We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING VENUE”
Review of Sunclad Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunclad Villa
Ranked #96 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed after a busy Conference. It was relaxing , peaceful and quiet. Staff were excellent and attentiveand made the stay very enjoyable. Rooms and ammentities were clean and very up to date relectding renovations and good care. Whilst its a little away from main areas the drivers can get you to all popular day and night spots. It was excellent to just ditch the clothes andenjoy the sun and atmosphere. If you want a relaxed hioliday in Bali in a clothing optional and stress free environment this is the place . I will be back at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali_Berlin, Manager at Sunclad Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hi Bruce

Indeed the overcrowded popular spots are about 3 km away, a 5-10 minutes drive from the Villa. On the other hand, to have a relaxing, quiet atmosphere where clothing is an option (and rarely seen), we have to be a bit on the outskirts.
Downtown is noisy, day and night, and the Laki Uma Villa concept would not fit in highly frequented areas.
Several people on business trips stay and work from inside Laki Uma Villa, as there is excellent WiFi, tranquility and do not need to get dressed.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Nick&Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Sunclad Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Laki Uma is located in a quiet street in the Umalas... I love to relax by the pool, enjoy the greeneries, smelling the fragrance of flowers and plants, and hear the birds singing away. The staff are friendly and helpful, will endeavor to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The staff will help arrange transportation if you need to visit nearby places. For added convenience, there are two minimarts (one opening soon) around the corner. There are also a few warungs and a few massage outlets int he neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KCCheahSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali_Berlin, Manager at Sunclad Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear KC

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us after your good experience in Bali au Naturel. Indeed the neighborhood is still quiet but developing – there are now a dozen or so nice restaurants within walking distance, one just being just next door, there are ATMs and three convenience stores open 24/7 just 50 mtr away, new spas are mushrooming and the whole area is fast developing as a high quality hotel and resort area, without being too crowded.

Nick&Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Laki Uma Villa is just such a lovely place, we keep coming back. Very nice villa, quiet, now even better after some renovations. A bit outside the hustle and bustle of Seminyak, just the way we like it. The rooms are clean, well equipped and modern, we like the Master bedroom, but all the other rooms are equally nice, just a bit smaller. Very nice staff, transport is never a hassle, in short: like home away from home. Due to the small number of rooms it also never gets really busy in the house, even when fully booked, which is great.

Room Tip: if you like a bit more space, go for the Master bedroom, the bathroom is as big as some other hotelr...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amadeusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali_Berlin, Manager at Sunclad Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hi Amadeusm,

Indeed Laki Uma Villa can only accommodate 14 people, so it never gets too crowded and the staff can still provide you a personalized service. It only gets busy during our monthly Naked Pool Parties.

Thanks for staying with us several times.

Nick&Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My partner & I stayed for 2 weeks in the Glass House at Bali au Naturel and spent our final night in Laki Uma before travelling back to a rather chilly Perth in July 2012. Our first time in Bali, this was a fantastic place for complete relaxation and rejuvenation. It was quite a drive to get up to the north, but it's certainly worth it. The setting on the beach is idyllic. The Glass House is stunning, although we ended up eating and spending most of our time in the main part of the resort for the company of the other guests and staff - with only six rooms, you are never going to feel crowded (although expansion seems to be on the cards!) As other people have mentioned there is not a massive variety of food, and the options for eating out are very limited - but we went there expecting that, so were pleasantly surprised at the quality and flavours of the lovely Balinese dishes that were available. We didn't even bother with the European dishes - if I want spaghetti bolognese, I'll do it myself or go to Italy!

The staff here are truly wonderful. Duli and his team go out of their way to assist with anything you might need, and the occasional technical hitch (e.g. partying frogs in the indoor pond) is swiftly dealt with. There is a real family atmosphere here (but not in a 2.3 kids and a cat kind of way) that makes Bali au Naturel even more attractive, and the sweet and friendly dogs, Cruccio and Snoopy, are very cute! Don't come here expecting action, action, action. It's just not that sort of place, thank God!! If you want that, there's plenty of other options elsewhere.

The only slightly negative thing for us was the length of the massage - although very nice (we had a daily massage at Bali au Naturel and also tried the 4-handed at Laki Uma), it lasted only 1 hour, inclusive of the body wash - not the 1.5 hours advertised.

Duli, the Manager, organised our last night in Laki Uma, an excellent suggestion. Apart from the great shopping we managed to get done in Seminyak and a night out in the bars, we didn't have to feel stressed about getting to the airport in time and dealing with a long drive just before our flight. As an idea, this is highly recommended!

The Glass House was certainly a luxury option, and not one we would normally opt for. However, with the transfers, massages, excursions and food all included (as cheap as they are with the AU$), it's still pretty good value for money. In any case, the other rooms are certainly spacious and beautifully decorated - all ensuite.

All in all, a fantastic holiday. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Team_MG_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijaya N, Manager at Sunclad Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks. Laki Uma Villa in Kuta is indeed the preferred option for guests in transit before going up northto Bali au Naturel or for a last day of shopping and night life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The villa under went some renovations in late Nov./Dec.2011 I had called in to see what was happening as I was in the area I must admit it looked a disaster area.How ever the reno's were a complete success the villa is now better than I could have imagined it. I booked for 14 days in late April/May It is now more open plan very comfortable sun lounges to get that all over tan or just laze away a couple of hours by the delightful pool amongst lush tropical plants.
The staff were as attentive and obliging as ever.Breakfast served till late morning very late some mornings after a night at the local gay bars which the driver is only to happy to drop you at.Taxi's back to the villa only cost a couple of dollars.Wi-Fi is provided free of charge and is strong through out the villa.
Once again a most enjoyable stay. Many thanks to the staff Yandi,Putu, Ogik,Ewan and Yonsan. Will definitely be coming back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diver5167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijaya N, Manager at Sunclad Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks for your review. After nearly 10 years of operation (Laki Uma Villa is the pioneer of gay clothing-optional accommodation in Bali - and the rest of Asia !) the whole place underwent a total renovation and still going strong. The long-serving staff are still all there and the best asset of LUV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Laki Uma for 6 nights in late April/early May 2012. It is a beautiful open-plan villa with a great pool set in tropical gardens, and plenty of room to lay around either in the sun or the shade. it is not close enough to walk to any of the main tourist areas but the staff will take you anywhere you want to go in Seminyak, Kuta, Legian etc up until 9pm. A taxi back will only cost several dollars or so. The gay bars in Seminyak are only about 15 mins drive away. If you are so inclined there are some small cafes within walking distance (5-10 mins) and if you want to stay in one night you can easily order in.
We stayed in the Master room and it is fabulous! Very spacious, very comfortable bed and a nice big bathroom with a bath and a great shower.
The staff at Laki Uma are very friendly but also give you your privacy. Breakfast is provided, not a huge choice but what there is (bacon, eggs, toast or pancakes, coffee/tea, juice, fruit) is fine. Wi-fi is provided for no extra charge and this works very well.
The massages that I had were as good as any I have had anywhere!
The best thing about Laki Uma is that you can be naked for the entire duration of your stay. It is great not having to think about what to wear or bother with getting dressed in the morning.
Would definitely stay here again when next in Bali.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali_Berlin, Public Relations Manager at Sunclad Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear RusselJM,

We are at Laki Uma Villa would like to say thank you for being with us in April and glad to hear that you have been a wonderful time during your stay. Looking forward to see you again at Laki Uma Villa or our sister resort in Bondalem Bali au Naturel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

A tastefully designed spacious villa with a beautiful pool. I enjoyed my stay and mingling with other guest. As for the service, the staff could have been more attentive and accomodating. Sometimes it was difficult to locate them as they were resting in one of the back rooms. Some of them were chain smokers and were smoking excessively in the living room which made me rather uncomfortable. Some of them like the manager appeared arrogant when replying guests. Otherwise the villa was great and I would visit again if I am going to Bali...

Room Tip: master bedroom is huge. Other ensuite rooms are reasonably large too.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali_Berlin, Public Relations Manager at Sunclad Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Shon_12

Thank you for being with us and appreciated your constructive comment during your stay. We are working on the service improvement and we would like to welcoming you back in Laki Uma Villa or our sister resort in Bondalem, Bali au Naturel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
3.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#12 of 254 in Kuta
674 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fontana Hotel Bali
Fontana Hotel Bali
#24 of 254 in Kuta
759 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bounty Hotel
Bounty Hotel
#142 of 254 in Kuta
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
#14 of 116 in Kerobokan
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Laki Uma Villa
#24 of 46 in Kerobokan
1 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bali Swiss Villa
Bali Swiss Villa
#84 of 116 in Seminyak
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunclad Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunclad Villa

Address: Umalas - Krobokan, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Price Range: $57 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your absolute privacy and safety is guaranteed - we are located in a secluded and quiet area, and the Villa is surrounded by a high wall. Nudity is optional everywhere within the premises, and nudity in and around the pool is compulsory. Clothing is not an option. There is sunshine in the garden around the pool from 09.30 am until 16.00 hrs. And often there is great fun at night in and around the swimming pool - it's all up to you and your friends. exact address is never given away over the Internet and there are no signs to or on the Villa. This to avoid unwanted guests and there are no walk-in customers. It is totally private. All guests will be met at NGURAH RAI International Airport in Denpasar or anywhere in Kuta or Denpasar if arriving over-land. Activities within the Villa can be organized by the guests, at their discretion. No rules, except NO drugs, NO commercial sex and NO minors. Catering service from most restaurants in Kuta is available. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sunclad Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laki Uma Villa Hotel Kuta
Sunclad Villa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing