We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in a busy part of Paradise”
Review of Un's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Un's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 282 Kuta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sanctuary in a busy part of Paradise”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

i have stayed at Un's on several occaisions in recent years and keep coming back.The rooms all have fab balcony's, great views over the garden to the pool.The restaurant is brilliant and so is the free breaky. All staff are on the ball ,knowledgeable, efficient and helpful.And have the elusive "common sense". I'd employ them myself. Close to everything and the famous beach...yet tucked away quietly on jl Benesari. As a business creature...the free & efficient Wi-Fi is very useful & appreciated.I will stay here again. Thanks to all at Un's...see you again soon.

Room Tip: All the room are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grany179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    69
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
59
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel has a good location. 5 minute walk to the surf and close to restaurants and massage shops. The balcony restaurant which is attached to Uns does a great Rendang and snapper. Also the margarita's are good value. The staff make you feel like family. It's well priced and I will have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Bring goggles for the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The place is wicked, nice pool, nice people and the rooms were big and lovely. They had safes and the location was AMAZING and the balcony was our favourite place to eat and drink in the whole legian strip.
The only downside is the price, its just not worth the money.
Such a shame because its beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Un's Hotel a few times and recommend it for its boutique size, Bali feel (as opposed to resort feel), cleanliness and great location (away from the nightclubs but walking distance to just about everywhere!) A few tips, you can only book via email - google Un's Hotel Kuta to find address and request the quiet side away from the traffic! Traffic side very noisy, quiet side no probs!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Un's in one of the family bungalows. The hotel is split into two sides with the pool in the middle, office at one end and entrance at the other. The side of the hotel closest to the office would be fine for noise as it is further away from the lane way. However, our side in the family bungalow is right beside this very busy lane way. There was a small break in traffic between 3:30am and 5 but otherwise, the motorbike noise was so loud it sounded like they were coming through the 2nd floor master bedroom! My wife and I gave up and slept on the main floor for the second and third nights which was a bit better but not much. If you have ear plugs or sleep extremely soundly, maybe you won't have a problem. Otherwise, the location is perfect - 5 minutes walk from great surfing on Kuta Beach, lovely gardens, nice pool, excellent, friendly staff and a great restaurant, The Balcony. I'd definitely stay there again but on the side opposite the lane way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Running out of options we stayed here for two nights. We got the family room at the rate of a double room, which was still too much in our opinion. The room was spacious but also a little bit of run down - so far, so good. The missing but very necessary mosquito net and the weird smell (potatoes mixed with mold, mothballs and perhaps something dead?) were the real drawbacks. At a rate of almost 63 USD (yes I know, it's high-season...) the value drops pretty quickly. The smell didn't even go away after opening the main door and the one to the outdoor bathroom for hours. The strange scent balls hung up by the staff were useless if not as strange as the room's smell itself.

Speaking of the former: staff are "really nice". Or as long as they try to sell you anything, e.g. their brother's taxi-service, their cousins bike rental, just whatever. Nepotism to its perfection. Being bothered to death by the hotel staff to such an extent is really annoying - worse than the hawkers at the beach.

It's incomprehensible to see this place having so good rankings on Tripadvisor and being Lonely Planet's Top Choice. Just avoid.

Only good things: courtyard is nice and well kept and the nearby restaurant "The Balcony" serves really delicious food, which unfortunately comes with almost the same kind of hawkers as a side dish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Un’s Hotel is a clean, quiet place that is well-run. Breakfast upstairs at the Balcony restaurant is substantial enough and in a fun place, being surfer-bar themed. The hotel has a nice pool and the upgraded room was large, if not well-lit. The bathroom was large and satisfactory, although it was not part of the air-conditioned room. This is common in Bali, and one needs to place the “door bar” on when leaving. The location is fine, just a few minutes walk from the beach, far enough from the Poppies craziness to feel like a haven, and near enough to the action that it wasn’t hard to get there. It is not super fancy, but then neither is the price. I recommend it wholeheartedly, in part because the staff was very nice and the grounds and pool were well-kept.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Marin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#11 of 251 in Kuta
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Kuta Beach
0.5 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#15 of 251 in Kuta
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
The Bene Hotel
The Bene Hotel
#28 of 251 in Kuta
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adi Dharma Hotel
Adi Dharma Hotel
#18 of 251 in Kuta
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Un's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Un's Hotel

Property: Un's Hotel
Address: Jl. Benesari no. 16, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un's Hotel is situated in a peaceful and quiet location close to shops, restaurants, and nightlife, only 200m from Kuta beach. Our friendly staff will ensure that your stay is enjoyable, and hassle-free. We have a total of 30 comfortable rooms, all with solar hot water, ceiling fan or air conditioning, IDD phone, room safe, and cable TV with 40 international channels. All rooms are gracefully furnished with antiques. We also have one fully air conditioned two-story bungalow, with kitchen facilities. Guests receive free breakfast from The Balcony restaurant, and can order room service from 7am until 11pm. Guests can also enjoy the use of our internet access facility and swimming pool, which is surrounded by a lush, tropical garden. We can help you with information regarding car rental, tours, money changers, laundry, and anything else you wish to know. All our prices listed on our website are nett with no hidden charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Un's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Un's Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing