We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and not so pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Ranked #54 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant and not so pleasant”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a solo traveller late Oct for 6 nights. Had stayed in the area before so knew it was close to everything which is great. Checkin was smooth was hoping for an upgrade as hotel was quiet but didn't get asked. Safe didn't work but rang and maintenance came within 5 mins new batteries were needed. Rooms clean and decorated beautifully but the smell was ghastly. If I went out for more than an hour when I came back it smelt like sewerage. I didn't fuss though as I just opened the door and it went away. Breakfast was a little dissapointing. There was plentiful food to choose from but bacon and hash browns had obviously been pre prepared so crispy bacon was like chewy bacon and hash browns were soggy. Fresh would have been better so I would suggest the hotel do smaller quantities and replenish more regularly rather than cooking too much and letting it spoil. Staff were kind and friendly and went out if their way to find me a DVD player which I requested. Pool was quiet and a nice spot to relax. This hotel was great for my purpose which was to chill and sleep. Pool access rooms would be the way to go if staying here. Overall a pleasant stay with a few small things which could be easily fixed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abchari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Abchari,

Trust this message finds you well!

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta. We are pleased to learn that you liked our service and most of our hotel facilities. Thank you for giving us a chance to improve our service by giving us constructive feedback. Your comment regarding the smell inside your room has been addressed by related departments. In response to your comment with regards to our breakfast, please rest assured that our Executive Chef and his team will continue giving the best dining experience to our guests, and therefore your suggestion regarding our breakfast was very much appreciated.

We hope that you will plan another Bali getaway with us in the near future. We’ll be looking forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    255
    80
    24
    11
See reviews for
105
212
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

arriving st sun island hotel both my cousin and myself were full of excitement ready to enjoy 7 days holidaying together ,the first 2 days into our stay was plesant enough and the staff seemed nice and friendly , well that was untill we had an issue acessing our rooms safety box using our pin number each time we entered our pin it kept coming up error ( funny thing thou the 2 days leading up to this error the safe opened every time ) so as we couldnt open it with our pin we headed up to the front service desk to tell them and ask for their help, this is where our stay got ugly ,after the young staff member came to the room and opened the safe with the master key my cousin went to get her purse and noticed things we put in the safe didnt look as we had left them then she was horrified to find $400 missing ,i then checked mine,yep $300 missing .discussed and very upset we raced up the the service desk we wonted some answers to whom had been in our room that day and told them about our missing money. now comes the unprofessionalism from this so called 4 star hotel .the front desk staff were laughing at our loss and said no staff has stolen it we must of spent more then we thought.we showed them the receipts from the money we had exchanged and how much we came with still no help or concern ,we asked to look at video footage to see who entered our room ,but guess what no cameras where our rooms were but strangly enough everywhere else throughout the hotel there are camera s,i asked to veiw the data entry logs to the room and safe even thous figures and times were out so ALL AUSSIES watch your money in this hotel $700 AUSTRALIAN DOLLARS STOLEN and not even a simple sorry ... to top of our terrible stay we had 2x sleepless nights of drilling outside the hotel so thanks sun island hotel for our upsetting stay at your hotel would never recommend this place to anyone shocking

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank leesa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear leesa b,

Warmest greetings from Bali!

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing your concern to our attention. We are disheartened to learn that your holiday with us was far from being satisfactory. We understand how upset you have been. We did necessary actions to investigate the problem although the result might not have been satisfying to you. In this opportunity, please allow us to offer an explanation. As you know that safety deposit box (SDB) is password protected, and only guests who create or those who have access to the password can open it. When there is an error in the SDB, whereby the password is rejected just like what you experienced, the system will automatically lock the SDB for security reason, and it can only be unlocked using a master key. The SDB is also programmed with a log memory system that records all activities or transactions of the machine. Our data showed that your SDB was opened using passwords that had been uniquely created that no one from our hotel staff had access to. In addition to this, there was no sign that the SDB had been opened by force or by any other means. The room key card record also supported this.

Please understand that our management takes theft as a very serious offense and we will process it according to our standard operational procedure, including reporting it to the officials. Our guests’ security is our major concern, including protecting their belongings kept within our premises.

We do hope that our explanation could sufficiently clarify the matter. We truly appreciate your feedback, and please let us know if you would need our further assistance.

Yours sincerely,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The best 4 star hotel at Kuta so far. Location is near town area. Not that noisy compare to others.
The only thing not really good is the buffet breakfast. I will give 3 star only for the breakfast.
THE MOST I like is the value of the room. Cheap and worth.....

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PtPtPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear PtPtPaul,

Greetings from the island!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta and for considering us the best hotel in Kuta. We’re pleased that you liked your room well. We appreciate your comment with regard to our breakfast. Our Executive Chef and the kitchen team are constantly in the effort of improving both variety and quality of our dishes as to give our guests wonderful culinary experience during their stay.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are hoping that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Arriving at Sun Island we were given a room in the front of the hotel, our balcony facing Jl Kartika Plaza. After talking to the reception about the constant traffic noise both our rooms were upgraded to the top floor and the sea side of the hotel (rooms 503/505) without a blink of an eye. Elevators serve all floors. Room designs are great: a big super comfy bed, aircon, television with international broadcasting (BBC/HBO/dutch/german/etc), a bathroom with rainshower, showergel, shampoo, hairdryer etc and a floor-to-ceiling window to your room, a balcony facing the pool, complimentary water/T/coffee.
Everything in the hotel is very clean. The pool area is not very busy, enough umbrella's and sun beds available. Towels are provided. Pool is not deep (about 1.2m max and has 2 kids sections (parental guidance needed however!). Breakfast includes a wide variety of local dishes, buns, salads, croissants, chinese foods, etc. Diner with entertainment a few nights a week.
Hotel has no direct beach access/views. You need to go through Kartika Mall or other sea side hotels to reach the beach, it will take a 10 min walk. Jl Kartika is the main road from/to airport (which is about 15 min drive away) and tends to be very jammed with traffic; it offers many nice restaurants and shops in the direct environment of the hotel. However: wifi is not working very well in the upper levels of the building, needs to be improved. Also log in procedure is too much hassle. Security needs to act on loud guests (we where kept awake two nights in a row by loud neighbours on adjacent balcony).
All staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Would stay here again and highly recommend this hotel (if you need more privacy or luxury you may also try the Sun Island Villas in Seminyak!)

Room Tip: Avoid the Deluxe rooms facing Jl Kartika unless you sleep with ear plugs. Deluxe rooms with pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGunung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear DGunung,

Greetings from us at Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

Thank you for staying at our hotel and we are delighted to learn that you liked most aspects of your stay. Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your recent stay to other travelers. We appreciate your concern with regards to the WiFi access. Please be informed that we are in process of improving our bandwidth for our guests’ convenient use. In response to your comment regarding noise from other guests, I have addressed the issue to the department concerned to take more efficient anticipatory actions in the future.

Thank you for your kind word regarding our staff and level of hospitality. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I somehow managed to get a great deal through Hotel Club.com paying around $AUS 50 per night for a standard room with breakfast included in this very new hotel which was great value. Stayed only two nights as we were in transit to Flores.

Our room was on the ground floor just opposite the little bridge that goes over the pool. It was nicely and tastefully decorated, a nice size with a king bed and a little courtyard. The bathroom was a nice size too.

This is a hotel not a resort so don't expect the usual lush bali gardens, but the pool is fine for cooling off and sitting around.

The breakfast is not that great but for what we paid I wasn't complaining. Adequate is the word that springs to mind. Obviously we didn't stay in one but the pool access rooms looked good and the rooms with a balcony that look over the pool looked good too.

The best thing about it was the location. Airport, Kuta Square, Centro Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park, Markets and restaurants are all close by. The staff are very nice too.

The only negative would be that this place is a little noisy. Trying to get an early night after a tiring flight we were constantly woken by others retiring to their rooms. Once everyone was settled though it was very quiet and we got a good sleep until they all started waking up at what seemed like a very early hour.

This hotel is fine for one or two nights but to me, for an extended stay I would seek out more resort like accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ausrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear ausrose,

Greetings from us at Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay in our Kuta hotel. We appreciate you for pointing out some of our highlights, including our strategic location, our interior design, our pool, and most importantly, our service. Despite the noise, we are glad that you enjoyed most of your stay with us. We hope that you will plan another Bali escape in the near future and consider to stay at our hotel again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hospitality at its finest!

Best regards,

Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Construction work directly in front of the hotel started at 11pm and ended with the first sunlight. Impossible to sleep during the night. Even without construction work the noise fom the street is not aceptaable. A nicce hotel - if you do not come to sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms cose to the street, but if you really want to sleep and relay, look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Mark B,

Greetings from us at Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

It saddens us to learn that your recent stay with us is far below your expectation. We regret that the construction work should have affected your entire stay. We’re sincerely hoping that you will have another chance to stay at our hotel again in the future to experience our true hospitality at its best. Until then, we are wishing you and your family well.

Kindest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Within half an hour ride to airport , 5 mins walk to art market , discovery mall,kuta square and 10 minutes walk to beautiful kuta beach , room was beautifully designed n toilet was clean. Stslsff wad friendly n helpful with our request too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#33 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#71 of 251 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#31 of 251 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
0.3 mi away
The Vira Bali Hotel
The Vira Bali Hotel
#16 of 251 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta

Property: Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88 | Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#35 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#37 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#44 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to present Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta that offers you its definite impeccable service through the 121 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese hospitality and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, shopping malls, traditional art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing