We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sorga Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sorga Cottages
Ranked #137 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very reasonable for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My partner and I are elderly, he is 82, I am 72 but we have stayed in a deluxe room both times we have stayed here, we found the room was comfortable and CLEAN ok the paint may be a bit old but what do you expect for the price, the staff are great, very polite and helpful, bathroom was also clean, yes it has some faults but these are small, the breakfast is not that filling but you can always have an Indonesian breakfast if you are really hungry,the WIFI is expensive,and like most places in Indonesia there are small furry beasts around whether rats or not I am not sure,
I certainly would stay here again as was made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, someone mentioned bed bugs, We didnt get bitten. Unfortunately this time we visted the council was putting in new drains etc on the lane outside the hotel which was an inconvenience but we coped, If hiring a car try to get the smaller jeeps as they cope betterwith the traffic in Poppies lane

Room Tip: try to get the deluxe rooms as they have hot water and Aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
11
46
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

bugs almost everywhere in the room, mattresses completely worn out and filthy, not to mention the floor and the bed-heads. pool was OK and staff was friendly - so therefore 2 points but not more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoparoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Hyeres, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

The only two positive points about this hotel is that it is awesomely well situated and that the staff is very nioce. Appart from that, the hotel in itself and the rooms are so old! There is no air conditioning but only a ventilator... Whiwh by the way makes an aweful noise! I had to go and get some ear plugs!! However if the furniture is almost decaying, the staff made sure that the romms were cleaned everyday. But at one point, there was no hot water, then the water from teh sink turned brown. And then no electricity! Dogs barking at night! Well really disappointed and at the end of our stay, we decided to change hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aure_83_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

This place can be either good, or bad, depending on what you're looking for (and what you're used to). If what you have in mind is a good hotel, with basic amenities and strategic location, you'll be sorely disappointed. If, however, you're more of the backpacker hostel-goer with a penchant for slumming it, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Location-wise, the 'hotel' is about 5-min walking distance from Kuta beach. However, you will need to navigate through some very narrow lanes (about the width of 1 car) which can prove to be a challenge when getting there by car or if a car happens to pass by, and that does happen. Along the lanes you will get many locals trying to peddle their services (transport, massage, etc) but then again that will happen everywhere here in Bali. If you like street shopping for knick knacks, you will pass by Poppies Lane when getting from the beach to the hotel.

Positive things about the hotel : It's within walking distance from shops/restaurants/beach etc. And if you don't feel like walking, there's a lot of people willing to offer transport there. They also rent out motorbikes. The hotel has a fairly decent pool with some deck chairs spread out for you to enjoy the sun when you're too lazy to walk to the beach or to get away from the constant peddlers you face when attempting to sunbathe on the beach. Reception / staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are relatively clean, with nice balconies you can hang out on.

Now for the negative: If you take one of the fan rooms, there's practically no amenities in the room. Although, for the price you pay, that'd be pretty much expected. No kettle/tv/fridge, and the only plugpoint available was in the bathroom, presumably for shavers. If, like us, you happen to opt for a triple room, beware of bedbugs. I was unfortunate enough to be the one using the 'additional' bed, and there wasn't a single night I could get through without going through a crazy scratching frenzy. My two other mates on the permanent beds were fine, though, so I'm hoping it was a one-off thing, although it was an obvious turn-off about the place. Breakfast menu is very limited, it's basically 2 pieces of toast + 3 fruit slices + coffee/juice + an egg, choices would only be how you want the egg to be cooked.

Overall, I'd say for backpackers who are used to cramming it with 12 other people in a dorm would be pleasantly satisfied with this place, it's definitely what you get for the price you pay. As for anyone else, it wouldn't be fair to be too judgmental about the place when you're paying peanuts, right?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Booked in for 8 nights, stayed 5, and that was 5 too many. First room I was shown was dirty, as was the 2nd. I upgraded to Deluxe (an extra £67) which was only marginally better - had an old TV set, no kettle just a flask of hot water, ants everywhere - even in the cups - grey sheets and towels, mouldy headboard that had the most awful smell, no mosquito nets - there were mozzies everywhere; and, when I took the sheets off the bed, there were disgusting stains on the mattress.
Internet cost £2 per half hour, and no free wifi either.
I was charged £12 for an airport transfer - I organised my own on the way back for £2. Having negotiated the rank lanes to get to the beach, there were loads of locals who just wouldn't back off - touching Westerners as they walked past, blocking their way, trying to run into them on their motorbikes - not a pleasant place. Beach was full of rubbish, and the sea had all sorts of dubious stuff floating in it.
How Bali can be described as 'paradise', I don't know. I would never go there again

Room Tip: If you must go to Bali, choose a 5 star hotel in the middle of nowhere, and just stay in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodstock1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Actually iwas a little bit shocked when the employee gave me a room before it was cleaned. But finally, they're apologized and we changed the room on 1st floor. That was great, it's like in 4star hotel, but the breakfast especially the fried rice is really underseason .
People are nice, the swimming pool is good, and i also like the ambience.
RECOMMENDED HOTEL IN POPPIES ;) !!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinkawidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

stayed for two nights,the location is superb,very close to the beach,my room is on the third floor,and with air-corn. and TV,room is clean,breakfast is ok,simple but not worst,during my stay ,they held a ceremony inside the hotel,very special and memorable experience!recommend to all backpackers

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#111 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fat Yogi Cottages
Fat Yogi Cottages
#159 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balisandy Resort
Balisandy Resort
#157 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dekuta Hotel
Dekuta Hotel
#128 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Walon Bungalows
La Walon Bungalows
#132 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandat Hotel Legian
Sandat Hotel Legian
#212 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorga Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorga Cottages

Property: Hotel Sorga Cottages
Address: Jl. Poppies 1 Gang Sorga, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorga Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Kuta Beach, Hotel Sorga Cottages boasts an outdoor pool and rooms with private bathrooms. It offers free usage of safety deposit boxes at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Free WiFi access is available in public areas. Hotel Sorga Cottages is located a 10-minute walk from Beachwalk Shopping Centre and 15-minute walk from Kuta Art Market. It takes 20 minutes to drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport from the property. Airport transfers can be arranged at a charge. Providing either air conditioning or a fan, rooms are fitted with wooden furnishings and tiled flooring. Guests can relax in the seating area while enjoying views of the greenery. Select rooms come with a cable TV. Bath and shower facilities are included in the attached bathroom. Staff can assist guests with car rentals and laundry requests. In-room dining options are possible with room service. At Sorga Restaurant, guests can enjoy a variety of Indonesian, Chinese and American dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sorga Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorga Hotel Kuta
Hotel Sorga Cottages Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing