We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Island, Kuta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Ranked #61 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was clean and well presented. Rooms all centre around the pool so it can be a bit noisy in the early am when the kids all converge! Nice setting and comfy rooms. The pool is only 1.2m deep so great for all ages. Location is good- close to Waterbom Park but a few km walk to Ground Zero and surrounds... easy to do though! Good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool so it doesn't really make a difference where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 577 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went to Bali on business and staying in Sun Island Hotel for two days. It is a beautiful hotel, minimalistic and modern design. The decor is simple, ingenious use of old timber as ceiling in the lobby.

The room was excellent and very clean, big and beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable. I love the fact that you room stays cool even when you have removed your card key and go out to the city. The AC stays on unless you turn it off yourself. I wondered why did they put the TV in the middle of a big mirror, interior decoration perhaps?. The table is large and nice but the chair is not so comfortable, the seat has no bottom support and you feel like you are sitting on a frame with nothing in the middle. Internet access is free and available.

The bathroom is nice except for the window looking into the room, but there is a rolling curtain hidden in the ceiling at the room that you can bring down. Water pressure is strong, but the hot water takes a moment to come out. The bathing area is poorly designed, there is no shower curtain and the bathtub was placed higher than the platform at the wall, so when you take a bath, the water that hit the wall would flow to the door and flood the floor. On a positive note, installing a bidet on the toilet was a genius move.

Location-wise, the hotel is located very close to the airport and just a short walk to Waterbom Bali - a very popular water park. There's also a lot of restaurants nearby, with a convenient store right in front of the hotel. The Discovery Mall is also close by.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice, with a lot of different selection,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I like this hotel because of its location. If you're looking for a convenient, safe and comfortable place to stay near Kuta but away from the party life of Legian street, this is the place to be.
Service was expected but they cleaned my room only in the late afternoon.
What I didn't like about the place was that it didn't have a fitness centre and the bathroom was poorly designed. There was a bathtub with no shower screen so that after every bath, the whole bathroom would be wet. Also, noise insulation was pretty crappy and i could hear footsteps outside and the chatter of people in the next room!

Room Tip: get a higher room with no bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luqman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights here in the deluxe room and I was very impressed from the service to the room it was excellent. The bathroom was clean and farely new. They cleaned the rooms everyday with fresh towels. The employees there were soo friendly and really look after you including security by the gate. I would definately stay here again...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel has a very good location just 5' walk from the nearest beach. The staff is friendly and willing to help you in whatever you need. Breakfast is delicious. Swimming pool is nice. Rooms are spacious.
Bed sheets were dirty with big stains on them. We asked the staff twice to change them and finally they got it right.
If your room is facing the pool be prepared to drunk and loud guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maXiu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The first time i stayed in this hotel was as a group of 3 in the pool access room. From the minute we arrived we recieved great service from all the staff members. We stayed 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We visited many surrounding hotels/ restaurants but always felt we where better off at the hotel. The food was great quality and variety at all meal times. By the end of our visit we felt like family. When we returned a year later we where welcomed with open arms as if we where returning family. We found the hotel to be clean and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The pool access rooms are definetely a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vani11asky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been here only one night out of 3 and honestly could not recommend this hotel more! The MOST amazing and friendly staff I have EVER come across, the hotel is beautiful and clean. The breakfast in the morning is absolutely deliscious! Such a big range and very filling! The wifi connection is great, no problems at all! Extemely happy with our stay here, cannot wait for the next few nights and actually wish we were staying here the whole trip.

In other words, this place is amazing! And thank you to the kind staff for the beautiful anniversary cake and roses hehe. ❤

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caiityanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.2 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 252 in Kuta
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vira Bali Boutique Hotel & Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#42 of 252 in Kuta
1,685 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
1.2 mi away
White Rose Kuta Resort, Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#38 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#39 Family Hotel in Kuta
#45 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $57 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to present Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta that offers you its definite impeccable service through the 121 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese hospitality and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, shopping malls, traditional art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing