We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room in the villa”
Review of Mimpi Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mimpi Bungalows
Ranked #22 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had an excellent time here. But we did have a room on the 3rd floor of the new villa. We payed 450k per night. Not sure how the bungalows on the ground floor are, but they look rather damp and don't get much sunlight.
We had 2 separate rooms with separate bathrooms and a combined balcony. Would have stayed there for another week :-)
Pool is clean, breakfast is decent. Internet was spotty at first, but they fixed it. But it only worked on the balcony.

Room Tip: The higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rblaettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 58 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Mimpi Bungalows is located in a little street that connects poppies1 and poppies2. The loacation is good because it takes you only a few minutes to the beach and to the more busy shopping streets and lanes, but still it is in a relatively quiet spot for being Kuta. The guesthouse itself is located in a very nice garden with a nice little pool. The rooms are bungalow like, simple, but spacious. We stayed there twice a couple of nights, and enjoyed being there. It is a good option if you want a budget place that is relatively quiet in a busy place like Kuta. We spent 300.000 rupias per room/night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mderosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night straight after arriving in Bali after a night flight from Jakarta.
While the garden and pool areas are pretty, the accommodation is definitely way overpriced for the service they provide.
We stayed in one of their shoddy bungalows, which are desperately in need of renovation (cracked walls etc...). The worst part of it was that the bed sheets were stained and had holes in them, making us (family of 3) all feel uncomfortable while sleeping.
We spent the whole afternoon of the next day finding another suitable accommodation (we visited an assortment of about 10 different accommodations, ranging from hotels to B&Bs) and I can confirm that you can find MUCH better in Kuta for the same price.
This place definitely does not deserve to be mentioned in The Lonely Planet guide.
In short: FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made-S-K, General Manager at Mimpi Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

This is a very old comment. All our Standard Bungalows have been entirely renovated end of 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just happened across Mimpi while looking for a place to stay in Kuta. The gardens were nice and the pool area seemed inviting. There were no more bungalows left ($30, Aug 2013) so we went for a spacious apartment in the big house at the back ($45). It was nothing special and certainly overpriced but the view of the pool and grounds was good.

When we were got into bed, we noticed how stained the sheets were. (See photo) They looked like blood and food and sweat. Pretty disgusting. The next morning we told the guy at reception and said we'd like them to be changed. We were very polite about it and he said no problem. When we came back from our afternoon out they still had not been changed so we asked again. He said no problem. We came back in the evening, about 6pm, and they were still not changed. We told the guard, the only person about, and showed him a photo of the sheets. He agreed this was a problem and said he'd have them changed before we got back from dinner. When we came back a few hours later they were still dirty. No one was about to complain to then so we decided to just live with it and find new accommodation in the morning.

The next morning we asked the guy at reception why the sheets had not been changed. He said there were no spare clean sheets to replace them with. Not really good enough, and why weren't we told this at the time instead of being fobbed off 3 times? We said it wasn't right for us to pay full price for the room. He didn't say anything so I said we'd pay $35, which I thought was pretty generous. We would have been open to negotiation if he'd been reasonable. He then got violent and tried to grab our bags and threatened to call the police. I said that was fine call the police, but don't touch our bags. When I tried to take my bag from him he pushed me (I am a woman). At that point I think he realised he'd gone too far and he let us leave, whilst verbally threatening us as we walked away.

Room Tip: Top tip: go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watfordgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made-S-K, General Manager at Mimpi Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

This has never been reported to me.
It just look like an extravagant and absurd story as Balinese people are renowned to be polite and respectful. No one will ever mention police as they very well know the mess that this will create.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went to this hotel since the lonely planet recommended it... We got to the hotel, and fell for the nice garden and swimming pool. We visited a cheap room, but decided to book a nice/more expensive room with view, air con, balcony etc.

As we left the room, the key broke inside the door. And I'm telling you that my wife who locked the door is not Superman... So we moved to a different room. This room had a huge leak in the bathroom so the manager told us to move back to the first room. She said that she would call the locksmith to fix the key issue. But she added that she would bill us for the locksmith job !!! We had such a terrible experience that we just walked away. Fortunately, we found another hotel close by, quiet, much cheaper, and with a great customer service. It's called Sari Agung Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olibali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made-S-K, Manager at Mimpi Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

In that review, we learn that the guest's wife is not Superman !!! And that the Manager is a woman : we have no female staff at Mimpi !!??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here with our two children(aged 7 and 11) for two lots of five nights broken up with a visit to Nusa Lembongan. We stayed in a family room/apt on the first floor of the villa at the back of the property looking out over the pool and garden. The garden and pool are so pretty beeautiful flowers mango trees etc. A lovely quiet place to stay in crazy Kuta and ideally situated for Poppies 1 and short walk to the beach.
Our room was exceptionally clean and was cleaned everyday. The family that own Mimpi went out of their way to make us comfortable and were so kind and generous to our children which really made their stay. Nice basic breakfast coffee, toast and eggs or pancake. We also booked a couple of trips through them (Ubud and Uluwatu) and the prices were reasonable in fact we wished we had booked our boat to Lembongan through them as it would have been much cheaper than booking from the UK. We did think the accommodation was a bit expensive for basic bungalow accommodation but then again it was so lovely it was worth it. We also struggled to find family accommodation in budget places in Kuta and would have had to have two rooms/bungalows so this worked out cheaper for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrj_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We wanted to stay in something cheap, but good so we consulted our lonely planet and found this place. The description in the lonely planet is correct, it 's a good place to stay for a few days. The service was very friendly, there is a pool and the bungalows are placed in a beautiful garden. The beds aren't the most comfortable (quit hard) and like many other places i was a shower with cold water but we couldn't complaint for the price (30.000rps. /room (less than 30 dollars))

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#35 of 251 in Kuta
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#13 of 251 in Kuta
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppies Bali
Poppies Bali
#1 of 251 in Kuta
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Un's Hotel
Un's Hotel
#6 of 285 in Kuta
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimpi Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimpi Bungalows

Address: Gang Sorga off Poppies 1, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Price Range: $20 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mimpi Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a small road on the side of Poppies I lane and only 200m from the Kuta Beach, Mimpi Bungalows gives you the rare advantage of being close to the shops and restaurants and, at the same time, in a very quiet environment. Nested in the middle of big trees, Mimpi offers freshness and shade with flowers everywhere around the pool. In this small family hotel (only 12 rooms), you can choose to have your own bungalow or opt for a large modern apartment or family suite. The friendly staff will assist you with laundry, car/bike rental, island tours... Wi-Fi is accessible around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mimpi Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimpi Bungalows Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing