We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good value & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence
Ranked #28 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We booked into the Aston after checking out of the Oasis Boutique Hotel at Tanjung Benoa because the beds were so uncomfortable. Went to a chiropractor at Kuta Galleria and got "manipulated"back into place (cost $100 aud).

Check in was quick & easy, I announced we were checking in & she said "yes Mrs Butt, we are expecting you" - nice!

The pool is huge & hardly anyone uses it, most days we had it to ourselves. The sun lounges are in full sun (very hot) or under an umbrella, personally I prefer a grassed area around the pool with trees for shade. If Aston Kuta had a larger sun lounge area with trees and grass it would be the perfect hotel.

Breakfast was lovely, lots of variety and nothing to complain about.

The rooms were comfortable, clean and had everything we needed - good air con, nice balcony, toiletries supplied in bathroom, clean linen & towel and comfortable bed & pillows. We got room 666 and were a bit worried this was going to be a bad sign - but nothing happened, this room has a beach view from the balcony.

I had a lavender spa package, body scrub, massage, steam, bath, lotion - $50usd for 2.5 hours - very nice & relaxing. Their spa is lovely and really good prices

We ate lunch at the pool bar everyday, food was nice, nothing to rave about but certainly no complaints.

All the staff were genuinely very friendly, they love to talk to the guests which was nice, they remember you and greet you when they see you around the hotel.

We booked the hotel on wotif.com for $100 per night - I thought the price was pretty good for the standard of hotel, dont think I would pay much more than that, (price included buffet breakfast).

Bar tender mentioned the hotel may be putting in a roof top pool - now this would be spectacular if they put grass & trees and lots of sun lounges around, there is a bar on the top levl but way to hot to sit there during the day so I doubt if this area is being used as much as it could by hotel guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baliblondeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed 8 nights. travelled with older children. 1 min to beach walk. 10 min walk to discovery mall and water bomb park. great restaurant with loads of choice especially at breakfast. We will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nuttyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

When I heard from my agent that I was gonna stay at Aston, Kuta, I instantly imagined that it would be near the beach. Boy, I was wrong. Aston Kuta is located in Kuta area, but quite far from the infamous Kuta Beach. We had to walk about 5 minutes (or even more) to go to the beach and some popular places like Flapjacks or Waterbom. And local clubs? We had to get a cab first to go there.

But fortunately, the room was good. I stayed in a Deluxe Room with a friend. We were satisfied because it's big enough for us. The swimming pool looked pretty, but I didn't have the chance to try it for my heavy working schedule. The breakfast was not fabulous, but good.

Anyway, for me, Aston Kuta's definitely a hotel for family, not for partygoers :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irrasistible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear Irrasistible,

Thank you for your recent stay and we highly appreciate the time you took to commend the hotel, and our facility we had from Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. I am very glad that you feel satisfied with the room and enjoy the breakfast at our hotel.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trip. Hopefully you can stay at our hotel again and can enjoy the swimming pool at our hotel.
It always serves us a great satisfaction when we know our guests are happy with the experience in Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

We hope you will come to Bali and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our 4 nights stay in Aston Kuta in August 2011. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are great value too. Breakfast is not bad, although they can change the menu a bit more often. We rated it Excellent value - don't expect a five stars experience by Australian standards, it is more like a five stars experience by Asia standards... ;-)

The beach in Kuta is disappointing, so the hotel is not located close to a good beach. But Legian is not too far and taxis are cheap. It is located in a quiet area, which was great for us.
We then moved to a private villa in Seminyak, which was good, but much more expensive.

The hotel offers transport services, which are obviously much more expensive then elsewhere, but guarantee good service. We have hired a driver outside the hotel and apparently, he works with the hotel as well. His name is Ketut, he drove us around the island for 3 days and was fantastic. His contact is: ketut.kawiyasa@live.com - sorry, but I don't have his phone number.

You can email him, though - he has a blackberry. My wife and I preferred to hire a driver personally, which guarantees that the locals (rather than wealthy property /big business owners) enjoy our money. Note that Ketut is not a travel guide - he is not licensed to do so and doesn't pretend to be one.

If you are after a travel guide, you should better enquire at the hotel. My wife and I simply asked Ketut to take us to the nicest spots he knows around the island and didn't regret it. As a Balinese born local, he knew every spot around the island and took us to less touristy hot springs and local restaurants. We learned that he was divorced and took care of his two kids by himself. We were pleased to pay him directly rather than through a hotel and also gave him a generous tip at the end.

Enjoy Bali and the warm hospitality of the locals. We certainly did! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TomGMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear TomGMelb,

Thank you for your recent stay and we highly appreciate the time you took to commend the hotel, the staff and our facility we had from Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. I am very glad that you feel comfortable with the room and enjoy the breakfast at our hotel.
We say many thanks for having assessed our hotel is a Five Star Hotel standards Asia which is an honor for us. And we are glad you always enjoy a holiday in Bali.
It always serves us a great satisfaction when we know our guests are happy with the experience in Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

We hope you will come to Bali and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here in September and were really impressed with this hotel! Lovely room, great staff and its in a really good location! Will definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear Mr. JoPerth,

Thank you for your recent stay and we highly appreciate the time you took to commend the hotel, the staff and our facility we had from Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. I am very glad that you feel comfortable with the room at our hotel.
I hope you will come back to our hotel to celebrate New Year in Bali.
It always serves us a great satisfaction when we know our guests are happy with the experience in Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

We hope you will come to Bali and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Hi just wanted to share my experience with the kids club at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residences, Bali. Please see below:
Never ever ever leave your children at the kids club at Aston Kuta Bali! They left mine unattended at the swimming pool and didn't know where they were when we returned to collect them! My children are 9yo and 3yo!!! I am posting this to name and shame the hotel and hopefully protect my friends & family's children xxxxxx (this was my personal FB post but felt for the sake of the safety for any child I needed to make myself heard) I will also be writing letters to head office and other government regulatory bodies such that they are also aware of this abysmal failing on the hotels part. The manager accepted full responsibility for the occurrence, luckily my 9 yo is very conscious of his little sister and that the we found them safe and sound!!!
Also, the Kids club is on the 6th floor and they told my children that the closest toilet was on the 3rd floor and made them go by themselves. We were never informed that children below 4 yo were to be accompanied by an adult or baby sitter, but I still wouldn’t want a 4 yo travelling by themselves in an elevator 3 floors in a very busy hotel by themselves.
I would feel terrible if something happened to another child because I didn’t speak up.
This was our first experience with a Kids Club and I don't know if we could bring ourselves to try again.
Kind Regards,
Sharon McMeekin

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I had just stayed here earlier this week for 3 nights and i have to say i really am very delighted to choose this hotel as i got a surprise from the management.
The room were perfect for my family. Bed clean, bath room also clean.
My infant also can play in the hotel as Aston Kuta have a Kid's Club. Thanks' to the woman employee there ( i forgot her name, it's Rani i think) who welcome us.
The breakfast have good variety and the service staff helpful.
Location also near the beach, not far away from airport and shops.
Overall, gladly to recommend to this hotel.

Special Thanks to Mr.Aris for your help. Wish you all the best. :)

Regards,
Ronald-Bandung

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear Ronald I,

Thank you for your recent stay and we highly appreciate the time you took to commend the hotel, services and our facility we had from Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. I am very glad that you feel comfortable with the room and enjoy breakfast at our hotel.
Maybe you mean there is Regina, I depute her to say thank you very much for your satisfaction with the service we provide.
I thank you so much for your confidence and your recommendation of our hotel. It always serves us a great satisfaction when we know our guests are happy with the experience in Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

We hope you will come to Bali and stay with us again soon. Wish you all the best too Ronald.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.4 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#27 of 251 in Kuta
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vira Bali Boutique Hotel & Suite
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali Kuta
1.5 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#5 of 251 in Kuta
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence

Address: Jl. Wana Segara No. 2-5, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Kuta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#19 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#20 Family Hotel in Kuta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $55 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence is perfectly located to give you the best of what Kuta has to offer. Its a 5 min walk to Kuta’s quiet German Beach, where you can photograph beautiful local fishing canoes, and watch the planes landing over the water at the I Gusti Ngurah Rai International Airport, just a 5 min drive south from the hotel. A short taxi ride up the road will bring you to the local and international shopping district where you will find thousands of local street vendors, Lippo Mall, Discovery Kartika Plaza, Park 23, and BeachWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kuta Hotel And Residence
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing