We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“for sushi lover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Tei Sunset Road

Sushi Tei Sunset Road
Ranked #72 of 827 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“for sushi lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

i like their plenty of sushi choices. Love the atmosphere and good service. Free ocha (japanese tea) is a plus. A bit expensive but still OK because the freshness of the food. Recommend this place to any sushi lover.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Effendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    177
    63
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad food, expensive, unfriendly staff and unacceptable manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

When we were seated (2 guests) we got only one menu. After asking for another one and waiting for a couple of minutes we were given one more. The menu is way too big to chose from, it takes you about 10 minutes to look at everything.
I wanted some sushi with red tuna, it was about 7 p.m. and the waitress said that tuna was gone already :/ So i changed my order. My girlfriend wanted a califormia roll and after taking the order the waitress came back about 2 minutes later and said that avocado was out. Due to this inconvenience we decided to cancel our order and leave the restaurant. The waitress insisted that we had to pay for the drinks and food that we ordered but which didn't arrive at our table yet.
After asking for the manager she as well said that we'd had to pay for the items which we didn't get yet. Absolutely unacceptable.
By the way the atmosphere was like in a McConalds. Huge hall, loud, full of people. You can't choose your own table because you get seated where they wish.
The part of the food which we finally ate was by far not what we call "good sushi". More like all-you-can eat quality.
We will not come back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite Restaurant in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We loved the variety, the freshness of the food and the create atmosphere. Best Japanese Restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J_J_Spalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grocery Store Quality Sushi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This restaurant is large and has good service but the food is not up to par. The sushi rice is terrible and the quality of the pieces of fish were not good either. The sushi reminded me of the pre-made sushi that you can buy in the supermarket. Also, the prices are pretty expensive for Bali. I've eaten sushi at many places around the world and this is far below what I'd even call "average" sushi.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good food - but prices have gone up - so not so much value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Good food - but prices have gone up - so there is not so much value for money anymore - specially the sashimi is very expensive if you ask me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andersmarstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Tei Sunset Road also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Tei Sunset Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing