We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with quiet pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kumala Pantai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Ranked #34 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location with quiet pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family and I (two teenage children) stayed here over New Year's eve 2012. Fantastic location, walk to everything. We booked directly with the hotel and got an 'apartment' at the very last minute, for a reasonable rate, considering the time of year we were visiting. The 'apartments' are located at the back end of the resort, however it's only a short stroll through the lovely resort garden to reach the restaurant and beach front.

The advantage of the apartment at the back of the resort is that it's very easy to taxi in and out of the place, plus you can walk out the back and straight into spas and restaurants etc without fighting off the crowd along the beachfront.

The staff are very friendly, food was nice and the rooms are maintained well.

As a special surprise treat, the staff left party hats and long blower tooters for us to take out to party at the local bars for new year's eve.

We particularly loved that the pool area was clean and very quiet, no crowds and always plenty of sunbeds available.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: apartment 1 had two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large combined lounge/dining/kitchen, super roomy. Apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy_onhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    367
    113
    29
    18
See reviews for
253
238
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Everytime I visited Bali, I always stay here. Warm and friendly staffs. Clean big room with nice balcony and comfy bed. Hotel keep their beautiful tropical garden clean and maintained.. Bathroom has separate shower and tub. Love the granite floor in the room. Have big 2 swimming pools. Breakfast has variety of foods blended with Asian and Continental foods. Nice restaurant facing the beach. Great pizza at their Italian restaurant. In the evening they have Balinese dancing performance at their restaurant. Also life band. Good entertaining.

Hotel location is just walking distance to any café, bars, shoppings, local restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ida2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed 12 nights here and i believe if you are after a family holiday on a budget this is the hotel. We stayed in an ambassador suite ( and i believe for what we paid is great value). My two daughters had their own room - with bathroom. There was a spacious lounge area with kitchen table and then we had our own room and bathroom. For around $3000 with breakfast and all this space to live in we were very happy. If you are after luxury and five star amenities then this hotel is not for you. But if you want value for money, good service and not living on top of each other in the evenings and early mornings think about this hotel. The breakfast is nothing flash, but had the egg man (as well as scrambled eggs in the buffet) pancakes, fruits, toast etc, all the usual stuff, we were always full but have had better breakfasts in Bali. The restaurant where you eat is right in front of the beach and makes for lovely dining. The pool areas were lovely, they both have a shallow area for the young ones. One pool has the swim up bar the other does not but does have an area where you can order drinks and food etc. Didnt find the staff over friendly but this didnt effect my stay. Some of the pool towels were old but like i said this is not a five star hotel and you get what you pay for. The rooms were cleaned everyday and i found the rooms in general well kept. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and where we stayed in B block could not here any outside noise. This hotel is in a great location for restaurants on the beach and a short stroll to the markets and shops of Legian. The hotel does not have a kids club but found their were always different families and children at the pool and my kids always had someone to play with. On two ocassions we did take a short walk to the mandira to swim in their pool as they have two cool slides and a beach pool. We all enjoyed our stay at the Kumula Pantai and we would definitely return in the future. !!

Room Tip: if you're a family ask for the ambassador room - plenty of room for a family. Two bathrooms - v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sah19977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in August. Lovely grounds, 2 good size pools. We stayed in room 'Y 11" Y block over looks the main bigger pool, Every room in this block has views to the main pool from their balcony. The front door view was to the staff carpark area, I did hear a little bit of noise from scooters at night as there is a small lane way that runs up the side of the hotel. While the room could do with a paint, we found the bed and the pillows very comfortable, the bath towels were all new and in good condition. The pool towels were old and worn. Food is just average, I was hoping for some banana pancakes for breakfast but they didnt offer that in the buffet menu. Overall this hotel is good value for the 1.2 million per night we paid

Room Tip: Y block over looks the main pool. I think B block would be the quietest if thats what your after
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Every time I stay here, I always check out other hotels in the area, and I just cannot find a better
Hotel in that price range and location. The rooms, although dated, are large, clean and have a balcony. Some rooms are better located and have a more private balcony than others, but this is a personal preference. I stayed there for 3 nights ( just got back ) and although I also stayed in much more upmarket resorts in Sanur and Ubud, I really like this hotel . I love being opposite the beach
and being near restaurants and shops.

If you want personal service, concierge, etc this is not the hotel for you. The front desk is not that helpful. My husband tried to call my room via the front desk from Australia a number of times, and they could not understand him and he could not get through to me. A package left at reception was not delivered to me until I chased it up.

However, these are things that I can overlook.The pools are always very clean, grounds well kept
and most staff are friendly. The restaurant serves reasonably priced good food and offers live music several times per week. I always email the hotel directly to book and they are prompt to reply.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesMlbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for a friends 40th. On arrival check-in was smooth- no welcome drink or cool towels offered-but not a big concern. Our room was located on the 5th floor -H block,& although we occasionally heard scooters they did not interrupt our sleep. Beds comfortable & air-con just ok.
Rooms were large, clean & bathrooms were of a very good size- included both a separate shower & bath, linen was a little tired. Breakfast was ok, not a huge amount of variety and we felt could get monotonous after 4-5 days. We did see some hairs & a few crumbs in our bed on the 1st night but we had taken over a room that was previously occupied by friends (not there hair) so have put it down to a staff member with loose hair?
On the whole, the hotel is situated on a great location-near great restaurants, the pools were clean & refreshing & we got a very good room rate. It is situated near other hotels where you would be paying easily twice the room rate. The mini bar & pool fare is very affordable.
We sampled the spa for a couple massage and it was clean and very relaxing- again value for money.
I would consider staying again for a good price - especially if breakfast could be improved! Certainly worth considering for a Legian beach front location.

Room Tip: Near the pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Booked through Expedia for an extended long weekend, Thursday till Tuesday. On arrival all good, shown to a nice large room, if anything a touch dated, but very clean and lovely, nice friendly staff with good helpful explanations and no ridiculous demands. Meaning they had no issues with taking the drinks out of the mini bar etc. In fact we went to the local Mini Mart and purchased our own provisions and they helped carry them to the room.
Breakfast supplied and we were given the vouchers for the main restaurant, which is open from 7:30am till around 10:30am. On the first day it had been raining in the morning and most of the outside area was quite wet, however in Bali this is not an issue and we had a great breakfast over looking the wonderful beach. Nice rolling breakers and just a gentle puff of breeze to be totally enchanting. The food was beautiful every morning of our stay. I am an addict of Papaya and when it is fresh with just a squeeze of lime, I am in heaven, well I was for the 5 days. Also the spread was large and if any areas were a bit suss, then the croissants were not that great, but fresh cooked omelettes were just gorgeous, 9 out of 10 for the breakfast.
I am led to believe there are 2 pools, but we only found one, not that we went looking for the other. This was lovely and at no times were we left looking for a lounge and it was not noisy and the lay out was great.
In summary we would highly recommend this hotel and hope that we have no difficulty in getting reservations on the near future, we are planning our next trip. A great spot and I think my highlight was just walking over the road for a nice swim at the beach before breakfast, just wonderful and relaxing.

Room Tip: We were close to the restaurant and could get the free WiFi most of the time, quit handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megawat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.3 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#29 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
FuramaXclusive Ocean Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Property: Hotel Kumala Pantai
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Kuta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing