We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Nearby Hotels
Ramayana Resort & Spa(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$67
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$30
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kuta Paradiso Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$90
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kuta Central Park Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$26
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bali Rani Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$65
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legian Paradiso Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$27
$26
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satriya Cottages(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$47
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveler rating
184
277
89
25
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
277
89
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiscovery mallwaterbom parkwaterbom balipool access roommodern hotelshopping centrenoisy at nightlive bandwelcome drinkbreakfast spreadbooked this hotelpleasant staywifi connectioncouple of nightsswimming poolbusy streetenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 588 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked this hotel on a discount website. So we were attracted to the very cheap room and breakfast rate. The hotel looked clean, and reasonably modern. We were initially put in a room at the front of the hotel, which is right on Kartika Plaza Jalan (Street). I would guess that the reason for the cheap room rate was that they special off these noisy rooms at the front of the hotel.
We asked the next morning if we could move and they were extremely nice about it and offered us a room at the rear of the hotel, or an upgrade. We opted for the rear and the remainder of the stay was exceptional. I imagine if the hotel was full this might not have been able to happen. It was the middle of Western Australian school holiday period and the hotel was only 1/2 to 3/4 full.
Food was standard Bali buffet breakfast, plenty of choice and great quality.
Staff were fantastic. Great Hotel.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigbusseltonWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights in Jul 2013. Managed to check-in early when we arrived. The room was great with all the amenities. The only bad thing was the swimming pool was abit small. The staffs are wonderful and friendly. After we check-out and before my evening flight, they provided me with a hospitality room (foc) for an hour, to bath/ wash-up before taking my flight. Very customer-oriented service.

Definitely will go back again if i were to stay in kuta area.

Jayden Ng Jian Zhong

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayden_Ng_JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days, and there's many things that make it a wonderful place to stay. It has a beautiful lobby/reception area, and the pool looks inviting as you walk in. It's right in downtown Kuta but is separate from all the noise and bustle of the town. Which means it's close enough to walk to the Kuta beach, the waterpark, the malls, and many restaurants, but you can escape back to a quite hotel for some peace and relaxation.

But the thing that sets it apart is the amazing staff. Everyone we encountered had a smile. The receptionists, the cleaning staff, the bell hops, the security guards, the waiters, they were all extremely friendly and made us feel welcome.

It'd recommend coming here to anyone who wants a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The "Pool Access" rooms might look nice, but I would think they'd be a little noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expatluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Sun Island for 2 nights. We had a late check in at 10pm, check in is fast. Welcome drinks and cold towel given during check in is very refreshing after all the travelling. The staff are very polite and the rooms are clean. The hotel is considered a new hotel and has wifi. Breakfast is ok. Nearby the hotel are many restaurants, fast food chains, spa centre etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GohSzesze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at sun island for our last night in Bali after having had a couple of nights in Seminyak and Ubud. The rooms are small, but modern and comfortable. The staff at the front desk during check in/check out were efficient and I thought spoke good English. Breakfast we thought was pretty average, but plenty of it. Money exchange in the hotel was a bonus. We stayed in a room overlooking tennis courts and a carpark in another hotel, but as it was only for a night was no big deal. Location was fantastic. Not sure that I would like to stay here for a week, but for a night or two on arriving or departing its great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swampee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Swampee,

Greeting from Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Thank you for taking the time to wrote down of your comment during your recent visit of Sun Island Hotel Kuta.

Your comment in regard of Money Exchange at the hotel is highly appreciated as well as your recommendation to stay with us.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Ismullah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews