We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
29
59
72
38
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
59
72
38
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge swimming poollegian streetquick checkstaff at receptionfamily vacationsun loungersfirst trip to balipool barnight lifedeluxe roomcoz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 237 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked 2 pool view junior suites for 8 nights in late March 2012. We are 2 adults and 4 kids aged 3,9,13 and 15. Since a junior suite maximum occupancy is 3 people, we had to get 2 suites to get everyone in. Despite the fact that the resort doesn’t have any connecting suites, we still booked the two suites under the prepaid non-refundable discount rates.

Why did we book this resort despite the obvious disadvantages of not having connecting rooms? Firstly, it offered good discounts for advanced prepaid booking, which we made 3 months ahead of our stay – we only paid USD80 per room. Secondly, it’s supposed to be in Central Kuta and close to everything. Thirdly, many reviewers on travel sites regarded this resort as a family-friendly resort, and we have 4 kids. We specifically requested for ground floor pool-facing suites to take advantage of the swimming pool. Fourthly, because at its website it mentioned that the suite has kitchenette, and we are planning on doing a bit of cooking. Finally, it was managed by Swiss-Belhotel so it can’t be that bad.

The reality? Well, we touched down at 10pm in torrential rain and picked up our 2 wet bags at the carousel. We were hustled at the airport by taxi drivers and was charged USD20 to get to the resort, which was only 5km away. On arrival, our check-in was speedy but we did not get the ground floor suites that we requested. I complained but the hotel receptionist who promised to try and find a suite on the ground floor tomorrow. We were given 2 rooms on the 5th floor. There was nothing weird with the 1st room, but the 2nd room had a terrible foul odour. The smell was so overpowering that we did not stay long enough to investigate the source of the smell or made a complaint to the front desk. Since it was late night, we just used 1 room for all 6 persons. Other than the strange smell, all the other facilities were of 5star quality. Good comfy king-sized bed and sofa, 2 flat screen TVs, etc. But the kitchenette was bare without any cooking facilities much to our chagrin. The kitchenette consisted of only a fridge, a coffee maker, a kitchen sink and a dining table – nothing else.

The next day we were given a ground floor pool facing suite, while we kept the other “normal” room on the 5th floor. We were disappointed but at least our kids could use the pool easily, and we could do the monitoring from the verandah. The strange smell was really sewer odour coming either from the kitchen sink or the toilet’s floor traps. We checked the kitchen sink and found that it was installed without any water-trap to block the odour – terrible design mistake. We blocked the smell through the sink by filling it up with water, but nothing could be done with the toilet’s floor trap. So essentially, the resort suffers from foul odour resulting from the faulty sewerage system. It may have a vent pipe that discharges the gas to the top of the building, but you could control the odour from escaping through the pipes and onto the rooms through the toilet’s floor trap and kitchen sink.

How about the breakfast? It was the same continental/Indonesian breakfast for the duration of our stay without much variety. But they needed better cooks at the egg station. It took the staff five minutes to prepare an omelette and it was EXTREMELY over-cooked – this happened for 8 days. So, I had to watch them cooked my omelette; otherwise, it would be as hard as rock. Skip the breakfast if you can, and the only reason we kept taking them because it had been paid for.

How about the staff? Excellent of course. Since Bali survives on tourism, the staff are trained perfectly to look after the hotel’s guests. Of course, you would get grumpy employees every now and then, but as a whole, the staff of this resort were polite and courteous to your every need.

How about the location? Not a prime location as advertised. The resort is sited on a busy slip road (Majapahit Street), which is some 200m from Kuta main street. It was a hassle walking along the narrow pedestrian walkway, which was littered with gaping manholes. The drainage manholes were of concrete types and they were opened to allow for maintenance and cleaning up of the roadside drains. Since they were heavy, most of the manholes we left opened. If you fall into these manholes, your vacation is over. At night without the street lighting, these gaping manholes could be a real danger.

The hotel has its own cabs but as usual, but they are expensive to use. Better use the ubiquitous bluebird for a fraction of the price. Once you step outside of the resort and waiting for a taxi, you will surely be accosted by one of the hotel’s staff. Ignore them, and just flag down a bluebird taxi. But if you want to take a free and easy tour of the island with a driver at your disposal, the hotel can easily arrange an MPV for your use (Toyota Innova) for 600,000rupiah/day. We took one and was not disappointed.

Will I use this resort again? If I am coming with friends, yes. With family, I might try another resort, but I doubt I would be coming back to Bali anytime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelate68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliKutaResortBKR, Front Office Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Kelate68,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor for Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel.
We apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your staying with us. We are carrying out a room by room maintenance programme and we really appreciate your comments and are taking them under advisement. We are doing staff retraining, including for the breakfast service, to improve our services in order to ensure guest satisfaction and convenience. You may be pleased to know that our chef is arranging some new additions to the breakfast menu to give more variety to the breakfast. We really hope that you will stay here again on your next trip to Bali.

Best Regards,

Abraham Runtu
Front Offcie Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel just celebrated its 3rd anniversary, but somehow it feels much older. The problem could be shoddy initial construction and substandard materials because the hotel's management seems to be good and the service is really very special. It is difficult to justify calling this hotel a 4 star hotel. Still, the hotel is a good enough place to spend some time at with its lovely pool area, friendly ambiance, and good service.
Furnishings in some of the rooms are not of high quality, though the beds are extremely comfortable. The sofa in my room was a mess, and looked unkempt (to be kind). Bathrooms look as if they were out of some 1960's Soviet era hotel: cold and stark. They are stingy with towels, offering only one hand towel, no face cloths and only two thin bath towels. I would expect much more than this from a 4 star hotel. My shower did not drain well, and there was always residue water.
However, to a person, the service is excellent. Smiles are everywhere and staff do not linger for tips, though many of them surely deserve them.
The restaurants offer a good selection of tasty foods at reasonable prices. The breakfast buffet is unremarkable offering a limited selection of local and western foods.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the noisy street. Be sure to specify if you want smoking or non.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupertpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliKutaResortBKR, Front Office Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Rupert b,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor for Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel.
We apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your staying with us. We are carrying out a room by room maintenance programme and we appreciate your comments on the room. We are also carrying out staff retraining, including for the breakfast service, to help ensure guest satisfaction and convenience. You may be pleased to know that our chef is arranging some new additions to the breakfast menu to give more variety to the breakfast. We really hope that you will stay here again on your next trip to Bali.


Best Regards,

Abraham Runtu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

i stayed for two nights here, and i like it. The room is very comfortable (i stayed at deluxe with pool view), but some of furniture are broken, they should change with the new one or repair. The bed is comfy, the bathroom is large and my daughter likes it very much... the balcony very big, my daughter can play there...
For breakfast they have a good and delicious menu. Staff very nice and helpfull

Room Tip: choose a pool view, very good
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviAdzkasyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliKutaResortBKR, Front Office Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Revi Adzkasyah,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor for Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the room furniture. We are carrying out a guestroom maintenance project to ensure the comfort and well-being of our guests. We hope that we could have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.


Best Regards,

Abraham Runtu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived late at 9pm, however hotel has arranged for complimentary pick up from Airport as part of the package, and also thrown in 30 mins massage free, which was worth it.
Rooms are clean and reasonably big as compared to its peers.

Not so good - Location (Far from Beach) and No Vegetarian Food available.

Room Tip: opt for swimming pool view room, and ask for complementary spa/message offer.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standard001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliKutaResortBKR, Front Office Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear SantyIndia,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor for Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us. We hope that we could have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.


Best Regards,

Abraham Runtu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for first 3 nights and comparing to other hotels my stay here was very good. I liked the pool area, which was not big but did not seem very used and you can get a spot in sun at any time of the day. Pool area decorated with plants and big statue makes it pleasant and relaxing place to hang out. Junior suite room was spaceous, with little kitchenette and big fridge.
We had wi-fi in the room without any additional charge and it worked well.
Hotel is located on a busy street but as soon as you pass the fron desk, you can forget it all. It may be in walking distance from things to see, but for me the street was too hectic with all scooters and cars, and sidewalk was basically the street. I would recommend taking one of the hotels by beach if you want to do more walking. Else hotel offers a shuttle to the centre of Kuta, and getting back by taxi is very cheap.
I found the hotel clean, except the fans where breakfast was served (but this is minor). I agree that furniture may be outdated, for example closet in the room had this old smell so I did not hang any of my clothes there. Mirrors and tiles may need some touch up, but it is not bad.

Room Tip: Junior suites with pool view room no from 119 do not really have the pool view, they are facing the plants surrounding the pool. Rooms closer to front desk would have more of a pool view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinariskute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliKutaResortBKR, Front Office Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Alinaris kute,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor for Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will always do our best to assist guests in any way we can to make their stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
We hope that you would stay here again on your next trip to Bali and look forward to welcoming you.


Best Regards,

Abraham Runtu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews