We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at the sounds of drilling and construction work?!?!?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Kuta
Ranked #125 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at the sounds of drilling and construction work?!?!?!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went to Bali for our honeymoon..we chose this hotel because it offers a secluded, romantic hide yet in the middle of the city 'as advertised'. unfortunately i don't think we'll ever go back to this hotel again or recommend it to anyone.

well, there are some positive:
- location is great ..walkign distance to Kuta beach, shopping and the city life.
- relatively clean and tidy

Negatives
- the construction noise was ridiculous...so the hotel was being expanded but there was no mention of this when we booked..so rather than having a nice, quite getaway...it was hell ...basically everyday we had to leave the villa for the whole day and come at night because of the noise?!!??!?!?
staff didn't speak very well English..which made it difficult to communicate especially over the phone
- there was no DVD player in the room althought the manual says so...we had to ask for one.
- the pool in our villa looked yuk and opaque for days, we asked them to send someone to look at it and they didn't send anyone till days later so we didn't get to use the pool that much ..and when they did the person sent to inspect the pool came round after midnight!?!?!? yes very appropriate time
- breakfast was basically 2 choices ...so ended up with the same food over and over and over
- was not cheap..after what we've paid i expected at least 4-5 starts service but no way near..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    90
    62
    30
    22
See reviews for
57
105
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

On our recent visit to Bali we stayed at the Grand Namaste Villas in Kuta, and found the best of both worlds here!
At the Namaste you have the convenience of a great location, walking distance to all the hustle and bustle of Kuta, across from the beach and near the shopping and nightlife, yet, you have the tranquility of staying in a BEAUTIFUL villa, private and serene!
Despite some reviews I had previously read, I could not disagree more... Namaste was ALL ROUND AMAZING, in every aspect. Location, property, cleaniness, facilities, staff...EXCEPTIONAL!!!
Yes, there are some large scale construction work being condusted around the property but unless your a boring sole that plans on doing nothing and not leave the villa during the day, this will not bother you at all!
I visit Bali 3-4 times a year and have stayed in Villas in Seminyak before that are renowned and I must say that Grand Namaste is just as outstanding if not better than some in Seminyak with the added bonus of it's central location.
I look forward to my next stay at the Grand Namaste villa and spa...AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisSelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed at the Namaste Villa for just under two weeks at the start of September for our honeymoon.

We read the Trip Advisor reviews before had and had some worries in regards to the building work that had been going on.

As a big part of the reason we choose the villa's was for the seclusion, so we emailed Namaste with our concerns a couple of months before our holiday.

Namaste replied a couple of days later, ensuring us there wouldn't be a problem.

Sure enough, when we arrived, we had a a lovely villa that was not looked onto.

However, you could tell there had been a lot of work going and had there still been the villa would definitely be looked onto by the workers.

On all but the last two days of our stay on no work was carried out and what work was done didn't cause any noise problems.

As in any location, there were good and bad points to the villa with minor problems, such as the sliding doors falling off its hinges, but staff sorted any problem quickly.

The villa itself was beautiful, exactly like the pictures on their website.

Our main grievances were with the meals and the extra honeymoon package we paid for came with extra meals.

Breakfasts always arrived with stone cold toast. We did mention this to them two or three times, but things didn't improve.

Breakfasts were also late with and even not delivered on two occasions, but the staff were very pleasant and brought it quickly after we called reception.

Location wise, we were seconds away from the beach, and a lazy 25 minute walk into central Kuta on one side and central Seminyak on the other.

There are plenty of shops and plenty of tourist operators - the best one we used, the name of which evades me now, had a number of outlets with bold red and white text branding. Very helpful staff and good prices, with a bit of bartering

Our favourite things to do involved getting away from the busyness - we've never seen traffic like it, and we lived in central London for years!.

Day trips included a cycle tour - view over the volcano at breakfast, then a cycle down, through the rice paddy's and rural villages - and horse riding on the beach. These trips felt like we were seeing the 'real' Bali.

The children in us also loved the Waterbom water park!

Eating out wise, run of the mill menu choices are endemic but we also ate in some of the best restaurants we ever have. Hu'ur in Seminyak was excellent.

Annoyingly wine was very rare to come by and at least £40 a bottle. In contrast, magic mushrooms were readily on sale in Kuta and Legian.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable honeymoon in Bali and the Namast Villas were, for us, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Email in advance to make sure you get the type of room you've booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sl_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The service was excellent and the rooms inside were well kept. In comparison to other villas, I believe the price is too expensive. The breakfasts were excellent and always on tIme. The gardens including the lobby and fish pond are very basic however with the renovations taking place, it may improve in time. There is obvious building going on around the property that will soon and has already encroached onto the laid back atmospere that this property may have once offered. Money spent elsewhere next time for me. Villas between legian and seminyak give better value and better privacy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianJodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

First of all, the villa was very nice, well equipped, with a nice bathroom, a decent size bedroom and a nice small swimming pool. This is very close to the beach, simply cross the road.
However, there are construction works (huge building and more villas) in both sides of the resort, which means that there is a huge amount of noise from 8am to 8pm - it is litterally impossible to stay outside by the pool during the day due to the noise that is unbearable and inside the room you will need to get the music on to avoid the noise.
On the top of that, the manager was not very nice (at all).
There will be constructions like this for another year or so therefore DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL, FIND ANOTHER ONE!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I should say that the Villa is nice but with some improvements to do. Having to hear its been there for four years without any room service from the kitchen is a bit ridiculous.
Booked for a one room villa. Upon arrival, we realised our rooms lacked some simple ammenities like soap. The towels were dirty and the pool was rather green from algae. (Hell knows when it was last cleaned). Totally shocked with the lack of fine details which was supposed to be pristine in a Villa. Requested for a change in villa due to the 'unappetizing' swimming pool. (it does look like a pond.. just add fish and frogs). They said they threw some chemicals in the pool to extract out all the algae and the filtration system will clean the pool. So i went out shopping to come back only to my horror as the pool has gotten worst. Demanded for an immediate change of rooms and were given a two-room villa which was fine but the other pool was only slightly better (can see the pool floors) but still greenish.
Amidst of all these frustration, i must say that the staffs were excellent and responsive. service with smiles. Dunno where it went wrong for them.
To manage your expectation:
1) Its almost at the end of Jalan Pantai Kuta. Hard to get taxi. Prepare to got stuck in Jam during morning and evening hours. Road constructions everywhere causes bottlenecks and ridiculously slow traffic.
2) Major construction all around the Villa. Forget about a peaceful holiday.
3) The Breakfast is almost the same everyday. They would send the BF to your villa every morning to the time of your choice.
... otherwise.. the rest is .ediocre

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank effendy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was probably once a good place, but not now. Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. On arrival the pool was GREEN, requested twice to have it cleaned, then unable to use for 4 days, stayed 2 weeks, only able to use it 6 times. NO WATER OR ELECTRICITY for hoursINTERMITTENTLY DURING OUR WHOLE STAY, not good after being out all day, unable to wash hands, flush toilet or shower proir to going out for dinner. NO INTERNET ACCESS the entire time, even though checked by technicians 3 times. NO JUKUZZI as advertised .Constant SEWERAGE SMELL overwhelming and nauseating from bathrooms and kitchenette pipes.
TOWELS grey, stained and threadbear, pool towels stained and old. LINEN grey and not changed regularly Mosquito nets were brown, dusty and had cigarette burns in them. NO TV reception for at least half of the time. We went out one morning and on our return the entrance had been changed from the main road to down a side street, which was dark at night, no lights. No signs were errected re change of entrance.
THERE WAS NO COMMUNICATION BETWEEN MANAGEMENT AND GUESTS.
I dont usually complain, but this was the worst place I have ever stayed.
On the plus side, the reception staff and all staff very friendly ,obliging and applogetic and the rooms were spacious.
I did leave a two page note for the new manager, I hope he has the decency to reply.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.0 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Best Western Kuta Beach
0.3 mi away
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kutabex Beach Front Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#75 of 253 in Kuta
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Kuta

Property: Wyndham Garden Kuta
Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta no. 99X | Badung, Kuta 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Kuta Playa Hotel and Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#54 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#79 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Kuta 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Kuta Beach, Bali Enjoy breathtaking views of Kuta Beach from the ocean facing balconies of our spacious guest rooms at Wyndham Garden Kuta Beach. Our beachfront hotel is located a few minutes’ drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and offers a host of amenities like complimentary Wi-Fi, access to rooftop spa overlooking the sea, airport shuttle, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namaste Villa And Spa
Namaste Villa Hotel Kuta
Wyndham Garden Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing