We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay, Staff were fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Ranked #61 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay, Staff were fantastic!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had an excellent stay with Sun Island. Room was great, the staff were incredibly friendly, and everything was exactly as expected. I checked in around 8pm on a Saturday, and I needed to book a flight from Bali to Timor Leste on a local Indonesian carrier, and Devi from the front desk had a ticket in my hand in about an hour. Amazing!! Would definitely stay here again when in Kuta.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExpatDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    264
    84
    25
    12
See reviews for
112
221
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is one of the newer additions to the Kuta market. Clean, white & hardwood decor in the foyer & pool area and the standard setup in the rooms reasonably sized rooms, good bathrooms and a balcony. The beds are firm (usual in Bali) but the pillows were soft (unusual in Bali) and made for a great nights sleep.
The thing that shines at Sun Island are the staff. They have all been trained to make you feel welcome, everyone from the gardeners to the reception & security staff greet you when you meet. Breakfast buffet is good, with eggs made to order. You are a short walk to Waterbom, Centro Mall and Kuta Square & Art Market.
Couldn't get a late checkout as they were fully booked but they happily provided a courtesy room to shower before we headed off to the airport in the evening.
Good hotel with no beach access but close to most things.

Room Tip: We had a room on the left of the hotel which looked into the service area at the rear of another hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1redgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The service here is absolutely amazing, the hotel is wonderfully clean, the pool is lovely, overall it's a wonderful new hotel. The hotel can get a bit noisy at night-time, (one night we were awoken by a couple yelling at each other from across the hotel, some people are SO inconsiderate), but as a young couple, this didn't bother us at all.
I highly recommend this hotel for people that are planning to explore Bali and have an adventureous holiday, rather than a 'relax by the pool all day' holiday, as there isn't really much to do in the hotel. My boyfriend and I LOVED this hotel, we will be coming back soon!

Room Tip: ground floor rooms can be a bit noisy at night, as some guests aren't so considerate make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adeleruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

absolutely new when i visit there. new concept but noisy since it placed on central of kuta. staff were proffesional, breakfast is good. but unfortunatelly, they don't put any non-halal food as they served the breakfast, thats terrible.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank gondel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Sun Island Kuta at the back end of our 9 day Balinese holiday. The first 7 days were spent in an upmarket villa perched on the southern most cliffs of Bali. We experienced both ends of the economic spectrum. Sun Kuta is well placed along Kuta's tourist strip putting you in amongst barter shopping heaven and at risk of bumping into an Aussie baring tattoos and bintang in hand. The Sun is clean, relatively new with friendly efficient staff. The b'fast and poolside menu are adequate and food quality was good. The pool is surrounded by high rise nature of the hotel so only received sun for discrete times during the day. I'm not about lazing round the pool so no bother here but I am about swimming laps. Being near 25m long it's perfect to give yourself a reason to consume more Asian cuisine. There's no gym on site. The hotel has little architectural soul (the staff make the difference but it's easy, uncomplicated and fits a purpose on Kuta's strip.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have to admit that planning our vacation in Bali was the most stressful for me...especially when picking the hotels. There were so many options and so many locations. We really wanted to stay in Kuta Beach, and finding a hotel with a central location was extremely important. Sun Island Kuta offered that.

My overall favorite thing about Sun Island was its prime location, just 5 minutes from the Discovery Mall, the beach (which you can get to it if you cross through the Discovery Mall), a lot of vendors, and delicious restaurants. They also offered a delicious breakfast buffet every morning, and the choices changed!

The rooms were spacious and the bed was very comfortable. However I have three complaints:
1) All of the towels (particularly the hand and face towels) seem to have this yellow-ish stain on them. At first, I thought it was isolated to just one towel - so I didn't use that one, but after we got our room cleaned and made a request to Guest Services for more towels, I noticed the SAME discoloration on the towels...perhaps it is the detergent they use? or perhaps it could be a result of something else that I would rather not mention...but I found it very surprisingly and somewhat disturbing considering the hotel is barely a year old. This was my biggest gripe.

2) The hotel is very noisy. Like the other reviewers mentioned, the noise could be very annoying, especially if there are a lot of children staying there. We were woken up one morning by the screaming and splashing of kids in the pool at 7am (the pool opens at 8am...). Thankfully I read through all the reviews on here so I made sure to request a "quiet" room away from the pool, but trust me - you can still hear EVERYTHING.

3) The wifi connection is horrible! The connection would go in and out, and in order to receive great signal, you would have to be closer to the lobby. However, here's the catch 22 future travelers should consider - if you want a great internet connection, you have to choose a room closer to the lobby...however, by choosing a room close to the lobby, you will also have to be close to the pool, which brings me back to my noise problem. See the problem? It's either internet or peace/quiet. Just a heads up!

Other than that, it was a nice hotel. They're still pretty new, so the Front Desk needs to work out some kinks (check-in was a bit slow, and there was different people handling our reservation so signals were crossed).

I'm not sure I would stay here again the next time I'm in Bali unless I find a great deal on the rooms, because I'll rather try my luck at the plenty other hotels around Kuta.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katerrnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel staff were fantastic, could not fault them. Breakfast choices suit the traveller from Asia more than the western. Though for an experience, the "salmon sausage" was unique, only try it to say you have tried it. Sadly the hotel is just too noisy, music from within the hotel with bands and singer goes right through the whole complex. Not a good a hotel for a relaxing break.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Petros14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#31 of 254 in Kuta
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#70 of 254 in Kuta
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#3 of 254 in Kuta
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.3 mi away
Kuta Station Hotel
Kuta Station Hotel
#90 of 254 in Kuta
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta

Property: Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#38 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#42 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#43 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to present Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta that offers you its definite impeccable service through the 121 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese hospitality and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, shopping malls, traditional art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing