We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveler rating
184
277
89
25
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
277
89
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiscovery mallwaterbom parkwaterbom balipool access roommodern hotelshopping centrenoisy at nightlive bandwelcome drinkbreakfast spreadbooked this hotelpleasant staywifi connectioncouple of nightsswimming poolbusy streetenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 588 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Transfer to hotel, stress full, driver could not be found, Had to get Information to find driver. over the intercom
A person who had a different name on his card said his friend would take us to the Hotel. We were very pleased so we booked him for the next day sightseeing, He did not turn up.
On arrival to the Hotel there was no welcome drink or cold towel that we were used to on arrival.
We did have help to our room, No fruit bowl and fridge was empty, water was on the bench not in the fridge. This holiday was a special occasion, it was my partners 50th Birthday. We made a point of telling the staff when we arrived, The Travel Agents said they would mention it. The Hotel Staff said they did not know. We booked a table the restaurant of the hotel. Come the day they knew nothing about this. We were the only ones in the restaurant, The waiter could not be found half the time and when our meal arrived it was cold. We did not complain but would never recommend a meal there again. We were very surprised that a birthday cake arrived at our room at 11pm, it was a nice gesture and another one at breakfast. Every morning at 5am, the intercom came on tho call all the staff to work, this was not from our hotel but a building at the back of the hotel. There was also a dispute about how we were being transferred back to the airport. The hotel staff said it had nothing to do with them.

Room Tip: Get a room surrounding the pool , only if you like loud music. If you like being woken up early get a room at the back.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Patric P,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

It was disheartening to learn that you had to experience a series of unpleasant situations in your recent stay with us. It was very unfortunate that what you encountered early at the airport had to affect your entire holiday experience. The absence of welcome drink and cold towels upon check in is definitely not in accordance to our standard operational procedure. I apologize for the hassle with regard to your transfer out. Even when your travel agent should have arranged one for you, our staff should have assisted you better in getting the information beforehand. Please rest assured that we have addressed both matters with our FO department as to avoid similar inconsistency and miscommunication to happen again in the future. In response to your comment regarding our room amenities, please kindly be advised that fruit baskets are only provided in our suites, not in other room types. We provide a refrigerator in every room, without the mini bar, as per our standard, as this will allow our guests to fill it as they wish with drinks they can easily purchase either from our room service or nearby convenience stores. It is also true that complimentary bottled water is placed on the table, not inside the refrigerator as bottled water is not considered a mini bar item (and, again, we do not provide mini bar). Your feedback with regard to our dining has been followed up by our Executive Chef. As our guests’ relaxing and enjoyable experience is one of our utmost concerns, please rest assured that we will keep doing our best to improve our services and facilities. Thank you for bringing all your concerns to my attention. I am hoping that the experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at Sun Island Kuta for 4 nights early January. The whole hotel was very clean and well kept. The staff members were lovely and so helpful, from allowing us to move rooms as the first room we had was a street front room was quite loud to stopping the traffic out the front so we could cross the street. We couldn't fault them.
We stayed in a standard room, it was plenty large enough, clean, and the beds are very comfortable.

Breakfast was not as good as some of the resorts I've stayed at but for the price of our stay it was very good.
I recommend anyone who wants to stay close to Kuta but not right amongst the noise look at Sun Island, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Davina P,

Greetings from Bali!

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta in your recent vacation. I am glad that you had most of your time with us. Thank you for sharing the experience you had with other travelers. Your feedback regarding our breakfast is appreciated and has been acknowledged as one of references to improve our services in the future.
The whole team at Sun Island Hotel Kuta will be looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

my husband and i stayed in suite was beautiful room but our veiw from our balcony was a roof very dissapointed lovely room but you would think being suite it would be a view off the pool or some nice gardens we paid lot off money to stay in this lovely suite and its at back off hotel poorly designed we stayed in suites before and we have had acess to pool or a lovely veiw this was not the case at this hotel even though staff were lovely and the hotel was close to shops i still would not stay there again also breakfast was not great overall experence was dissapointing

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Curby,

Trust this message finds both of you well!

I am saddened to learn that your recent stay with us was not as you had expected it to be. Given the extra space as compared to the other room types, our suites are designed for the convenience of guests with families or travelers who want extra comfort within the room after a long stroll along the busy Kuta area where we’re located at. I am sorry that you did not find this to be the case. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our breakfast buffet. Please rest assured that we always strive for service excellence for our guests’ comfortable stay.
I’m hoping that what you experienced did not spoil your vacation in general, and also hoping that you will still have a second thought about not staying with us again in the future. We take guests’ reviews seriously and will do all we can to improve all aspects of our services and facilities.

Yours sincerely,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

With friendly staff, the hotel is modern, clean and boasts a good location for exploring Kuta. Shops, restaurants, starbucks and all the action of the city are steps away - though the nicer restaurants are in Seminyak which is taxi away. For those looking for a base to explore Kuta, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear travel2210,

Greetings from Kuta, Bali!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta in your recent holiday. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for pointing out some of our highlights. My team and I are always looking forward to welcoming you back to our friendly hotel!

Kind regards,

Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

strategic located in kuta and nearby airport, convenient in many ways. good for staycation. breakfast was good for the price we paid for. the only problem is it could be noisy at night if you are staying at road facing room.

Room Tip: pick a non road facing room if possible, can be very noisy @ night
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Lee C,

Greetings from the island!

It was great to hear from you after your recent stay. I am pleased to know that your vacation ran pleasantly. I hope that you will plan another getaway with us in the near future. Until then, I am wishing you a wonderful time.

Cheers,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews