We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secret Garden Inn
Nearby Hotels
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$530
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kuta Paradiso Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$89
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Bali(Kuta)
$166
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$77
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bali Dynasty Resort Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$100
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$71
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Bali Kuta Resort(Kuta)
$180
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Inna Kuta(Kuta)(Great Value!)
$89
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
93
84
29
5
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
84
29
5
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeep poolpoppies lanebedroom bungalowlarge fridgepool towels are providedmy home away from homehot and cold waterbudget hotelwashing machinerooms are basica king size bedflat screen tvfamily roomtop floorwould stay againmini martstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 225 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Secret garden is a lovely little hotel in the heart of Kuta. A little oasis. The rooms are spotless. There is a huge fridge with a freezer box which is brilliant for your own drinks and ice etc. Also there is a small safe in every room.
The rooms have all been recently renovated, with flat screen TV and new artwork and lamps.
The pool is the coolest in town, due to its depth ( 7ft ish with no shallow parts) and is well maintained. Take care with kids! There are sun loungers and umbrellas round the pool, with flowering trees all around.
Breakfast is substantial, eggs any style with toast and fruit, and you can also get bacon and sausages etc for a nominal fee.
The staff are always willing to help. They are friendly and efficient and always go the extra mile for their guests.
We love Secret Garden and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel as an ideal base in Kuta.


Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank jakilowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I was going to stay here for 3 nights but the noise from the bar next door was unbearable so I left after one night. I had family & friends stay here for a couple of nights before I arrived and they also left early due to the noise. Other than that it's in a good spot, has a clean pool and rooms and is ok for the money

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeMc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've been staying here since it was first open and will continue to stay here every year on my annual pilgrimage to Bali. It's a boutique hotel with the best staff I have ever en-counted in loads of travel. Such a quiet haven in the middle of the bigger and busier Kuta! Well designed rooms with big beds and heaps of storage space, bench space, draws etc. All luggage is easily put away in the wardrobe and out of sight until the rotten task of packing to leave. Hence, no falling over your cases! Australian run and owned, Peter (whom sadly is not with us now) did a marvelous job creating the hotel, also having Joan (Peters wife) to do such little touches which made a huge difference like big toilet roll's, nice tea, vegimite,brighter light bulbs and many more touches, these are big things that add. Now I believe Debbie is in charge and doing a wonderful job just like her mum. I will say the bathroom is not the best but it does it job, still enough to do freshening up. On a last note....the staff make staying here an absolute pleasurable experience
!!

Room Tip: Ground floor, shut the bathroom door and you hear nothing from outside.eg motorbikes etc!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gian a, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear JohnnyGoldcoast,

Your loyalty to our small hotel is greatly appreciated. It so pleasing to hear that The Secret Garden Inn meets all your expectations and more. We will continue to add the little touches to make your stay here always an enjoyable one.

Thankyou for the huge tick of gratitude for our staff. They appreciate their efforts being noticed.

Once again many many thanks for choosing The Secret Garden Inn as your preferrred choice of accomodation whilst in Bali and we hope you that you will be in Bali again soon.

The team at SGI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Thankyou again to Gian, Deb and all your staff. The little things your staff do for us as guests makes it feel like coming home rather than going away. From fixing computers to teaching us how to speak some Indonesian, they are a talented, friendly group of people. Wish I could bring them back with me.
The rooms are showing the little personal touches you guy's are making and will make in the future, there was a sign at reception some years ago that read, "Balinese culture Aussie clean" and it is, please let Wyan know he's doing a great job.
Secret Garden is not the Padma and never will be (We hope) but that's why we, as your guests come to Secret Garden, again and again. If you want to stay at the Padma, why not go to the Sheraton, stay at home and save the airfare! You will get a better bed at the Padma, but you wont enjoy the same feeling you get when Gusti or Made greet you after a day's sightseeing or shopping. The pricing is right, meets all expectations and more.
Speaking to many of your guest at breakfast and around the pool on my recent visit, only confirmed my opinion, this is a great place to stay, not for the opulence of the rooms and the dining area but for all the other things you look for in a relaxing holiday. To fellow guests, if your looking to party and get into the night life this is possibly not the place for you, if you need to relax by the pool but want to be close to everything and need to work within a small budget, this is the place for you. Will be back again in November, see you then. Kim P

Room Tip: Any of the pool side room's are the place to be, the first floor is also great with and excellent view looking over the pool, however there are stairs to negotiate after a long day out walking around, it's easier to slip of the T shirt and fall into the pool right next to your room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gian a, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Kim P,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and for such a glowing report. Every effort is made to make our guests feel at home and we appreciate that that is how we make you feel. The staff love to make our guests welcome and have a sincere warmth for their guests.

Thankyou for choosing the Secret Garden Inn and we hope that it will continue to be your home away from home. I have passed on your comments to Wayan and he is so pleased that his efforts do not go un-noticed by our guests. Terima Kasih from the team at the SGI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My first visit to the Secret Garden Inn but a many time visitor to Bali.
What a great find this hotel is!!! It was peaceful, very clean and great air-conditioning. What more can you want and only $40 per night with breakfast.
The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The Secret Garden is so convient to many good restaruants and bars and shops throughout Poppies 1.
The bathrooms are a little basic but the water is hot and it took no time for me to get used to them.
I like that this hotel has many time return guests who also love it there.
Will certainly not hesitate to stay at the Secret Garden Inn again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gian a, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Kerry p, Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. We are so glad that your discovered our little hideaway. Thankyou for recognising our friendly staff. They are always keen to make all our guests feel at home. Now that you have found us we hope we will see you again......and again.

Team at the SGI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews