We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Ranked #29 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
perth western australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I've stayed at Kumala Pantai (not to be confused with Hotel Kumala!) six years ago and again a couple of weeks ago. It's just beautiful! Had a deluxe room in H block. Not the best location in the hotel. It is a new block and I had requested this not realising it is just at the lobby entrance so not the best view, but the room was great. Big rooms and bathrooms, clean, aircon worked great, housekeeping was always done by just after lunchtime. I do have to agree with everyone else on TA about the towels being old and grey, yes they definitely are, but for the price I paid I'm not complaining. If its that bad you can always go out and buy a couple of towels for cheap enough I'm sure. The grounds are the best I've seen, green and the pools are big and lovely with a kids pool. The breakfast buffet seems to have diminished slightly from 6 years ago but once again for the price I paid it was fine. It is a nice 20 minutes or so walk along the beach road to Legian markets and sometimes a taxi ride back after shopping if you are too frazzled. Lots of restaurants along the beach just outside the hotel and there is a gym next door the hotel now. The staff were all friendly (except the egg guy!) and always greeted us as we did them! All in all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lejani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    375
    118
    29
    18
See reviews for
259
250
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed at KP for 8 nights in November. Went for our daughters wedding. It was booked for us by our daughter and son in law as this was their second stay there and most of the relatives were there as well.
We stayed in a suite in S Block which was the perfect location as we had direct access to the pool through large glass sliding doors. A separate door from the lounge/dining area led to what is really the front of the room as this is the door which has the key. I would have preferred the glass doors to by keyed as it would have saved walking around...minor gripe though!
The rooms were both large as was the bathroom. At times it smelt a bit musty but thats probably unavoiodable with the humid weather.
Tea and coffee facilities are availabe in the room and a small bottle of water for each guest is replaced daily. Sheets and towels are also changed daily. We did have one or two towels which have seen better days. The same goes for the pool towels as some are brightly coloured and others very dull.
My major concern was the slipperiness around the pool. Its paved in some kind of mable or slate and when wet became very slippery. It was quite amusing watching the little ones shuffling around taking the tiniest steps....they soon learnt. I ended up ripping up a cardboard box (Bintang!) and laying it along the verandah to the doorway for my grandkids.
Breakfast was very pleasant either indoors or in the large outdoor area overlooking the beach. It didn't vary from day to day, but there was enough choice.
I didn't research prices etc, but I hear its very well priced compared to others in the area.
Location is good with many excellent restaurants nearby (Tekor, Lanai) and spas...massage, nails, manicure etc....(Briella)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonadPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We recently returned from 11 nights at the Kumala Pantai. My husband and I were holidaying with our 3.5 and 1.5 years old kids. We stayed in a junior suite in the newer part of the hotel, 'S' block. The junior suite consisted of a generous main bedroom and lounge room. The kids slept on a cot and single bed in the lounge. The bathroom was very generous with separate shower and bath.
Our ground floor room (with an ample balcony) was only 3-4 metres from the pool which was extremely convenient.
Hotel is in a great location, easy access to taxis, shops and casual dining options out the front. The back of the hotel is across the road from the beach and also only a couple of minutes walk to cafes, convenience stores, etc.
This was our third trip to Bali with young children and we feel that we finally got it right with suitable accommodation. Being close to everything makes a huge difference when travelling with young children. A ten minute walk to conveniences may not seem very far for 2 adults but can seem like an eternity with 2 x tired, hungry, cranky toddlers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

My partner and I usually stay at smaller hotels and wanted to avoid the whole Kuta/Legian area altogether on our trip to Indonesia, but we wound up needing to spend a night near Denpasar airport and went with the Kumala Pantai because they had an affordable room available on extremely short notice. We were very pleased with our stay - our room in the H block was large with comfortable furnishings and an expansive, clean bathroom, though the view from the balcony wasn't spectacular. The two swimming pools were lovely and large enough not to seem crowded despite being very popular. Dinner at the restaurant was just okay and a bit overpriced (try Waroeng Asia just around the corner instead), but the gelato was delicious and the breakfast buffet was very good. Service at the hotel was a bit spotty - some of the staff were friendly and helpful, but others were a bit brusque and almost rude at times. Even so, we enjoyed our stay enough that we opted to return to the Kumala Pantai for two more nights of R&R at the end of our time in Indonesia, and we didn't regret our decision. Our second room was in the SG block and had a much nicer pool view, so we spent a bit more time out on the balcony. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at KP for the second time in September and found it just as good as two years ago - couldn't really fault anything. Sure the towels could do with replacing but they were clean if a little bit on the small side but everything else was fine. Have read some reviews that talk about the low level of light in the rooms as they only have lamps - well it is easy to go to the supermarket and buy stronger light bulbs and this would fix the problem easily. We didn't have a problem and we were in NS block near the restaurant.
As said numerous times before very close to great restaurants and lots of very good spa's just outside the road entrance.
We found the staff to be lovely front desk as well.
All in all a really lovely hotel in a great location and very good value for money, we will definately return to KP when next in Bali.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KazAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

My husband and i with our teenage daughter stayed at kumala patai in SG BLOCK,a new wing facing the swimming pool for 4 nigths.Reading the previous reviews, we were a bit apprensive about the condition of the rooms, the deluxe room was quite large inspite of an extra bed we had taken. The bathroom was also big with a seperate shower and bathtub. Room and bathroom were both spotless and very clean .As reviewed earlier towels were a bit greyish in colour but no stains were there.Room service was very quick.We ordered food at 11,oclock at night and got it within 10 minutes.Waiters in the restaurant were very friendly and courteous.Compared to other beachfront resturents food in their ITALIAN restaurant was comparitively less expensive.Their oven baked pizza, fish and chips, italian food was really tasty and in ample quantity. As the resort is very big you are never short of space.The only complaint is that the front desk receptonists were not that friendly but the hotel is located in such a good place, their resturent facing the legian beach and value for money that at the end of the day you really dont carefor minor unfriendly attitude. You may get many beachfront hotels in Legian but Kumala Pantai is the cheapest four star hotel available.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pialeebnrji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We have stayed 3 times now at KP in the last 3 years and I never get tired of the hotel. I have been going to Bali annually for the last 7 years and stayed at some lovely hotels, which have cost me $$$$ but the location of KP is fantastic, the price is very reasonable, the rooms are comfortable, clean and have everything you need. The pools and gardens are beautiful, breakfast is basic but sufficient and included in the room rate, the pool menu and food in the restaurant is good. It is just across the road from the beach and within easy walking distance to Kuta via the beach front. The staff are mostly friendly and we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaterinaC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.2 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#25 of 86 in Legian
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.1 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 86 in Legian
2,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kumala Hotel
Kumala Hotel
#150 of 251 in Kuta
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Property: Hotel Kumala Pantai
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuta
#40 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing