We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret Garden Inn - an Oasis in Kuta Bali”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Secret Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 279 Kuta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Secret Garden Inn - an Oasis in Kuta Bali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Here is a small private delightful value for money place to stay so central so convenient and a superb deep pool only accessed by diving or ladders. (not great for little ones) They have family rooms villas and standard rooms both king twins or king double. Rooms are like a spacious motel room large bed with side tables reading lamps air conditioning plus punker fan a four ft high fridge TV with remote writing desk lots of drawers wardrobe locking and a personal safe shelves drawers loads of convenient places to unpack ensuit open plan a bit primitive and outside Lanai has two wooden arm chairs and table a garden in front for privacy cross a path and the pool is there. They have several lounges some large Umbrellas for shade and the pool is surrounded by a plethora of tropical gardens frangi trees palms and all manner of exotic plants, Breakfast is served in a pleasant open plan dining area and is on from 7.30am till 10 am and free WIFI fro 10am till 10pm. A free book exchange multi lingual and the daily paper in English is delivered - front office books anything you want staff smiling caring helpful and your happiness is their focus and honest as. Do have a fair smattering of rules but it is - as you note when staying there perhaps needed to make people aware of being responsible for the benefit of all. So central - Serves drinks 24/7 and is just such a very happy place to be.Safe and so central look it up and enjoy like I do this hidden gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Solonomad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    75
    24
    2
    13
See reviews for
42
56
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just 50 metres off Poppies Gang 1, behind the Secret Bar/Rest, opposite Havana Cafe, is this well priced hotel. Just 400,000Rp for a double room on the ground floor, 2 metres from the pool. Simple, clean and tidy and incl. breakfast.

Room Tip: The pool is literally 3 paces from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KevWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Secret Garden Inn located just off Central Poppies Lane 1 is a budget hotel, with 38 different size units, offering accomodation for all types of travellers, starting at 400,000rp a night. Although just off Poppies Lane 1, the hotel complex itself is very quiet, due in part, to the layout of the buildings, surrounding the central pool. The gardens are well maintained and lush.

I stayed in a poolside air conditioned standard room, located on the ground floor. The rooms are of a standard size for the type, and new beds have just been installed. The new large beds are firm, but very comfortable. There is a Television in each room, of the non flat screen type, but worked well. A bonus is that some english channels are available (BBC etc).

Room cleanliness was very good and was within my expectations.

WiFi is available in most rooms (Check with management) included in the price, and is available 24/7. Convienence stores are less than 100 meters away.

The building has security 24/7 and each room has a digital safe.

The pool is very deep, possibly not suitable for some younger children, but cleaned daily.

A simple breakfast is included (Eggs any style) Toast/Jam, Fruit tea coffee and juice (Sausages, bacon for small extra charge) which was served hot and prompt.

The management and staff are all very accomodating and friendly, and seem more than happy to cater for extra requests, for little or no charge. All rooms are non smoking, there is a table and 2 chairs provided outside each room.
.
This hotel will appeal to the budget travellers, both young and old.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is a place with a variety of accommodation doubles twins family rooms villas 38 different units on three levels. I have stayed there avoiding our Australian winter since 2004. The pool is deep and crystal clear. The room I stay in has a king size bed with side tables and twin reading lamps a remote controlled TV a punker fan also A/Conditioning with personal control - lockable wardrobe shelves a safe spacious bench writing area drawers a four foot high fridge - ensuit is an open room with under floor heating that dries it up quickly - outside your room is a private Lanai with two wooden lounge chairs and table a garden in front and a path - cross the path and you are at the pool 10 lounges and several shade brollies a free international book exchange and the daily paper is delivered in english. Breakfast is served I think 7.30am till 10am. Wifi is free and offered from 10am to 10pm. Breakfast is served in a pleasant setting consists of two eggs boiled poached fried or scrambled 2 slices of toast Butter Jam and Vegemite. tea or two kinds of coffee or orange juice I think, Extras can be ordered - sausages bacon tomato etc., They have a Bar and a variety of drinks are available. A large fridge and bottled beer soft drink and water is available at all times and a competitive price. Staff are very carefully chosen. I have found them pleasant honest caring and a very happy group who make returning there like "going home" My husband died last year and urged me to return - and I did, at first reluctantly but he was so right, they all made me welcome and glad I came and many of our family came over too and all of us enjoyed being there. It is close to so many eateries and bars. Poppies 1 is a busy crowded bustling venue. It is true some taxis do not want to go up but Staff at the Inn and hire vehicles just outside the Inn will organise hire vehicles at good rates gladly. See where Christine M reports a bad experience. May I say on the opposite side to where I stay next door there was a massive building project which did create dust and possible stirred up insects but other than having an occasional wave of mosquitos that they regularly spray to prevent since first staying there in 2004 I have had no complaints. They are always painting, up grading areas, provide several little cane lounges with cushions nooks to convivially relax on and it is ten minutes to the beach on foot and less to Legian Street. The rooms are cleaned daily beds made towels changed and we have never had any complaints. Occasionally things have gone wrong - alert management and they deal with it. Look it up and judge for yourself. I would happily recommend it to adults or families with teenage children. They have family rooms but the depth of the pool is not easy for very young ones. The pool is surrounded by a colourful very attractive garden many frangipanni trees of contracting colours ferns and so much greenery makes having a swim and reading a delight. They provide 24/7 security and have very efficient night security at all times you do feel safe while being a guest. This year I will be returning for a few Months and feel so glad to be doing this - surrounded by quality eateries and bars with easy access to go anywhere - also Office Staff will help book or locate anything you are interested in. It truly is a hidden Gem.

Room Tip: I think being there is the main thing - which side of the pool eems to matter little and upstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FriedaM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Right in Poppies 1. Central to the beach and Legion Street. Very friendly staff, clean rooms. Bathrooms aren't the nicest I have seen, but its not advertised as 5 star. Pool is clean but deep, which is no problem to me, but could be for young children. Nice and quiet location. Some taxi drivers won't take you up the lane as its very narrow, but if you offer them an extra 20 000rp, they'll drive up to the door. The low price also incudes a basic breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaljotam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia - Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stay here every year and don't have a bad word to say about it, it’s in a fantastic location close to everything restaurants, shops, markets, beaches and if you do feel like getting out of Kuta most places are a 20 minute taxi ride. The hotel has great staff that are very accommodating there is a fantastic pool area to relax in it’s like your own little oasis.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelChick87_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed there just for one night and left. Thanks god I hadn't prepayed. Room was a disgrace, full of cockroaches and filthy. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#15 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#20 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#44 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Barong Resort
Grand Barong Resort
#62 of 251 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#22 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Inn

Property: Secret Garden Inn
Address: Poppies Lane I, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean and quiet budget hotel nestled down in the popular Poppies 1 Lane, Kuta, Bali ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Hotel Kuta
Secret Garden Inn Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing