We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Ranked #30 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We checked in late for 1 night. This is our 3rd time at this hotel. But definitely our last. At the time of booking, we informed the staff we will be paying by cash when we arrived but we have no problem securing a booking with a credit card, in case we don't show up. But they went ahead to charge the card on the day of booking and refused to void the payment claiming it cannot be done, although we know it can.

The room layout is alright but the sink is built for giants. The bed is really bad. Looks good but I can feel the springs through the mattress. The pillows are so soft, that when I lie down, I felt as if I was in the hair salon having my hair washed. It was not the case when I last stayed but then I was given another wing. I had a terrible neck problem the next day.

If you can, avoid any calls made from hotels. We had an emergency problem and our mobile SIM card don't seemed to work. We were charged for 3 calls although 2 of them had no response. Explanations to the front desk were no use, they refused to entertain or listen to guest genuine answers.

We were to book for one more night but, needless to say we took our business elsewhere. We will never return.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank twofeathersSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 809 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

if you looking for a place to sleep for a short time then this is your hotel.

The room is clean, the pool is always crowded and the A/C is cool after you keep it on for about few hours. But beware that the staff is not really friendly. i kept thinking positive that the staff is really tired after working all day LOL.

the restaurant is very cheap and their pizza's and gelato is superb. The breakfast is not something you look forward. But don't worry, lots of restaurant around the hotel and worth to try. A mini market and ATM available just few steps from the hotel.

overall it is very-very average hotel with great ocean view restaurant. I am sure there is still better choices around but if i wanted to relax all day in the beach without bothering their unfriendly staff, i will think about to staying here again. And the towel is fine, not great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittycat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Initial impressions were good - friendly staff a pleasant, almost peaceful atmosphere in the outdoor grounds of the hotel, particularly in comparison with the buzz of the surrounding streets. The room itself would have been fine, had it been clean. It was filthy with drains that overflowed over the bathroom floor and stinking bed sheets and pillows. Although housekeeping visited each day and sprayed fragrance in the room, they unfortunately did not seem to clean. The nauseating smell of mould and toxic strong fragrances was disturbingly strong, particularly in the bed linen and pillows. I politely asked the reception staff whether we could change rooms and all she could suggest was that they send someone to spray more fragrance in the room. We were so keen to get out of this hotel that we went to the airport 4 hours early, and what a pleasant relief the lovely clean premium lounge was!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mo0o0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We recently stayed here for 5 nights with our 3 teens in interconnecting rooms. We couldn't fault this hotel. The rooms were large and the bathrooms really spacious, we were in block H. The breakfasts, included in the price were really good and the food and drinks at the pool and restaurants were really very reasonably priced. The towels, which many have complained about were great. We went to the Hyatt after this in Sanur and payed nearly double for inferior rooms with no breakfast included. This hotel is great for families with teens, our kids loved all the shops around and could explore without us. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DIXIEMUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed at the Kumala Pantai for six nights late March/early April. It was our fourth trip to Bali but the first time at this hotel. After reading many reviews, I was nervous about the towels, but either the hotel has purchased new ones or everyone who complained about the state of the towels has ridiculously high expectations. The rooms were great, the gardens lush & well maintained and both pools were clean. Room service and pool side service is the same price as the fabulous in-house Italian restaurant and is not plus, plus, so is great value for money. Briella Spa is across the road and offers well priced treatments. We ate at nearby Yuts Restaurant on the recommendation of other reviewers on Tripadvisor and would have to say it was the worst meal we have ever had in Bali. Processed chicken when we ordered Schnitzel and Cordon Bleu was not what we expected. Although Yuts was busy every night when we walked past, we would recommend the much quieter Thai restaurant Sawasdeekha across the road. Another hotel quest had recommended this to us and the food there was magnificant and well priced. We have previoulsy stayed at the Hard Rock, Padma and Melasti Beach but we would definately stay at KP next time we are in Bali.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank biscuitb0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Stayed with our 3 year old in an Ambassador suite (a Junior suite with and adjoining deluxe room). Our rooms were massive but on the second floor which can be a bit of a struggle with small children. The room was cleaned beautifully everyday but as others have noted the room towels are old and small, we just asked housekeeping for extras everyday and it was no problem. We found the beds a bit hard for our liking but not unbearable. We were in the NS block which is nearest the restaurant and in the evenings you could hear the entertainment which may bother some but not us, usually all over by 10pm. The pools are large and relaxing but deep which meant one of us had to be in the pool at all times with our young one. The pool towels are huge and thick. The Italian restuarant on the beachside (where breakfast is served) was a great location to sit any time of day and enjoy the weather and the view. It was well priced for a hotel restuarant and well used by non-guests which is a sign a of decent restaurant. The room service menu was the same as the restaurant and priced the same which was a bonus at lunch when a 3 year old is sleeping. Located towards the end of Legian we were still able to make the 3km walk from the hotel to Kuta Square one evening along the road and beach paths. There are plenty of great places to eat within walking distance (a few hundred metres) on Jalan Legian, Jalan Padma or Double Six. The Briella Spa, just outside the main entrance on Jalan Padma is also well worth a visit (or 4 according to my wife). Overall a great hotel for everthing we wanted to do in Bali, relax-eat-pamper. Would return to this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank The_Travelling_Ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

As we were holidaying with another family who had already booked their accommodation, our first preference was to stay together at the same hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel they had booked (Kusnadi) was not available, so I began to search through endless reviews hoping to find the perfect venue close by.

Having narrowed our choice down to Kumala Pantai along with a few others, the only really negative feedback I came across was about the towels (we could just buy some if that was a problem, but it wasn't) and unfriendly staff (who could resist my charm?). The photographs I came across (not only on Trip Advisor) looked amazing (I just hoped they hadn't been photo-shopped).

We made our booking direct with the hotel (Luhnik and Desi were prompt with communication) and even had to urgently extend our stay due to a last minute flight change - with no problem at all.

When we arrived (around 11am Bali time), understandably our room wasn't ready. We were a little concerned about leaving our bags in the lobby and returned 2 more times before we could settle in. When we were finally taken to our room tucked away in the corner of the bottom floor of A Block, we were just a little disappointed. Although the room looked just like the pics on the net, we were not happy with the room location. I immediately visited the Reception, kindly asking for another room location (with a view of the pool), which we were offered on the top floor of B Block without any problems whatsoever. The only issue was carrying our luggage and endless purchases up 40 stairs to the 3rd floor, but it was worth it (not to mention how the stairs might have contributed to losing a couple of extra kg's.)

The Ristorante Italia was superb; full buffet breakfast included with our accommodation was fit enough to feed a King. We ate all 3 meals there on our second day, as we were confined to the hotel for Nyepi Day. We also dined for tea on a couple of occasions, lucky enough to enjoy the entertainment a couple of times. And who couldn't resist one of their wood oven pizzas on a room service visit?

The pool was awesome - no matter how many people were splashing about, it could never get full... and even when there were no more spots to relax by the poolside, you could just meander over to the OTHER pool and have a drink or 2 at the swim up bar.
The gardens were exquisite - my daughter especially loved walking the stepping stones across the enormous fish pond.

The staff were exceptional; everyone was welcoming, friendly and responsive to requests. If you weren't greeted first, it was only because they were busy, but a quick Selamat Pagi would put a smile on their face. The Security Staff came to know us quite well, and promised to keep an eye out for my friend and me on our late night escapes to Briella Spa across the road. A special mention to Mega, who tried so hard to reassure me during the Tsunami threat; to the gorgeous porter boy who always wore white and escorted me to reception under his umbrella on a rainy night.

I can honestly say this venue more than met our expectations - we will definitely stay here again. The only slightly negative things I will mention is the bed is as hard as rock (some might like it that way), it would have been nice to have a separate room for our daughter (a little romance would be nice, but that costs $) and the bathroom towels were small but still dried your body after a shower.

I would also like to mention my friends only stayed 4 nights at Kusnadi before deciding to check out and join us at Kumala Pantai, but I'll let them tell you why...!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jack-Jack-Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Kumala Hotel
Kumala Hotel
#161 of 252 in Kuta
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#28 of 87 in Legian
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#9 of 252 in Kuta
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuta
#40 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $67 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing