We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a yes for location, big NO for comfort”
Review of Home@36

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Home@36
Ranked #69 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
1 review
“Its a yes for location, big NO for comfort”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked a double bed room. The rooms are dorm like. We were greeted by stale cigarettes smell the moment we stepped into the room. It lingers throughout our stay. The bedsheets are filthy with stains and the bathrm floods from the tiny shower capsule. However the staff here are really friendly and nice. I personally wouldn not recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phylbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    203
    111
    36
    25
See reviews for
163
109
53
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
410 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Me and my family (6 adult and 4 child) stay just only for one night, for transit in Bali. Firstable we booked 3 standard room, and when we arrive we got a small room with no windows. so, we upgrading 2 of 3 room to Family room with more cost about USD30. it is worthed, because we got 2 twin bed with private bathroom and 1 king size bed also with private room. And, the great one is the huge terrace with Kuta beach view. Awesome!!!

Really thanks to people so welcome to us when we arrive at 10 AM, is to early for checking in but they already to give the room. So, we can get rest and drop off our baggage continued to explore the city. Love it.

This hotel located in Discovery Mall, which is the best place when you're transit in Bali. Only about 10 minutes by taxi, cost approx USD5. Recommended to you.

Room Tip: Family room acommodate aboute 4 pax, which you can get a great view to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugiphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaya_Wisesa, Manager at Home@36, responded to this review, September 15, 2015
Sear Sugiphang,

Warmest Greeting from Home @36 Condotel,

Thank you for staying with us in Home@36 Condotel and we really appreciate that you taking the time to write your comprehensive reviews.

We are very happy that we can be part of your family Holiday in Bali and assure that this review will help other travelers to find good place to stay in Kuta Bali with very convenient walking distance to Shopping Paradise, Kuta Beach and Restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back and do let us know shall you require further assistance for your future trip.

Your sincerely,

Jaya Wisesa
Room Division Manager
jaya@homeat36.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Browsed thru this hotel when comparing with others, didnt book it due to some negative reviews & regretted! U can just enjoy d beautiful beach by stepping out fr d hotel, it is in d mall so very convenient & still within walking distance to Beach Walk. Forfeited my booking with another hotel & moved to this 1 coz it's so worth it! Small rooms but the price says it all! Very friendly & helpful staff, I'm giving 10 thumbs up & highly recommended for those looking for value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wenny0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaya_Wisesa, Manager at Home@36, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Dear Wenny0404,

Warmest Greeting from Home @36 Condotel,

We would like to thank you for taking the time for writing such as a wonderful review to describe our hotel.

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us, we are happy to know that you impressed with the hotel and good team from the staff, very nice and near to everything.
We will be passing on your feedback to all of our staff, they will be very pleased with your feedback.

Please do let us know whenever your next holiday plan brings you back to Bali, as we always look forward to welcoming you back at Home@36 Condotel.

Many thanks and best regards,


Kind regards,

Jaya Wisesa
Room Division Manager
jaya@homeat36.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitiawan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have booked this hotel because it's location at the shopping area. But, when i check-in i found some inconvenience for this location.
yes, it's right, it's inside a shopping complex.The complex have 2 sides. One side is the kuta beach, from hotel lobby we can easily reach the beach. Another side is kuta main street area.

The situation is, our room can see the street view. But the entrance only one- from the lobby, from the beach side. Every time we want go to the main street, we have to walk cross all the complex then we reach the lobby . After lobby, walk again all the way to cross the complex to the main street. Such as a big U turn. my room can see the street view doesn't mean we can get to there easily.

when the night time, we going back hotel after complex business hour. this is the funniest part coz we need to go in using basement car park.

i am only satisfied with their service and breakfast.

Overall, don't over expectation only because it's inside a complex.
Will not suggest to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphnedaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Penang
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

To all of you who don't belong to this category, you know that I'm not talking about any of you.

It's a wonderful hotel right on Kuta beach and in Bali, it's the cheapest you'll ever get. Or you go stay somewhere away from the beach and commute to Kuta, Legian or Seminyak daily just to go eat somewhere decent. In fact, the room rates are so cheap considering it's perfect location, along with the tight security at the basement parking (with officers going through car boots) and all of the mall's entrances/exits that I personally feel sorry for the management for having to cope with such patrons.

How can we expect the best out of the hotel when we ourselves are bent on destroying it in the place? First off, icky white stains, or discoloration on the blue cushion cover. There is already the bed up there and will these people please do their thing up on it instead of on the blue cushion?? Those stains need scrubbing and are hard to come off. They also cause discoloration as they're acidic. Thank god the other cushion was square and smaller. I only sat on that one. People are talking about cigarette marks on some of the furniture and may I ask again, who actually did those if not us the patrons ourselves? Shame on us.

Checking in was a breeze and we were told that they only charged us for just one night in case of a no-show, even though it was a non-cancellation deal for three nights along with a bonus night. That was quite considerate of them and we settled the payment up-front with no extravagant deposit whatsoever. Everybody was cheery and we sure did feel welcomed. To Bali.

The Superior Room was huge with cable tv, a safe and all the usual stuffs. The open wardrobe had 5 or 6 hangers, though we did bring our own. The most impressive would be the radio-massage-shower. It does not clog, if you open the stopper. Do not shower with any valuables on. I was really curious as to what one of the buttons was about as it did not work on mine. Hope it didn't operate the massage heads because I'd be missing out on them.

I don't need to elaborate on what a mall is, and you get the whole mall if you stay in this hotel. Muslims can eat cheaply at the government endorsed halal KFC there. We got two nice glass bottles of 500 ml mineral water daily and made a huge mistake of buying five 1500ml bottles at the Mini Mart. The Segara Seafood huts were just lovely at night and the menu was affordable and generous. You get 20% off but on food only. They also serve the daily breakfasts and don't miss out on the wonderful pastries. You get two types only, but it's after all a budget hotel.

A couple of drawbacks were that: 1) One of the cleaners broke my key-chain holder but left it nicely on the tabletop. It must've terrified him/her greatly. Since it was cheap and old, I decided not to push it. 2) They also missed giving us a bottle of shower gel one day, and we were only given the jumbo sized towels on our third day instead of earlier.

If you want a nice tour driver, ask at the hotel lobby for Made Oka. He was the reason that our trip to Bedugul (and then to Tanah Lot) was the highlight of our vacation. Always helpful and full of respect towards us. He helped steer my mom away from getting ripped off, multitude of times. In Bali always bargain 2/3 off the given price and consider yourself warned. Thanks Made Oka and thanks to the hotel for recommending him to us! On our second day, we did walk to Beach Walk Mall and saved some money on touring. All this was possible because we stayed at this hotel. In Kuta, walking is faster than driving.

I will stay at this hotel again and again. It's several meters above sea level and built on an embankment. Safe from damage by tsunamis, I guess. There's nowhere cheaper, smack-dab on the beach and safer in Bali.

Room Tip: Never book the Standard Room unless you're staying with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WongPhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The room is too small as well as the shower capsule but the staffs are very helpful. The location is very good... just a step to discovery mall

Need more electrical plugs in the room..

Notmany choices for the breakfast but the food is nice

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuli-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights - it was the worst 'hotel' I've ever stayed in. Firstly, when you walk in there is a really funky smell, the lift is small and you have to hold your breath in it, and the lobby is nicer than the actual rooms. We were told that there would be wifi in our room, but there was no signal. And then they changed our room but there was STILL no signal. And the staff didn't care less. We didn't have breakfast included, but found out its about $10 if you want to pay, which is a huge rip off. Additionally, there is no pool of the hotel, the pools are part of the other restaurants around it and you have to buy something if you want to use the pool. The rooms smell bad, the showers are the size of a box (smaller than an airplane toilet), there are blood stains on the linen, some of the electrical things in the room are broken (remotes, lights) and you can hear everyone in the hallway in the middle of the night.
The last thing that set us off was the fact that when we requested transfer to the airport (5 minute drive), they said it would be a $18 charge when the local taxis only charge about $3. When we asked reception if they could call a taxi for us, they said we needed to pay for the phone call!!
This really was a shocking experience, and most definitely not worth more than $10 a night!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#33 of 251 in Kuta
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Station Hotel
Kuta Station Hotel
#84 of 251 in Kuta
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
0.1 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#15 of 251 in Kuta
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home@36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home@36

Property: Home@36
Address: Kartika Plaza Street, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Home@36 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home@36 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home@36 Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing