We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value - Kumala Pantai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kumala Pantai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Ranked #35 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value - Kumala Pantai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

We were travelling for leisur to Bali and stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is right by the beach. Large and clean room, nice gardens, wonderful breakfast sitting outdoor, very friendly staff. There are many restaurants and shops nearby.

It is a great place to stay. We highly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    367
    113
    29
    18
See reviews for
253
238
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Kumala Pantai Hotel Legian Bali April 2009

Telephone: [--]
Website: www.kumalapantai.com

The hotel is located in Legian Bali on Jalan Werkudara. The hotel is reasonable large and rooms are divided into different blocks named after various entities. There are three storeys to each block. All rooms have air conditioning, balcony and bathroom. The gardens are luxuriant with stone paths and numerous ponds filled with fish. There are two pools with shallow water at the extreme end of the pool and a toddler’s pool attached. The pool bar provides a pool towel, food and drinks. The older pool has large trees surrounding it which provide shade at various times of the day.

Internet connection is available free at the restaurant and at a fee for your room. Service is good and friendly.

The breakfast is a buffet style served at the restaurant at the beach front of the hotel.

There are good restaurants to the north side of the beach exit of the hotel. On the street exit there are various shops and restaurants in either direction, the street (jalan) is narrow here so beware of traffic. The Pemata Bank is to the south on the street exit, and then first right and on your left after 10 metres. They do not change travellers cheques. The money changers in the area are highly skilled at giving incorrect money on exchanging so beware.


Worse points: construction at front of hotel has resulted in stagnant pools of water that were riddled with mosquitoes. Coils were provided and the hotel was sprayed in the early hours of the morning.

Best points: location to beach and beach side restaurants: nice pools with plenty of shade.

Worse points: mosquitoes until they clean up the pools of water

Helpful?
7 Thank rockterrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

We arrived at reception some two hours after we were expected around 2am, to be greated with lovely smiles and a quick checkin - everything was organised and there was no hold ups at all - we were in our rooms within 15 minutes of arriving. This efficiency set the tone for the rest of our stay (12 nights in total). My husband and I had a Deluxe room in B block on the top floor and as organised with the staff prior to our arrival My son and his wheelchair bound partner where given a ground floor room in A Block with a lovely outlook. The extra bed for their young son was also there set up and ready for him to fall into.
The rooms where clean and comfortable and serviced daily. Room service was quick and food always hot. Full buffet breakfast was included in the cost which was about $70/night AUD. I found there was enough of a range for me not to be bored with what was on offer and you could have your eggs done anyway you liked on the spot.
The swimming pools where lovely although my preference was for the larger pool - it was never crowded no matter how many people were there.
I found the staff all friendly and always ready with a quick smile and hello, willing to do whatever they could to make your stay pleasant.
Whilst we were there they were upgrading the pathways to match the newer section of the hotel - at all times they were careful not to let this become a difficulty for people staying in the hotel.
They have recently added spa facilities to this hotel which i used several times. I didn't find them anymore expensive than any of the other quality spa's in the area and the 2 hour relaxation massage was brilliant.
All in all I was extremely pleased with this hotel and thank all previous reviewers for their comments which helped us decide to stay at this hotel.
regards
Redned

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Redned08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

We were there for 2 nights, the hotel is close to everything. Breakfast is served opposite the beach with a huge variety of food to choose from. The rooms are simple and clean. They have good security around the hotel. The hotel is a walking distance to shops & restaurants. We had a great time staying here!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anxi0us_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

We were lucky to find this hotel from tripadvisor. We are travelling for a long time and don't want to spend too much on hotels, but since we were in Bali, we wanted to splurge on a beach resort with all the comforts and amenities of a resort. Kumala Pantai fit the bill.

For about $55 USD, we got a spacious room, in a hotel with good service, and a nice pool. The breakfast buffet is also very good. Hot breakfasts with all the juice, breads, and fruits you want (and omelette station too). There is also free wifi in the cafe and you can purchase wifi cards to use the computer in your room.

Don't expect a 5 star resort or a trendy boutique resort. But for a 3-star hotel price, you definetely get your money's worth with a 4 star full-service beach resort type hotel. The service is also great and the people are friendly. It's nice to know that once you have stepped into the confines of the hotel, that you won't be touted or pestered anymore.

As for the area it is located in. It is a bit far from central Kuta (short taxi ride needed) but closer to seminyak (trendy area with good boutiques and restaurants). This may not be the best choice for a bunch of party animals who want to be footsteps away from the pubs and bars, but it is an excellent choice for families and people who don't mind being a little further away with the rest of the larger resorts. It is also right on the beach and directly positioned in front of all the central Kuta surf spots and surf schools

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BWMarkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

On the word of mouth recommendation of a colleague who managed only to walk through the grounds to inspect, I booked a twin room for my mother and I for three days. Everything was beautiful, clean and orderly. Staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was plentiful and varied- impressive for a 3 star establishment. Although we never used it, the swimming pool looked amazing with lots of shady and sunny spots. The restaurant served reasonably priced, but very tasty meals. Security was very friendly and on constant patrol. My only small gripes were my noisy AC unit and the fact that it would have been handy to have lifts to my third floor room. Less mobile travellers may want to be aware of this when making reservations, it became very difficult for my mother on certain days. Also, the wi-fi was not working while I was there. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this place. It is the perfect location with a great price.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodWillHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed at the KP for 9 nights after reading the reviews. Our Junior suite in the new S block was beyond our expectations and on first impressions was exceptional value for the money. The rooms were almost new and beautifully appointed, the bedroom was large and very comfortable, the bathroom was also ample size with a double shower and separate bath. There was also a separate living area with 4 plush chairs, a coffee table and dining table. Both rooms opened straight onto one of the magnificent pools complete with swim up pool bar. Having stayed at around a dozen different hotels in Bali I must say that I was somewhat surprised not only by the quality but also the price. We payed about $110 AU per night including breakfast for the room and from that point it was surprisingly good value. Now for the downside..................if only someone would iron out the small things that spoiled the experience.
1. The rooms on the lower level all had a disgusting smell eminating from the drains in the bathroom. Had to burn incence constantly to mask it.
2. The owner of the hotel is apparently a member of the Bali Tango Club and allowed the upper level of the only restaurant in the resort to be used for dance practice regularly. The dance practice music was loud, annoying and competing with the softer music played downstairs. The area was not accessible for hours at a time which is a shame as the view from the upper level is over the beach and the guests were denied the enjoyment.
3.The buffet breakfast was ordinary by Bali standards and the atmosphere and layout of the restaurant was lacking.

We have mixed feelings about the experience and would say despite the quality of the rooms and the grounds felt that the small things let them down.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mannalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.3 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#29 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
FuramaXclusive Ocean Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Property: Hotel Kumala Pantai
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Kuta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing