We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta
Ranked #80 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Harris Residence Riverview in Bali for 2 weeks. We took a double bedroom suite to accommodate our 13 year old son.

On arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by an orange juice drink and some very cheerful staff and a very orange environment. Whilst the orange is kind of fun and refreshing one thing I did miss was the more traditional Balinese decorative features I have experienced at other hotels.

In the hotel foyer is a small juice bar which does serve alcohol as well. There is also a gift shop where you can purchase many Harris memorabilia which is all mainly orange.
We didn’t have breakfast included but we did occasionally have breakfast in the hotel. The egg station was great with a choice of omelette or fried eggs. There is also a pancake and waffle station. The menu for breakfast however was limited and there was no bacon!!

The spa was very nice even though a little expensive. Whilst I will not compare it to the massage shops to be found down Jl Legian which can be had for much less, I will compare it to other in hotel spa services. For a 3 star hotel the prices I felt were reasonable considering one doesn’t have to walk far. If you are budget minded though about 100meters down the road there is another hotel (I think only 1 or 2 star) which does have a spa service at 1/3 of the price at Harris.

The room itself was very spacious and had a large fridge with freezer which was useful to store the bottled water purchased from the Q-Mart next door. On entering the room though one can tell instantly that the photos used in the advertising for the hotel must have been taken when it was brand new as our room looked very aged. There were visible patches on the wall were paint had been touched up. The door to the balcony required a “magic touch” to get it to close properly. The wet areas all needed attention with a lot of grout visibly moldy, missing or peeling away. The living and kitchen areas are tiled but the bedrooms have Formica wooden floor paneling, which in the master bedroom was loose in places.

We called to complain about a leak coming from one of the toilets. It took two days till someone from engineering came. They came while we were out but said they had fixed it. The next day the toilet was still leaking, but we decided not to bother complaining again.

Wi-Fi signal was sufficient for web browsing and checking email, out son did get quite frustrated at it not being quick enough to watch any YouTube videos.

Rooms were cleaned very well. The two boys who cleaned our room typically took 30-40 minutes each time, scrubbing toilets, making beds, sweeping and mopping floors.

Many reviewers have complained about the distance from central Kuta. I found it was at most a 15 minute walk to get to Matahari/Kuta Beach Markets.

PRO:
* Lots of pools. 3 for adults, 1 for children
* Friendly staff
* Spacious rooms and living area
* Good selection of TV channels for western viewers
* Good air-conditioning
* Large fridge with freezer compartment

CONS:
* Limited menu at the Harris Café
* English comprehension of most staff is minimal. Every time we ordered room service we requested a salt shaker
Rooms are in need of some maintenance.
* Loose grout in the wet areas
* Visible paint patch ups on wall
* Leaking toilet
* Smell coming from the ‘kitchen’ sink after use
* Ants
* Balcony of little use as it is small and had two air conditioner compressor units blowing hot air

In the end we chose Harris Riverview not for its location but for its price. As a family our choice was either a 2bedroom suite at Harris (or similar) or two rooms at most other hotels. It met our expectation for the most part and provided us with an enjoyable stay in Bali. Would we stay there again. Yes we would :)

Room Tip: Room with a view of the main pool area. If wifi is important the possible ask for a room on a highe...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrisRiverview, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Mr/s ozlink,

Friendly greetings from HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta.

First of all, thank you for your candid, details yet wonderful feedback.
My team & I are pleased that we have been part of your satisfactory 2 weeks stay and it is always great to hear from our guests how much they have enjoyed both of our product & services.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay as we will note it as room to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon, as you promised.

Superb regards,


Marija Tjie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 578 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

15 minutes walking distance to Kuta Beach that's why they provide you a big pool plus few small pools.
Hardly find eateries at surroundings. Fried Chicken is 200m away.
Room is clean & comfy for family trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwktan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrisRiverview, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Mr. MwkTan,

Greetings from HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta.

Thank you for your simple review posted on TripAdvisor.
I am enchanted to learn that in most aspects you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation a perfect value.

I look forward to welcoming you again at HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview - Kuta soon.

Superb Regards


Marija Tjie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My recent stay in Harris was very disappointing.
No use to put notes during your booking because they will ignore it anyway.
I could not check in at 3pm, have to wait for 30mins to get a unit with electricity problem (all went off). Then I need to wait for another 30mins to get a proper room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silviahtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrisRiverview, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Ibu Sylvia,

Thank you for your comment posted on TripAdvisor recounting your recent stay at HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta.

We appreciate your constructive feedback, and we value them positively, as it enables us to monitor that we are providing the level of facilities and services that our guests deserve and expect.

Thank you for being a loyal guest to HARRIS Riverview. However, I would like to acknowledge that room location requests are based on availability upon arrival. And I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

Once again thank you and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel.
Superb regards,

Marija Tjie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel overall is fairly clean and modern with friendly staff, although other reviewers are correct in that there's not much traditionally Balinese about them. Although it's a bit far from the beach and shopping areas, it is close to a vegetarian restaurant (Happy Buddha - exit the hotel, turn left, and walk 300 feet and you'll see it on your right hand side) as well as directly across from a place selling confectionaries for only ~15,000 Rp each. The spa service pricing is a bit of a ripoff, and can be had for much cheaper next door at Hotel Arya.

Overall:

Pros:
- Relatively clean rooms
- Great breakfast buffet
- Friendly staff

Cons:
- Mosquitoes in the rooms on occasion
- A bit of a walk from downtown Kuta
- Slow Wifi

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiveupstove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrisRiverview, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Tasty Durian,

Thank you for choosing HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta for your stay in Bali and taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor readers.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our rooms and services.
Rest assured we also took note of your comment regarding the Wi-fi connection and mosquitoes. We will definitely work closer with the team to ensure they maintain our usual level of service.

Thanks again for sharing your concerns, We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday in HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta-Bali.

Superb Regards


Marija Tjie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

On first arrival, we thought Harris was near to perfect: a friendly welcome with some nice surprises, very forecoming and helpful staff, roomy apartment, 2 tellies and big beds. But after a few days, the downsides became apparent.
Firstly, Harris is not nearly as kids' friendly as it claims. We have a boy of 4 and a girl of 1,5. For the girl, the apartment was just not suitable: the table have loose glass plate tops with sharp edges, the high-legged 'bar table' is extremely wobbly and way too high for her to sit safely, the balcony has only a few horizontal bars with huge gaps, where a child can easily slip through, and the floor of the shower is extremely slippery. The children's bedroom door wouldn't stay open, and had a huge risk of trapping children's fingers, and our son and ourselves had several nasty cuts (our son on his cheek!) from the razor sharp edges of the locks of the toilet doors and the bedroom doorknobs. The hotel has a shallow pool for children, but with absolutely no playing materials and a very high edge to climb onto to get into the pool. Our son went to the Dino's Kids Club a few times, but since the one supervisor wouldn't let him open the cupboards with toys all he did there was watch telly.
For the adults there were also disappointments. The apartment has a cooker with one burner, but apart from an electric kettle and a few mugs absolutely no kitchen utensils: they cost extra. The free WiFi in the room was very slow and unreliable, and automatically broke the connection every five minutes or so unless you are constantly downloading of actively surfing the internet. The staff blamed it on our Apple-devices (iPhone, iPad and iBook).
Since the main pool is in a courtyard, all noises in and around the pool can be very well heard in the rooms overlooking the main pool. The pool is open and quite often used from 7 am, which causes lots of noise in the apatrments and rooms around the pool.
Harris has a restaurant a juice bar and offers services like massages, but we never used any since they are all very expensive compared to lots of the same services in Kuta. We used the shuttle bus only once, since the bus passes several other Harris hotels firstly, before going to Kuta beach. In the extreme Kuta traffic, it took us an hour to get to Kuta center, covering a distance that can be walked in 15 to 20 minutes.
The staff is very friendly, the two minor adult pools have a lovely view, and if you don't have kids the apartments/rooms are ok, but that's just not enough for us to return to Harris any time we might visit Bali again, or reccommend it to others.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank PaNoMaKi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrisRiverview, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Mr Patrick,

Friendly greetings from HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta.

Thank you to spend your valuable time to share review during your stay with us on TripAdvisor.com.

I noted your constructive comments issue and please accept my sincerest apologies if your recent stay at HARRIS Riverview did not met your expectation.

Once again thank you for your comprehensive review, it is always important for us to receive guests feed back to improve our hotel services.
Myself and all HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta players are looking forward to meet you again for your next visit.

Superb regards

Marija Tjie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Pro's

The staff's are all VERY VERY helpful. Will always be happy to help. We called asking for a few things and they manage to get it for us without being very fast to say they dont have it. Kudos for that.

Hotel is very very clean. bed was comfy wifi was decent. What ever i've requested from them via my booking they took into consideration and manage to do it for me. Very nice.

I requested for a late checkout and they gladly gave me till 2pm but fail to update the system maybe, by 12 the next day, when we came back from our outing, the key card was not usable. Minor glitch.

Cons

Very far from Kuta town. (20mins walking distance). I called up the hotel b4 my trip and they said it was only 10mins walking distance. What a let down. They do have a shuttle service BUT it has a route that you have to take (to a few of their hotels for pick ups, a mall, airport theeennn only u'll be send to Kuta town. Not a far journey but now with all the highway projects, the jam was horrible. (maybe should have booked harris kuta perhaps!)

We arrived at the hotel (my room was a 2 bedroom suite) just to find that it is waayyyyyyy smaller than the picture would suggest. very much smaller) It was such a let down. It looked as tho it was an upbeat budget hotel. the kitchen, dining table, living area, everything is at arms length (not in a good way).

Weirdly enough, the toilet has no locks. I understand the design-ish concept behind it but maybe if only the door closed tightly then it would be alright. the shared toilet room's door was a bit ajar. was not a nice toilet experience for us!. The ventilation's not that good also.

They dont have mirrors in the bedrooms and no bright lightings. Only 1 dim light above each bed. We need to pull up the blinds to get sunlight. no privacy at all.

We didnt try the breakfast since i got mixed up with the payment. I booked tru the hotel's website. I would expect that for a suite of 4 occupancy, there will be 4 complimentary breakfast (since this is not a budget hotel) but apparently no, i have to pay separately for breakfast. Why? Ridiculous.


For the price we paid, we could easily get 2 rooms at a hotel in the middle of Kuta with breakfast (and not a budget hotel, mind you). Great people, average to crappy everything else.

Room Tip: Dont choose the river view. Its more of a big drain rather than a river.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heskazeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrisRiverview, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Heskazeta

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to note that some aspects of your stay did not meet with your expectations, and please allow me to apologize. We appreciate feedback as an opportunity to improve the quality of our services. And your detailed comments will be definitely used as such in order to prevent any future occurrence.

Thanks again for sharing your positive feedback and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta in the near future.

Superb regards


Marija Tjie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel is quite new so the building is very modern. The room is apartment model, also with very modern design, clean, and very spacious living room area but small bathroom. Staff services is good, breakfast is very good also. The hotel location is not near beach but very well located if you plan to travel to different other areas in Bali. The downside for us is only really really lack of Balinese touch in all of the area, so best choose this hotel if you plan to go out a lot to enjoy Bali more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrisRiverview, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Mr/s Jrifter,

Greetings from HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta,

Thank you for your delightful review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience some our services and facilities that exceeded your expectation, and found the hotel location well located.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel soon.

Superb regards,



Marija Tjie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.8 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Kuta
HARRIS Hotel Kuta
#53 of 254 in Kuta
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Residences Sunset Road
0.5 mi away
HARRIS HOTEL Kuta Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 254 in Kuta
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berry Glee Hotel
Berry Glee Hotel
#17 of 254 in Kuta
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Bali Kuta Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta

Address: Jl. Raya Kuta 62A | Badung, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Kuta
#45 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#56 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $29 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai international airport and the famous Kuta beach. HARRIS hotel and residences Riverview has 184 units of HARRIS Rooms and Residences 1 and 2 bedrooms. A Simple, Unique, Friendly hotel that has 4 swimming pools, HARRIS Cafe, HARRISsimo Italian cuisine, Dino Kid's Club, H-Spa & Reflexology, and meeting venues for any occasion, free wifi connection in all hotel premises, internet corner, and free e-newspaper. HARRIS Riverview is a one stop destination for your business and leisure purpose:-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel And Residences Riverview Kuta
Harris Hotel Denpasar
HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing