We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Surfer's hang” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Un's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Un's Hotel
Ranked #9 of 250 Kuta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surfer's hang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel has a good location. 5 minute walk to the surf and close to restaurants and massage shops. The balcony restaurant which is attached to Uns does a great Rendang and snapper. Also the margarita's are good value. The staff make you feel like family. It's well priced and I will have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Bring goggles for the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    68
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
29
57
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The place is wicked, nice pool, nice people and the rooms were big and lovely. They had safes and the location was AMAZING and the balcony was our favourite place to eat and drink in the whole legian strip.
The only downside is the price, its just not worth the money.
Such a shame because its beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Un's Hotel a few times and recommend it for its boutique size, Bali feel (as opposed to resort feel), cleanliness and great location (away from the nightclubs but walking distance to just about everywhere!) A few tips, you can only book via email - google Un's Hotel Kuta to find address and request the quiet side away from the traffic! Traffic side very noisy, quiet side no probs!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Un's in one of the family bungalows. The hotel is split into two sides with the pool in the middle, office at one end and entrance at the other. The side of the hotel closest to the office would be fine for noise as it is further away from the lane way. However, our side in the family bungalow is right beside this very busy lane way. There was a small break in traffic between 3:30am and 5 but otherwise, the motorbike noise was so loud it sounded like they were coming through the 2nd floor master bedroom! My wife and I gave up and slept on the main floor for the second and third nights which was a bit better but not much. If you have ear plugs or sleep extremely soundly, maybe you won't have a problem. Otherwise, the location is perfect - 5 minutes walk from great surfing on Kuta Beach, lovely gardens, nice pool, excellent, friendly staff and a great restaurant, The Balcony. I'd definitely stay there again but on the side opposite the lane way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Running out of options we stayed here for two nights. We got the family room at the rate of a double room, which was still too much in our opinion. The room was spacious but also a little bit of run down - so far, so good. The missing but very necessary mosquito net and the weird smell (potatoes mixed with mold, mothballs and perhaps something dead?) were the real drawbacks. At a rate of almost 63 USD (yes I know, it's high-season...) the value drops pretty quickly. The smell didn't even go away after opening the main door and the one to the outdoor bathroom for hours. The strange scent balls hung up by the staff were useless if not as strange as the room's smell itself.

Speaking of the former: staff are "really nice". Or as long as they try to sell you anything, e.g. their brother's taxi-service, their cousins bike rental, just whatever. Nepotism to its perfection. Being bothered to death by the hotel staff to such an extent is really annoying - worse than the hawkers at the beach.

It's incomprehensible to see this place having so good rankings on Tripadvisor and being Lonely Planet's Top Choice. Just avoid.

Only good things: courtyard is nice and well kept and the nearby restaurant "The Balcony" serves really delicious food, which unfortunately comes with almost the same kind of hawkers as a side dish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Un’s Hotel is a clean, quiet place that is well-run. Breakfast upstairs at the Balcony restaurant is substantial enough and in a fun place, being surfer-bar themed. The hotel has a nice pool and the upgraded room was large, if not well-lit. The bathroom was large and satisfactory, although it was not part of the air-conditioned room. This is common in Bali, and one needs to place the “door bar” on when leaving. The location is fine, just a few minutes walk from the beach, far enough from the Poppies craziness to feel like a haven, and near enough to the action that it wasn’t hard to get there. It is not super fancy, but then neither is the price. I recommend it wholeheartedly, in part because the staff was very nice and the grounds and pool were well-kept.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Marin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would firstly like to outline the Pro's and Con's.

Pro's
1. Nice Breakfast
2. Good Pool Area
3. Outside area well kept
4. Air Conditioning worked well

Con's
1. Dark
2. Damp
3. Doors did not close very securely
4. Staff were too pushy about transport
5. Room not cleaned properly
6. Very poorly lit area, and narrow road for walking back at night
7. Noise right outside our room for 2 nights
8. Outdoor Bathroom!

This review is based on Room 2 which is considered a family room, we stayed for 3 nights- $54.50USD per night.

My partner and I picked Un's Hotel based on the Lonely Planets guide and the good reviews here.
We were coming from Sanur, our driver found the area easily but it was hard to determine where the entrance was as it was up a narrow road.
We went straight to reception to get our room. We were warmly greeted there and were passed over to someone else to take us to our room. The guy took us to the room and said he was also a driver and we advised we were going to Ubud next, he kept telling us what his best price would be, as if we didn't get enough hassle on the roads from drivers!!
We later realised this guy was also cleaning the rooms, and every time we saw him he kept asking when were we going to Ubud and saying he'd take us.

Our room smelled funny, poorly lit and not clean. We were not given any towels or toilet paper on the first and third day. There was a pair of contact lenses stuck to the mirror for the duration of our stay! The furniture was old and smelly inside.. the bed was comfortable but the sheets felt damp. there was also one other double bed in the room.
The bathroom is an outdoors style bathroom which we were not used to. The toilet was horrible (see pictures) the whole place needed a good scrub!
The doors were locked with a large pad-lock but you could still push in the doors and see inside.
On the second morning while eating breakfast we were approached by a different member of staff saying he was also a driver and he would take us to Ubud.

We had a loud buzzing noise outside our room for two nights, nobody knew what it was, nothing was done about it while we were there.

However, the outside area was kept well at all times. The pool area was nice. The breakfast was really good a great variety and tasted well. Our air conditioning kept us cool which is just what we needed.

Room Tip: Don't get room number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnythingButMarzipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.8 mi away
Rhadana Hotel
Rhadana Hotel
#2 of 225 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#4 of 225 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#13 of 225 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adi Dharma Hotel
Adi Dharma Hotel
#12 of 225 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#19 of 225 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Un's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Un's Hotel

Property: Un's Hotel
Address: Jl. Benesari no. 16, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un's Hotel is situated in a peaceful and quiet location close to shops, restaurants, and nightlife, only 200m from Kuta beach. Our friendly staff will ensure that your stay is enjoyable, and hassle-free. We have a total of 30 comfortable rooms, all with solar hot water, ceiling fan or air conditioning, IDD phone, room safe, and cable TV with 40 international channels. All rooms are gracefully furnished with antiques. We also have one fully air conditioned two-story bungalow, with kitchen facilities. Guests receive free breakfast from The Balcony restaurant, and can order room service from 7am until 11pm. Guests can also enjoy the use of our internet access facility and swimming pool, which is surrounded by a lush, tropical garden. We can help you with information regarding car rental, tours, money changers, laundry, and anything else you wish to know. All our prices listed on our website are nett with no hidden charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Un's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Un's Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing