We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money.”
Review of The Kubu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kubu Hotel
Ranked #113 of 282 Kuta B&B and Inns
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good value for money.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in one of the deluxe rooms, room was ok, clean, although I doubt the blanket is changed every time and there was no top-sheet. AC was nice to have. Tv but no English channels. Not very soundproof, but it wasn't too noisy when we were here and we slept well. Pool area is small too, but nice to have. Overall a bit expensive for what was offered but good location and safe. Breakfast was included but average too compared to some cheaper places we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter298570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
12
30
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is definitely a great budget option.

Kubu Hotel is located a 5 minute walk to Kuta beach.
There are plenty of options for lunch and dinner around, as well as bars and magic mushrooms, we were surprised that they sold them on every corner of Kuta...

We got a deluxe room on the ground floor (with AC) and asked to be changed to a higher floor the next day because the room was a bit damp and there were loads of mosquitoes coming from the garden areas.
The room on the first floor in the building closest to reception, with no AC or hot water, was just fine and much brighter and cheaper.
The rooms were clean when we got them but the staff never came to clean it.

Furniture in all rooms that we checked was very worn in general.
It felt like a lot of young party people stay here, get drunk and damage the furniture. Otherwise I can not explain why most of the mirrors are all broken and doors have holes in them.
During the night you will probably wake up because some group of young ones have decided to continue the party in the hotel until 3 or 4am... reception staff do very little to quieten them.
Bring earplugs! We had to listen to a drunk couple having very loud sex at about 8am...

The breakfast (picture attached) is so small that we always needed to go somewhere else for more. They really shouldn't bother with breakfast at all, it is so poor. Half of an egg scrambled is not worth anyones time!
We recommend the greek restaurant on the corner for both lunch and dinner and you should try their healthy fruit juice.

The pool, location and the price is what makes this place worth staying at.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guipuzcoa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I would not say it is terrible because I keep this adjective for other worse things in my life, but definitely it was a wrong choice and a bad experience. Do not trust the pictures...the hotel is much worse than it seems. The room was small, the bed sheets were not clean at all, the toilet was not clean, no hot water (I assume it could be normal), the balcOny door did not close completely, the air-con was not working...well...at least there was a bed to sleep...but 50 USD for that??? Definitely is not fair and there are much better places in Kuta to sleep for that price...even in high season.
Staff was not helpful at all. They were only worried about payment. Breakfast very poor.
Any positive thing? Let me think a longtime about it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asiergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Talking about Kuta this place is a good quality/price option.
The hotel is located out from the main streets but at night you can hear the loud music.
The breakfast is quite simple and bad.

Rooms and swimming pool are nice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

A group of 6 of us stayed in 3 rooms on the bottom floor at the back overlooking the pool. Great location in between Poppies 1 & Poppies 2. Small rooms, but OK for the price. Paid 350,000 per night for room, breakfast, TV, Wifi, air conditioner and hot shower. The thing that really disappointed me was that the bathrooms were not cleaned. All they would do was half heartily mop the floor. No scrubbing or wiping down the walls. I viewed this property back in Sep 2011 and they had not long been open and the bathrooms were immaculate. Well not even 12 months later and the bathroom walls look like they haven’t been cleaned since. The cleaners need to do less cleaning of the window behind the front desk and cleaning around the pool (up to 4 times a day) and do more cleaning of the bathrooms. The breakfast was good for the price we paid per night. The chairs outside all the rooms were all brocken and the most uncomfortable chairs you have ever sat on. The beading and towels were only changed when we asked. We all stayed for 5 nights. The pool was always really really cold as it does not get the afternoon sun. I would not stay at this Hotel again while the bathrooms are in that state.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wardybali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed for three days here in January, 2012. It's a nice hotel and clean (as pictured in the website) although the room's a bit small, but it's still ok for two people. The bed sheets were changed everyday, the bathroom was clean. And the most important thing was, I slept like a baby at night.. I couldn't say much about the breakfast, but I recommend this hotel. I think I'll stay here if i travel to bali again.. xoxo

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

stayed here June 2011 it looks nice but is very small tho & no restaurant or room service,no fidge or phone & no hot water either & they never cleaned the rooms properly. we always had to ask for it to be done it does have free wifi tho in ur room but thats it. pool area nice but small I would say it a 2 star not 3 star wouldnt stay again for what they charged & if u have a car no where 2 park!

Room Tip: dont stay here if u want a good room other wise on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorga Cottages
Hotel Sorga Cottages
#126 of 252 in Kuta
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#114 of 252 in Kuta
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#112 of 252 in Kuta
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ronta Bungalows
Ronta Bungalows
#65 of 208 in Kuta
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Goose Hotel
Captain Goose Hotel
#52 of 282 in Kuta
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gemini Star
Gemini Star
#81 of 282 in Kuta
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kubu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kubu Hotel

Property: The Kubu Hotel
Address: Jl. Poppies I Gg. Sorga no. 5, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kubu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Kubu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kubu Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing