We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but small, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #288 of 340 Hotels in Kuta
KL
1 review
“Clean but small, good staff”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Room - small but clean. Toilet flush needed repairing and staff came into our room when we were not around - did not like that.
Staff spoke English well, were quite fast/good in responding to requests for iron, hair dryer and adaptor. However, they did not hv a first aid kit nor were their 'shop' open and when they said they would ask their bellboy to buy plaster, they did not get it done.
Breakfast spread - was ok considering its not a 5-star hotel.
Spa - facial was alright but therapist should hv washed customer's face first before commencing.
not very convenient for shopping/dining - need to walk abt 15mins and roads are rather narrow and crowded
pool - could improve on how it looks - thought it was a kind of river with the green coloured tiles

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat6622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agussalim, General Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear cat6622

We would like to thank you for your precious time to have your great input in trip advisor for Bali Kuta Resort. We would like to apologize for the toilet problem that you had, first aid kit already prepared in the front office for our guest. We have also shared your input for the spa. We would like to inform you that we have a shuttle to the Kuta beach 3 times a day, 8 am, 10 am and 3 pm. We hope that you would consider to have our hotel for your next stay in Bali to see our improvement as your advised.

Regards,

Agus Salim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    59
    70
    34
    33
See reviews for
39
81
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2011

At first I was impressed. Then we saw some of the details that were less than impressive. Our air conditioner did not work properly, making sleep difficult, they were quite prompt in getting someone to come and look at it both times we called about it, but it only worked for a short time and went back to being on the fritz. We stayed in far less expensive hotels and had no problems with air con.

What's really silly is that when you're not there all the electricity goes off, which is great for lights and tv but not for the fridge and air con, made it pointless to put anything in the fridge except overnight when we were in the hotel room. I'd much rather come back to a cool room and have a cool drink from the fridge!

The furniture and fixtures are very nice but attention to detail is missing. The grouting in the bathroom tiles was messy, the water went everywhere from the faucet, directly into the overflow which was not attached to anything which made the bathroom floor wet, and the ring for the toilet paper wasn't attached properly. The wifi only worked if we were next to the patio door or out on the patio. For what we paid, I'd expect more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tathraSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agussalim, General Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Tathrast,

Thank you for your great advised in trip advisor. We would like to apologize for the inconvenient that you have along your stay in Bali Kuta Resort.
We just would like to inform you that the hotel electricity system was central from the key tag. You could always have your AC and Fridge keep on by having another key card hold on the key tag. For the Wi-Fi we have already set it for free for our lovely guest, but sometimes it would be problem because everyone in the hotel using it.
Once again apologize for the situation that didn’t meet your expectation, we would be waiting to have you again in the future to stay with us.

Regards,

Agus Salim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel last December. The docor and the hotel room was so boring. Cannot imagine anybody would stay here again. Terrible management and rude staff. Totally not worth the money. Very limited selection of breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agussalim, General Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Jessica630,

We would like to apologize for the situation that didn’t meet your expectation, We would review about your input to the trip advisor and do more improvement. Hope that you could have another time to stay with us to feel the improvement.

Regards,

Agus Salim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stayed in Bali Kuta Resort in early Jan.

Room: Modern style room which we loved. Slightly smaller than expected but we didn't really mind. There was a bad smell when we came in but was fine after we opened the balcony doors. The balcony doors were hard to lock and unlock but we managed. Beds and pillows were comfy. TV had many channels. Room a bit dim at night but fine in the day if you open up the balcony's curtains. Great free wireless. Strength full only at the balcony, restaurant and lobby though. Slightly slow when lying in the room. Our room was near the lift and near the staircase connected to the restaurant on the 2nd floor so it got a little bit noisy in the morning when other patrons, especially kids, were going off to breakfast.

Service: Staff were friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were flawless. Items requested for were sent in less than 10 min. They provide transportation service so we requested to rent a bike with a surf board rack. They got us 1 in less than 15 min through other sources although the hotel itself do not have bikes with surf board racks.

Breakfast: A good spread with quite a good variety. Taste wise, not bad. Loved the cream caramel, it was delicious. Breakfast is at the restaurant located on the 2nd floor, overlooking the pool which was fabulous.

Pool: Great pool with a swim up bar. No one stands there all the time but as soon as you swim around someone will come to stand by. The design and setup was nice,especially at night, the area looked beautiful. Just a medium sized pool though.

Location: 20 min drive from the airport. Hotel provides airport transfer for Rp 100,000 per car per way if the stay was less than 5 nights (we stayed for 3). Regretted not taking up the service as at the airport, the taxi charged us Rp 150,000! The hotel is not exactly a walking distance to the beach and main area (we tried walking, it took us about 20 min) so its best to rent a motorbike and its less than 5 min away as there are small lanes which motorbikes can cut through.

Overall, what you get is what you paid for. We had a pleasant stay! The price is reasonable. The hotel has a nice ambient. Would recommend it to those who already know their way around Bali as distance is a little bit inconvenient. Unable to comment on other transportation means (like the shuttle service or availability of taxis) as we did not try them and did not need them. Not for those who are extremely fussy and those who take note of every single details type. We were more of the easy going type.

There were some renovation works being done (probably extension to the hotel) but it wasn't noisy at all. They have a special grill dinner every Friday night accompanied with a traditional Balinese dance. We did not try the dinner but enjoyed the dance from our balcony.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emm1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agussalim, General Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Emm1702

Thank you very much for your review in trip advisor for Bali Kuta Resort. We were glad to hear that you almost find everything well along your stay. We hope that you would come here again when you having your trip to Bali and we would honor to be at your service.

Regards,

Agus Salim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Cleanliness - I am sure most will find it unacceptable to be offered white towels with MANY spots of pink and reddish-brown on them. We closed an eye and accepted it on the first night. We were appalled when the new set of towels on the following day are worst with even most dirt patches! We called housekeeping, requesting for new set of towels. Surprisingly, the whole new set of towels are sparkling white! Did they already know of the problem with the towels and showing differential treatments to different customers?

Safety - Safety might not be ideal too. We were offered a room on the ground floor which has a sliding door to the balcony. Nothing much to boast about the balcony which faces a concrete wall with no view at all. Nevermind about the view, problem is that the locked sliding door can actually be opened if you just pull a little harder on the handle. This is definitely not safe. There is no safe box at all in the room which we were assigned to. The safe box needs to be requested from the reception which is subjected to availability. We were only given the safe box at our last night of stay.

Information - There is free airport transfer if you stay for at least 3 nights. We were not aware of this until the day when we checked out. Neither the hotel website nor the hotel staff seem to be willing to make this offer known. There was no mentioning by them of such service when we made the booking online and during our checkout. It is only when we decided to try our luck and probe them about whether there's any such complimentary transfer that they reveal to us.

Location - Location is acceptable to us since we do not party every night. But do be warned that you'll need to take a 5-minutes walk past a stretch of dark road at night before reaching the hotel lobby. It is about 15 to 20 minutes walking distance to the Kuta shopping area, probably about 20 to 30 minutes walk to the Kuta beach. If you'll like to enjoy the Kuta party scene and Kuta beach every day, this hotel's location is probably not ideal.

Rooms were generally clean (except for the towels). Aircon is not exactly cool and lighting is dim, dimness should be fine if you are not doing lots of reading in the room. Staffs are generally friendly, just not very prompt with providing information. Anyway, such info dissemination problem could be a management problem instead of staff problem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_mx_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agussalim, General Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Traveller_mx_03

We would like to apologize for the inconvenient that you felt from your last stay. We have make a lot of improvement from your last review. We have change our laundry company to new one and fix all the balcony doors in the first floor and make sure that they are secured. The free transport was only for 7 nights stay in Bali Kuta Resort, apologize if the information that didn’t provide it to you promptly by our staff. We also have bought more safe deposit box so we could provide for all guest needs. And just for your information we have 3 times shuttle to the Kuta beach everyday on 8 am, 10 am and 3 pm. We hope that you would having your time to stay in Bali Kuta Resort on your next visit to Bali.

Regards,

Agus Salim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I received a discount due to a special event I attended, but even so I felt it was far too pricey for what I received.
The room was pretty small but comfortable, and I liked they had cable TV for the day I was suffering from heat stroke. But the towels and linen felt cheap.
The bar prices were outrageous.
This hotel is located a little back from the main strips in Kuta, and when you leave you're not assaulted by the hawkers and stall owners, so it's good in that respect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agussalim, General Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Funkyj,

Thank you for your review in trip advisor for Bali Kuta Resort. We would like to apologize for some point that didn’t meet your expectation. We have done a lot of improvement on the towels and linen and we hope that you could have your time on Bali Kuta Resort for your next trip to Bali.

Regards,

Agus Salim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We booked this on agoda.com and were disappointed due to the following:
1. Resort claimed to have a new fitness facility (only reason we booked here) and when we asked where us was they said "outside" we asked outside where and they said outside as in the don't have one and you have to find one elsewhere
2. The walls are paper thin and we were one the road side which was unbelievably loud. We asked to change rooms the next day and they showed us one that the balcony door didn't close leaving a huge open space for bugs or whatever to enter, they told us not too worry it was on the 5th floor, the next room the balcony door closed but had a huge gap at the bottom, but we took it for some peace and quiet
3. The front desk staff are nit friendly at all. The barely looked us when we approached them.
4. The mini bar is unbelievably expensive
5. The location to the beach is terrible. It's more than 1km walk
6. No taxi drivers know this hotel
7. Pool is a weird green colour
8. Only one computer at the entrance to the restaurant

The only good thing is that it was clean, which is not an advantage but expected.
There are so many hotels around Kuta that I wouldn't bother with this one.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingcanadians14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agussalim, General Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Wondering Canadians14,

Thank you very much for your time having reviewed for Bali Kuta Resort. We would like to apologize for the things that didn’t meet your expectation. We have already updated all information on the Online Travel Agent so that no more guests would be having inconvenient from the miss information of Bali Kuta Resort. We have made improvement from your last stay and hope that you could give your trust back to feel your best moment in Bali by staying with us again.

Regards,


Agus Salim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Regis Kuta Bali
Park Regis Kuta Bali
#100 of 340 in Kuta
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santika Kuta Bali
Hotel Santika Kuta Bali
#144 of 340 in Kuta
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
Kuta Central Park Hotel
#105 of 340 in Kuta
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Kuta
HARRIS Hotel Kuta
#80 of 340 in Kuta
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Zuri Kuta Bali
Grand Zuri Kuta Bali
#94 of 340 in Kuta
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ohana Hotel Kuta
Ohana Hotel Kuta
#146 of 340 in Kuta
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center

Property: Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center
Address: Jl. Majapahit No. 18, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel is conveniently located in the heart of Kuta area, 15 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International Airport and five minutes to Kuta beach. Our central location allows easy access to entertainment venues, tourist attractions, exclusive shopping and sightseeing in the Kuta, Legian, Seminyak and Nusa Dua regions.We boast more than 250 rooms, featuring amenities you would expect of a four-star hotel. Choose from superior, deluxe or junior suites tastefully furnished in a blend of classical and contemporary motifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Kuta Resort And Convention Center
Bali Kuta Hotel Kuta
Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing