We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Ranked #32 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We got back yesterday from an 8 night stay at the Kumala Pantai and loved it. We had adjoining rooms, one for us and the adjoining one for our two teenage daughters. We paid $90 per night per room with breakfast included so great value for money.

I didn't give 5 stars because the lobby is uninviting, dark and cluttered but don't let this first impression put you off. The rest of the hotel, grounds and pools are beautiful.

Yes the towels are old but they're just like old towels we all have at home, they're worn but they're clean and the do the job. The rooms are cool, clean and the bathrooms are big. A bit of mildew here and there but nothing to complain about. This hotel is great value for money considering we paid more for a 4 person room at the Bali Dynasty 2 years ago and although I would've given the Dynasty 4 1/2 stars you are paying a lot more for that hotel.

The location of the Kumala Pantai is great and their staff in the restaurants, grounds and the cleaners were all very friendly and helpful. The desk staff not so helpful as others have said, perhaps though it's due to the lobby, lol.

At the street entrance you can hop across the road to a little internet/laundry shop and the laundry service here is great. I had 7 items of clothing washed, ironed and packaged smelling lovely and fresh for IDR 20,500 (about $2-80 AUD) so I went back all week, fantastic value.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor of H block at the street end of the hotel because they were the last room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LavenderGirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    368
    115
    29
    18
See reviews for
255
239
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our friends have stayed at the Kumala for years and we just returned from our second stay with a large group of friends. Enjoyed the ground floor Y block last time, and top floor of S this time (I prefer the latter - nice breeze in the evening, treetop and sky view, but my husband preferred ground floor on Y - each to his own!). Staff are always friendly, rooms clean, gardens gorgeous and lush, breakfasts quite adequate and other meals very good. We enjoyed some terrific music in the restaurant in the evenings. Location is perfect to access the beach, small local shops, and you're close to shopping centres and other major attractions. Problem with our air con was fixed promptly. We love the spa there - high quality services, peaceful setting. As other reviewers have mentioned, only negative is the towels which are shabby and let this place down, and people leaving towels on pool chairs early in the morning but not showing up until after 1 pm. Pretty annoying! Love the Kumala.

Room Tip: Top floor bright but perhaps not great if you have problem climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TransPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been trying to get a room here for a few years, but never been lucky. I chose to stay our first 4 nights here just to try the hotel as i usually stay in other hotels along this street. We had a room in Y Block, i liked this location as it was close to the front of hotel for a quick access to the street. We tend to use this entrance more so then the beach entrance. We had a view of the large pool. Lovely huge balcony. The room was large, we had a fold out bed for our son also. Still plenty of room to move. Room was clean.

Breakfast was fine, enough choices for a short stay. Lovely to eat outside with the beach in view. We also ate at the Italian restaurant one night and food was good.

Pool looked very inviting, was so huge. Unfortunately i didn't get the chance for a swim, too busy shopping. I noticed people were putting their towels on the sun beds and then going off for the day. In the afternoon the pool was very busy. Had a kids section down one end which my son used.

Gardens are well maintained. Staff were friendly. I would stay here again if i could get a room to suit my dates.

Well located with plenty of restaurants, spas and shops close by. I used Briella spa opposite which was lovely.

Room Tip: I liked Y Block for easy access to street. Depends where you like to be. Other rooms looked equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nessbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthWA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times now and will keep going back. Staff are very helpful and it is always clean and tidy there. A number of different room types to suit everyone. The suites are amazing, and a little kitchenette would make it even better. However, as room service is really cheap there is no need to "do" for yourself. Pools are amazing, and long enough to have a decent swim. Plenty of good places to eat around there, and the usual shopping markets etc. a much better proposition than staying right in the heart of Kuta. It's about a 20 minute ride to discovery and. Matahari shopping mall. Cost is rp70,000 from the airport in one of the bluebird taxis. Breakfast is good and the view is to die for in the mornings!

Room Tip: SG block seems to be the newest ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

stayed here for first two weeks in may in junior suite. at check-in staff were very helpful and this remained with all staff throughout our stay. room is serviced daily to our expectations. free breakfast was included and found it very adequate with plenty of choice. the hotel probably could do with an update such as new towels and maintenance on pool as many tiles are lifting off. position was good for cheap shopping and many eaterys and has beach frontage. our only complaint would be about the selfish/rude people who put towels etc on the pool furniture early in the morning to reserve them and then only turn up for half hour late in afternoon. this is a poor practice in the tourism industry that should be stopped.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at The Kumala Pantai Hotel and resort again and enjoyed it as much as always.We had room SG12 and it was perfect avove the pool on the 1st floor if you don't mind stairs as this resort does not have lifts.This was my 5th stay over the years.The breakfast choices are not very exciting but was all we needed.Across the small road to the beach which you overlook while having your meal watching the crashing waves.The gardens at night are beautifully lit and there are two pools.Well done Kumala again.

Room Tip: The best blocks are SG,S,B,A,Y.The SG and S blocks surround the deepest and quietest pool and are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is okay but not sure why it rates so well compared to others. Service was lackluster, rooms a bit tired, and bathroom smelled. We had to negotiate a move to get the ground floor as my friend has bad knees, and could only get a double with a roll away bed put in. Moved after four nights as it wasn't as good as we were hoping. Breakfast is good, location is excellent, and price okay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jdys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.2 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#30 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.2 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
FuramaXclusive Ocean Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Property: Hotel Kumala Pantai
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Kuta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing