We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem with ideal location.”
Review of Secret Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 282 Kuta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Parkes NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem with ideal location.”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have been spending the Australian Winter Months in Bali since the year 2000 in Legian Street Kuta. After the tragic bombing we were eventually forced to look for alternative accommodation and were fortunate enough to find this Gem called "The Secret Garden Inn" off Poppies Lane 1. The Inn is a three level construction consisting of some 40 units built around a central large deep crystal clear pool with lush garden surrounding it. The accommodation varies from rooms to apartments;single beds, doubles and family rooms etc.,these units are provided with a/c, a punker fan, large fridge, phone, bed side tables, reading lamps, ample wardrobes drawers, shelves, desk, TV, security safe, ensuite - outside, your own private Lanai with two wooden armchairs and a table. The rooms are serviced daily with change of linen and towels. Breakfast is served from 7.30am till 10am by cheerful smiling staff, efficiently. Many extras are available if you wish. They have a daily paper delivered also a free exchange library in multi languages. Drinks are available. The advantage of staying at the Inn, is the proximity to the many eateries and bars clustered around this area, easy walking distance to Kuta Beach one end Legian Street the other or to network through to Poppies 11. We have enjoyed Months of our Winter Escape at the Secret Garden for the Past five years.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    27
    3
    13
See reviews for
46
60
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

For over 60's only ! rules and regulations everywhere , we were too messy apparently the last time we stayed. The owners are old and grumpy , beds are horrible the linen is smelly.
Only has location going for it , ive been to bali 11 times for personel reasons , check out the maharani hotel right on the beach for a seaview also you only pay an extra 50,000.
In fact even if i was over 60 I still would not consider staying there , boring and dull , I totally agree with the other lengthy negative post , signs allover the joint telling you what you cannot do.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maddyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

It is an acceptable accommodation with great location, acceptably clean

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asujantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2009

After staying mostly at 4/5 star hotels in Bali I was a little hesitant BUT I had a lovely surprise. The hotel is situated just off Poppies 1 , literally hidden away behind 2 glass doors.Once you walk in the garden and pool area is beautiful. We had a ground floor room which was quite spacious. The rooms are air conditioned, with a decent size fridge and a safe. The bathroom is not the best( we got used to it and it would not stop me from staying there again), but everything else about this hotel is great. The price is fantastic and even included a decent breakfast. The staff are just wonderful, always up for a chat and a laugh and there wasn't anything they wouldn't do for you. All in all I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We’ve been to Bali several Times, this is the first time at the Secret Garden, I was concerned when I saw the place from the outside as it does not look much but very surprised when we checked to find comfortable clean rooms with good air conditioning, large fridge and beautiful pool with small but nicely maintained tropical gardens.
The Staff and management were very helpful and friendly in every way, nothing was too much. I would recommend the hotel to friends and relatives for value for money accommodation close to everything you need for a good Bali holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANNING VALE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I loved this hotel it is in a exellent location if you like peace after the shopping this hotel is for you Very friendly staff could not do enough for you.
I have been to Bali 6 times now and i think this hotel was me all over.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Got picked up from the airport, hotel basic but clean and close to everything, breakfast included. The only thing there was not enough sunbeds in the actual sun as the pool is fairly sheltered with trees. Close to the beach and shopping, not far to walk to the middle of kuta markets, Staff friendly, I asked for a taxi on my last morning to transfer to another hotel as they were full, and was told that taxis wont come down poppies1, so a staff member had a "friend" who would take me but I had to barter, I would stay there again, I have been to Bali 12 times and stayed at many hotels Joy Adelaide

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joybel112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#10 of 253 in Kuta
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#43 of 253 in Kuta
2,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#21 of 253 in Kuta
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#20 of 253 in Kuta
5,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Inn

Property: Secret Garden Inn
Address: Poppies Lane I, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean and quiet budget hotel nestled down in the popular Poppies 1 Lane, Kuta, Bali ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Hotel Kuta
Secret Garden Inn Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing