We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! (Hotel & Transport Recommendations)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence
Ranked #54 of 340 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value! (Hotel & Transport Recommendations)”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our 4 nights stay in Aston Kuta in August 2011. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are great value too. Breakfast is not bad, although they can change the menu a bit more often. We rated it Excellent value - don't expect a five stars experience by Australian standards, it is more like a five stars experience by Asia standards... ;-)

The beach in Kuta is disappointing, so the hotel is not located close to a good beach. But Legian is not too far and taxis are cheap. It is located in a quiet area, which was great for us.
We then moved to a private villa in Seminyak, which was good, but much more expensive.

The hotel offers transport services, which are obviously much more expensive then elsewhere, but guarantee good service. We have hired a driver outside the hotel and apparently, he works with the hotel as well. His name is Ketut, he drove us around the island for 3 days and was fantastic. His contact is: ketut.kawiyasa@live.com - sorry, but I don't have his phone number.

You can email him, though - he has a blackberry. My wife and I preferred to hire a driver personally, which guarantees that the locals (rather than wealthy property /big business owners) enjoy our money. Note that Ketut is not a travel guide - he is not licensed to do so and doesn't pretend to be one.

If you are after a travel guide, you should better enquire at the hotel. My wife and I simply asked Ketut to take us to the nicest spots he knows around the island and didn't regret it. As a Balinese born local, he knew every spot around the island and took us to less touristy hot springs and local restaurants. We learned that he was divorced and took care of his two kids by himself. We were pleased to pay him directly rather than through a hotel and also gave him a generous tip at the end.

Enjoy Bali and the warm hospitality of the locals. We certainly did! :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomGMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear TomGMelb,

Thank you for your recent stay and we highly appreciate the time you took to commend the hotel, the staff and our facility we had from Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. I am very glad that you feel comfortable with the room and enjoy the breakfast at our hotel.
We say many thanks for having assessed our hotel is a Five Star Hotel standards Asia which is an honor for us. And we are glad you always enjoy a holiday in Bali.
It always serves us a great satisfaction when we know our guests are happy with the experience in Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

We hope you will come to Bali and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    411
    126
    26
    23
See reviews for
249
282
45
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here in September and were really impressed with this hotel! Lovely room, great staff and its in a really good location! Will definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJoPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Mr. JoPerth,

Thank you for your recent stay and we highly appreciate the time you took to commend the hotel, the staff and our facility we had from Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. I am very glad that you feel comfortable with the room at our hotel.
I hope you will come back to our hotel to celebrate New Year in Bali.
It always serves us a great satisfaction when we know our guests are happy with the experience in Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

We hope you will come to Bali and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Hi just wanted to share my experience with the kids club at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residences, Bali. Please see below:
Never ever ever leave your children at the kids club at Aston Kuta Bali! They left mine unattended at the swimming pool and didn't know where they were when we returned to collect them! My children are 9yo and 3yo!!! I am posting this to name and shame the hotel and hopefully protect my friends & family's children xxxxxx (this was my personal FB post but felt for the sake of the safety for any child I needed to make myself heard) I will also be writing letters to head office and other government regulatory bodies such that they are also aware of this abysmal failing on the hotels part. The manager accepted full responsibility for the occurrence, luckily my 9 yo is very conscious of his little sister and that the we found them safe and sound!!!
Also, the Kids club is on the 6th floor and they told my children that the closest toilet was on the 3rd floor and made them go by themselves. We were never informed that children below 4 yo were to be accompanied by an adult or baby sitter, but I still wouldn’t want a 4 yo travelling by themselves in an elevator 3 floors in a very busy hotel by themselves.
I would feel terrible if something happened to another child because I didn’t speak up.
This was our first experience with a Kids Club and I don't know if we could bring ourselves to try again.
Kind Regards,
Sharon McMeekin

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I had just stayed here earlier this week for 3 nights and i have to say i really am very delighted to choose this hotel as i got a surprise from the management.
The room were perfect for my family. Bed clean, bath room also clean.
My infant also can play in the hotel as Aston Kuta have a Kid's Club. Thanks' to the woman employee there ( i forgot her name, it's Rani i think) who welcome us.
The breakfast have good variety and the service staff helpful.
Location also near the beach, not far away from airport and shops.
Overall, gladly to recommend to this hotel.

Special Thanks to Mr.Aris for your help. Wish you all the best. :)

Regards,
Ronald-Bandung

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Ronald I,

Thank you for your recent stay and we highly appreciate the time you took to commend the hotel, services and our facility we had from Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. I am very glad that you feel comfortable with the room and enjoy breakfast at our hotel.
Maybe you mean there is Regina, I depute her to say thank you very much for your satisfaction with the service we provide.
I thank you so much for your confidence and your recommendation of our hotel. It always serves us a great satisfaction when we know our guests are happy with the experience in Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

We hope you will come to Bali and stay with us again soon. Wish you all the best too Ronald.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morioka, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed at the Aston Kuta hotel 21st-23rd September 2011.

We booked a “Family Room” for 3 people using the website Rakuten. However, when we arrived at the hotel we were given a “free” upgrade to a “Deluxe” room because actually there were no Family rooms available. Of course, we were delighted about this “free” upgrade, and didn’t ask any further questions.

It wasn’t until we were checking out that we were told that we would need to pay for the “extra bed” for each of the 3 nights. The price of our original booking for a “Family Room” included an extra bed for the third person, so we were most upset when we were told our “free” upgrade did not include the bed.

We asked to speak to the manager, because when we were given our “free” upgrade, we were not given any options and we were not given the conditions. Of course we expected to pay the price that had been agreed when we originally booked the room. However, the manager had no sympathy, and he told us that we were required to pay for the extra bed. Although the room upgrade was free, the extra bed was not. We were not apologized to.

I felt that the members of staff at the Aston Kuta hotel were most unprofessional and the customer service was appalling. As a group of budget travelers, we felt we were lied to and ripped off.

Room Tip: If you are "upgraded" to another room, check the conditions before you agree to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank travelgirl88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Travelgirl88_11,

Thank you for your recent stay and we the review about Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. I deeply empathize with the unpleasant experience during your stay.

Rest assured that we take your review very seriously about the problems of displacement from Family room to room deluxe where you also have to pay extra bed, and we will also directly ask the staff & managers are concerned about your problem, then we have taken immediate actions to address this issue with related sections to rectify the issue and to prevent this from happening again. Thank you for your comment so as to make us learn better from now on.

If in the future you have a plan to come to Bali again, please choose Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence to accommodate your stay and let me know on your visit so I can personally ensuring that your experience will be very much improved from the last time.

Thank you for your attention.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I had a great stay at the Aston Kuta. While it's not in the middle of town (a blessing if you ask me) the downtown area was a walkable distance--either through the city or via the beach. This property is not on the beach and does not have direct access, but it was close. The taxis are also very reasonable, just make sure to confirm the price ahead of time.

The pool was small but usually uncrowded. It's actually in the middle of the courtyard. The restaurant looks out onto the pool. The breakfast was good, they had a large variety that seemed to suit all cultures.

The rooms were a standard size and comfortable. The only really odd thing was that under the sink there were rocks. I think they were going for a spa look, but instead it was odd and I saw the random ant or two in there.

The surprising thing about this property is the number of tv channels they had in English (I stayed on the other side of the island in Sanur and this was not the case). Most of you will not care about tv because you're on vacation and that's excellent, however I was there on business and didn't have a lot of time to go out, or just wanted to hear what's happening at home while I got ready for work in the morning. My favorite part was that their version of MTV still plays music videos!

Another nice touch was that they had couches on the second floor overlooking the pool. I often went there to read at night. It was a nice space that was relatively quiet.

This property does host a cultural show in their restaurant, I think it was on Friday night. It was fun and worth seeing if you haven't put this in your agenda to see elsewhere on the island.

There is free wifi in the lobby, so the lobby ends up quite crowded much of the time. I remember having access in my room, but I paid for it and think it might have been a cable hook up. I can't be sure so many months later. There was a small business center with 2 computers that also had free internet.

One last item of note is that there was a convenience store just across the street with very cheap bottled water (you get 2 free in the room each day, but if you need more it was just 39 rupia).

Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShutterbugTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Shutterbug Traveler,

Thank you for your recent stay and we highly appreciate the time you took to commend the hotel and our facility we had from Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. I am very glad that you feel comfortable with the room and enjoy breakfast at our hotel.
Rest assured that we take your review very seriously about the ant at the spa.
Thank you for your trusting to choose our hotel for your business trip. Hope you will choose our hotel again when you will business trip in Bali. It always serves us a great satisfaction when we know our guests are happy with the experience in Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

We hope you will come to Bali and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel in April 2011. We had a large suite with kitchenette, living room, bedroom and bathroom. The room was clean and had everything we needed. There's a large pool where you can really swim (nice for in the morning). Breakfast is good, lots of choices. It's a little far away from the beach, shopping area but you can always arrange a taxi for a few bucks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike201000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arissyamsul, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Mike201000,

Thank you for your recent stay and we highly appreciate the time you took to commend the hotel and our facility of room, the pool and the breakfast we had from Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence in TripAdvisor.com. Thank you for your trusting to choose our hotel. It always serves us a great satisfaction when we know our guests are happy with the experience in Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

We hope you will come to Bali and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Aris Syamsul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
The Vira Bali Hotel
The Vira Bali Hotel
#28 of 340 in Kuta
841 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#48 of 340 in Kuta
1,014 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali Kuta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#9 of 340 in Kuta
672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#68 of 340 in Kuta
1,591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Tuban
Swiss-Belhotel Tuban
#66 of 340 in Kuta
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence

Property: Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence
Address: Jl. Wana Segara No. 2-5, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Kuta
#33 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#33 Family Hotel in Kuta
#38 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst a tropical setting of the Island of God, nestled in a quaint area of Kuta and only a strol away from the famous Kuta Beach, Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence offers a stylish and comfortable atmosphere for discerning travelers. Strategicaly situated only within 10-minute drive from I Gusti Ngurah Rai International Airport, this property delivers a broad–gauge establishment. Being con-veniently settled nearby shopping mals,the biggest waterpark in Southeast Asia and surrounded by lavish gourmet galore, Aston Kuta Hotel &Residence is the ideal and ultimate home for holiday-makers. Those who travel solo, with friends or family, as wel as honeymooners will find this property voguish and comfy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kuta Hotel And Residence
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing