We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Ranked #31 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our first trip to Bali (7 of us- three rooms) and this hotel was beautiful. Air conditioned rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Two beautiful pools, loved the swim up bar and breakfast was delicious each morning. Hotel is across the road from the beach and close to all the shopping chaos. Loved Briella spa directly across the road- bargain prices. Wonderful holiday and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were top floor overlooking pool and we could see the fireworks from our bed each night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 808 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here on recommendation of a work friend, was totally over my normal digs in Poppies II. I liked it. Its pretty much right on the beach, the hotel is very long so if you're up near reception - which we were, its still quite a walk but a pleasant one. The rooms are large and clean, we were on the first floor in a west facing room initially and we both commented how there was no Bali musty smell. I had to move rooms after my partner left due to someone had specifically requested that room previously - anyway, when I moved just downstairs to a ground floor, the bed had that musty smell. We were a bit miffed because the pool in the picture had a swim up bar and there wasn't one, it wasn't until the second last day we found another whole area with a second pool - there was the swim up bar! The breakfast is good, don't rely on the wifi. It was out of order half the time. Don't bring too many clothes, there's one tiny wardrobe with hanging and 2 shelves, no drawers, one luggage rack and that's it. Its a good area with lots of restaurants and day spas. Be wary of the money changer in the quilt shop Jl Werkudara. When we called his bluff he refused to change our money. He was ripping us off $30 - oldest trick in the book, didn't fall for it this time.

Room Tip: There's more privacy on the first or second floor so you can leave your balcony doors open for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great hotel, rooms are a great size as we needed an extra bed in the room and there was plenty of space to move around. Bathrooms were also quiet large and very nice. All the rooms have huge animal carvings on the wall, ours was a Komodo dragon which freaked our daughter out a bit, we had to throw a sarong over it which made the cleaners laugh :-) Breakfast buffet was great and sitting at the out side area was lovely as you could watch the surf. The only downside about breakfast was the crowd, but it is a large resort so i guess that's to be expected, just don't be in a hurry to order your eggs as there was a big line up, Personally, i really think they needed to guys cooking the eggs. The 2 pools are great except, there are a lot of shaded areas around the pool and a lot of the guests would get up really early in the morning to reserve their seats, one lady told me she had put her things on the seat at 4.30am so she could get the one she liked, she wasn't the only one .. I have stayed at many hotels in Bali but i have never seen a hotel where so many people do this... and what really bugged me was by 7am all the seats were practically taken and half those guests came back around 2pm. The hotel guests are mainly Aussies so, if you want to feel a bit of home stay here. It really is good value for money..I went through Agoda as they had the best deal. I always wanted to stay here and i'm glad i did but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: all rooms are pretty much near the pool. we stayed up stairs but if i had the choice the ground leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsgo2bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Second time at this hotel ( first for my husband) and again..had a wonderful stay! Holidayed with three other couples and we were in rooms next to each other in B block. Staff really helpful, nothing too much trouble! One handy hint...ladies, if you have a flip phone cover with room to put your credit cards etc, DO NOT put cards in the phone cover....the magnet that holds the cover together wipes the info from the card....it took 3 trips to reception to discover this as I kept getting locked out of the room as my key card was wiped! But no trouble, the staff were really helpful & replaced the cards no problem!

Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of foods to suit everyone...their potato wedges are very tasty! Rooms cleaned every day, if we were in, the staff returned later so as not to disturb us! Shower very powerful.

Location opposite the beach was superb for people watching., and extremely handy. Twice weekly, the restaurant put on a show, with band and dancers, which was good fun. Two pools, visited the smaller one with the swim up bar, which was great. Pool snacks tasty. Location handy for shopping, the spa has excellent treatment packages and the hairdresser was very good, my friend had her hair cut for a fraction of the cost of Australian hairdressers and looked really good!

Will definitely return here again, and will recommend Kumala Pantai to friends. One of the couples we holidayed with stay here twice a year, every year so that says it all really!

Room Tip: B block over looking the pool are great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ScotlandNewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 4 times prior to 2007. Having stayed at many hotels around legian (24 trips)

We find that for the price offered, this hotel is still the best.

Staff are still great, mostly the same ones from our last trip, and the gardens have grown

beautifully

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pom_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Second time staying at the Kumala. Lovely staff and a perfect location. Only thing is people reserving pool beds early in the morning, especially during busy times, should have a time limit if beds are not used for a certain time they should be made available. The rooms are perfect size and cleaned each day. Staff always speak and are friendly. Will certainly stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carlz1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 12 nights during September on the top floor in H block. Room was incredibly quiet, no street noise or noisy hotel guests. Although slightly tired (small cracks etc) the room was large, clean and well maintained and serviced daily. Bed and pillows comfortable, never had a bad nights sleep. Regularly used the beautiful pools and whilst some people do hog the chairs all day, never found it too difficult to get a sun lounge. Beach front restaurant was good, breakfast basic and this is the one area where I feel there could be some improvement. Food quality at lunch and dinner was nice given the price, great setting for people watching and sunset. Will definitely stay here again, very difficult to fault this hotel, other than no free wifi!! They even took care of our bags whilst we visited Gili Trewangan for a couple of days after we checked out. We are a young couple that are frequent travellers to Bali, didn't seem to be many other people in our category within the hotel, lots of young families from Australia
and groups of retirees.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.2 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#29 of 87 in Legian
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.1 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kumala Hotel
Kumala Hotel
#157 of 253 in Kuta
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#7 of 87 in Legian
1,186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 87 in Legian
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuta
#40 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $67 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing