. We had three people stay in the room so paid for an extra bed which was full size and comfortable. Room service food and cocktails were safe to eat, well priced and delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Steph D,

Greetings from the fun side of Bali!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, and thank you for sharing the detail of your stay with other travelers. I am happy to learn that your vacation ran as you wanted it to be and that you had a great time while staying with us. We’d be honored if you would consider staying with us again in your next getaway in Bali.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 573 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for our anniversary trip. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel because of its friendly staff, good servtice and good location. Check in was fast and front desk staff were nice and friendly. The pool side access room was nice and big and had direct access to the pool. Only minus thing is the toilet which was not designed properly - the toilet could get wet easily. No place to hang wet clothes. Other than that we were really pleased with room, facilities of the hotel and the good customer service. Buffet breakfast had a nice spread and plenty of choices.

Location wise : very near to discovery mall, waterbom park and many restaurants.

Highly recommended for families and couples. Good value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Shazalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Shazalia,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

Though it’s late, I’d like to wish you and your husband a happy wedding anniversary and a fulfilling journey ahead! Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your special vacation at. I’m happy to know that both of you had a nice time. My team and I are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to our fun and friendly hotel.

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We go to Bali for golf in BNR and did a dinner meeting in this hotel. First we chose this hotel because the location is really near from NGurah Rai Internasional Airport (15 minutes drive and no Traficc Jam). This hotel also near from Discovery Shopping mal, Lippo Mall(the new one), and Bali Water boom. the swimming pool is good, and the room is really big for hotel in KUTA. The Staff performance is really profesional, they arrange our Golf bag really well in their reception. Only one minus point for them, they used really weird room number and floor, so some guest confuse to find their room, and also their staf is confuse too, because they also made mistake write the meeting room floor, i think that should be change.

Room Tip: choose room in first floor, because no view in higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_Agustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear C Agustino,

Greetings from Bali!

My highest appreciation to you for choosing to stay in our hotel in your recent business trip. Thank you for sharing the highlights of our hotel to other travelers. I’m pleased to learn that you had a great time. Your feedback regarding our room and floor numbering will be one of our references for improving our services and facilities in the future. Thank you again for your review. My team and I will always look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Warm regards,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sun Island over the NY's period due to it being advertised as close to the beach. If you have been to Kuta before the area is designed in a very weird manner and there was no access to the beach at all from the hotel. You had to walk around and travel to pretty much the end of the strip for the access which was not that great at all. However, the staff were friendly upon check in (especially Indi) and as per normal welcome drinks etc was provided. Our bags were kept secure as we had arrived a bit early. The staff offered a 5min guidance of the area to show us the good spas and shopping areas.
The rooms are nice and tidy but not very big. Bed was comfortable with a balcony. Bathroom was great but small too and did not offer rails in the shower like other places to dry your clothes (needed in wet season) if required. The buffet breakfast was good with a variety of selection. Their restaurant offered good choices if you wanted to have lunch or dinner.
The centre of Kuta is about 15min walk. This is where Beachwalk (new shopping centre) and Hard Rock Cafe is. Cab should cost ~40k rupiah here.
The discovery mall is about 300m from the hotel and offered good shopping and eateries.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank RegNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear RegNZ,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

I’d like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent Bali getaway, and I’m glad that you had most your time here. Thank you for sharing the highlights of your stay with other travelers who, I’m sure, will gain better information about our hotel from your insights. I am hoping that you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Bali. In the meantime, I’m wishing you and your family a wonderful year!

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Transfer to hotel, stress full, driver could not be found, Had to get Information to find driver. over the intercom
A person who had a different name on his card said his friend would take us to the Hotel. We were very pleased so we booked him for the next day sightseeing, He did not turn up.
On arrival to the Hotel there was no welcome drink or cold towel that we were used to on arrival.
We did have help to our room, No fruit bowl and fridge was empty, water was on the bench not in the fridge. This holiday was a special occasion, it was my partners 50th Birthday. We made a point of telling the staff when we arrived, The Travel Agents said they would mention it. The Hotel Staff said they did not know. We booked a table the restaurant of the hotel. Come the day they knew nothing about this. We were the only ones in the restaurant, The waiter could not be found half the time and when our meal arrived it was cold. We did not complain but would never recommend a meal there again. We were very surprised that a birthday cake arrived at our room at 11pm, it was a nice gesture and another one at breakfast. Every morning at 5am, the intercom came on tho call all the staff to work, this was not from our hotel but a building at the back of the hotel. There was also a dispute about how we were being transferred back to the airport. The hotel staff said it had nothing to do with them.

Room Tip: Get a room surrounding the pool , only if you like loud music. If you like being woken up early get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Patric P,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

It was disheartening to learn that you had to experience a series of unpleasant situations in your recent stay with us. It was very unfortunate that what you encountered early at the airport had to affect your entire holiday experience. The absence of welcome drink and cold towels upon check in is definitely not in accordance to our standard operational procedure. I apologize for the hassle with regard to your transfer out. Even when your travel agent should have arranged one for you, our staff should have assisted you better in getting the information beforehand. Please rest assured that we have addressed both matters with our FO department as to avoid similar inconsistency and miscommunication to happen again in the future. In response to your comment regarding our room amenities, please kindly be advised that fruit baskets are only provided in our suites, not in other room types. We provide a refrigerator in every room, without the mini bar, as per our standard, as this will allow our guests to fill it as they wish with drinks they can easily purchase either from our room service or nearby convenience stores. It is also true that complimentary bottled water is placed on the table, not inside the refrigerator as bottled water is not considered a mini bar item (and, again, we do not provide mini bar). Your feedback with regard to our dining has been followed up by our Executive Chef. As our guests’ relaxing and enjoyable experience is one of our utmost concerns, please rest assured that we will keep doing our best to improve our services and facilities. Thank you for bringing all your concerns to my attention. I am hoping that the experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at Sun Island Kuta for 4 nights early January. The whole hotel was very clean and well kept. The staff members were lovely and so helpful, from allowing us to move rooms as the first room we had was a street front room was quite loud to stopping the traffic out the front so we could cross the street. We couldn't fault them.
We stayed in a standard room, it was plenty large enough, clean, and the beds are very comfortable.

Breakfast was not as good as some of the resorts I've stayed at but for the price of our stay it was very good.
I recommend anyone who wants to stay close to Kuta but not right amongst the noise look at Sun Island, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Davina P,

Greetings from Bali!

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta in your recent vacation. I am glad that you had most of your time with us. Thank you for sharing the experience you had with other travelers. Your feedback regarding our breakfast is appreciated and has been acknowledged as one of references to improve our services in the future.
The whole team at Sun Island Hotel Kuta will be looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

my husband and i stayed in suite was beautiful room but our veiw from our balcony was a roof very dissapointed lovely room but you would think being suite it would be a view off the pool or some nice gardens we paid lot off money to stay in this lovely suite and its at back off hotel poorly designed we stayed in suites before and we have had acess to pool or a lovely veiw this was not the case at this hotel even though staff were lovely and the hotel was close to shops i still would not stay there again also breakfast was not great overall experence was dissapointing

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Curby,

Trust this message finds both of you well!

I am saddened to learn that your recent stay with us was not as you had expected it to be. Given the extra space as compared to the other room types, our suites are designed for the convenience of guests with families or travelers who want extra comfort within the room after a long stroll along the busy Kuta area where we’re located at. I am sorry that you did not find this to be the case. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our breakfast buffet. Please rest assured that we always strive for service excellence for our guests’ comfortable stay.
I’m hoping that what you experienced did not spoil your vacation in general, and also hoping that you will still have a second thought about not staying with us again in the future. We take guests’ reviews seriously and will do all we can to improve all aspects of our services and facilities.

Yours sincerely,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#27 of 253 in Kuta
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 253 in Kuta
753 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bali Rani Hotel
Bali Rani Hotel
#90 of 253 in Kuta
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#42 of 253 in Kuta
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#38 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#42 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#43 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $62 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to present Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta that offers you its definite impeccable service through the 121 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese hospitality and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, shopping malls, traditional art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing