We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorg Cottages - and Kuta - avoid both!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sorga Cottages
Ranked #130 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sorg Cottages - and Kuta - avoid both!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Booked in for 8 nights, stayed 5, and that was 5 too many. First room I was shown was dirty, as was the 2nd. I upgraded to Deluxe (an extra £67) which was only marginally better - had an old TV set, no kettle just a flask of hot water, ants everywhere - even in the cups - grey sheets and towels, mouldy headboard that had the most awful smell, no mosquito nets - there were mozzies everywhere; and, when I took the sheets off the bed, there were disgusting stains on the mattress.
Internet cost £2 per half hour, and no free wifi either.
I was charged £12 for an airport transfer - I organised my own on the way back for £2. Having negotiated the rank lanes to get to the beach, there were loads of locals who just wouldn't back off - touching Westerners as they walked past, blocking their way, trying to run into them on their motorbikes - not a pleasant place. Beach was full of rubbish, and the sea had all sorts of dubious stuff floating in it.
How Bali can be described as 'paradise', I don't know. I would never go there again

Room Tip: If you must go to Bali, choose a 5 star hotel in the middle of nowhere, and just stay in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodstock1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
15
46
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Actually iwas a little bit shocked when the employee gave me a room before it was cleaned. But finally, they're apologized and we changed the room on 1st floor. That was great, it's like in 4star hotel, but the breakfast especially the fried rice is really underseason .
People are nice, the swimming pool is good, and i also like the ambience.
RECOMMENDED HOTEL IN POPPIES ;) !!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinkawidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

stayed for two nights,the location is superb,very close to the beach,my room is on the third floor,and with air-corn. and TV,room is clean,breakfast is ok,simple but not worst,during my stay ,they held a ceremony inside the hotel,very special and memorable experience!recommend to all backpackers

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I have stayed at the Sorga plenty of times over the last 8 years. It's a small family-run property in a back alley off Poppies 1. It used to be a hidden gem among expats, NGO-workers, long-time guests, retirees and the ingenious traveler. Then it got a review in Lonely Planet and it was all over with the atmosphere and hordes of backpackers started descending. First of all, this is NOT a resort. It is also not a 3-star hotel. This is a good solid reliable budget option in the midst of Kuta. The location is great, close to everything you need, but tucked away enough to be quiet and not so hectic. For $25 for two, you get an aircon room with a basic Indonesian breakfast and a small but very convenient pool. If you are noise sensitive, you want to be in the back building to the left and the ground floor rooms are quieter. The upstairs room above the compound walls get the disco noise from Jalan Legian - some nights. Depending on fellow guests, it might be noisy around the pool and restaurant area. Other than that, it is a peaceful hotel. I would go for the more expensive room, they have better beds and are a better deal.
If you are used to Western hotels and you are fussy and you are a non-seasoned traveler, you will not like it. If you have traveled Asia before, then you will be pleasantly surprised The staff are all lovely and have been there for years. The airport pick up is free and reliable. The rooms are clean and are cleaned daily. Yes, there might be mould due to the humid climate, the water pressure is bad, some sheets are old but all are clean. I have never had a rat problem in my 8 years there. I have stayed in almost every room for up to 1 month at a time. They store your luggage while you are away and they welcome you when you get back.
Overall, it is the best of the bunch and at $25 per room, you will not get a better deal.

Room Tip: Take the ground floor rooms in the back building to the left for the least noise - away from pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Hotel was good location,10min walk to the beach and to busy streets. Pool looked ok but never use it Room was good size and had tv with good channels ,but i dont think is worth $25 night what we paid!

Sheets had cigarets hole's ,pillows were moldy!!! breakfast were boring .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Gifu, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We chose this hotel for the cheap rate and airport pickup. When we arrived in Bali the hotel driver was waiting for us at the airport. He was friendly and professional, despite us being stuck in the horrible taxi queue for over an hour and having to deal with some really rude revelers.

When we finally arrived and the hotel and checked in we were set to sleep. Until, at about 4 am we were woken up by what sounding like a rats-only fight club meeting in the ceiling of our room. We were really really trying to sleep after getting to Bali at 2am and the hotel at 3am, but it was useless. We were slightly concerned about the ceiling being too weak to support the weight of the angry and/or fornicating rodents above.

Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Sorga on our 1st night. This is located in Kuta. A deluxe room with breakfast + free airport pickup costs us Rp.295.000.

Not bad, but it has a creepy feel. The bed is fine, but it looks very old. The bathroom looks haunted.

Again, for the free pickup, their rate is fine.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank riandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#110 of 251 in Kuta
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balisandy Resort
Balisandy Resort
#154 of 251 in Kuta
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fat Yogi Cottages
Fat Yogi Cottages
#155 of 251 in Kuta
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Walon Hotel
La Walon Hotel
#136 of 251 in Kuta
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Restu Bali Hotel
Restu Bali Hotel
#149 of 251 in Kuta
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jesen's Inn II
Jesen's Inn II
#107 of 251 in Kuta
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorga Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorga Cottages

Property: Hotel Sorga Cottages
Address: Jl. Poppies 1 Gang Sorga, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorga Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Kuta Beach, Hotel Sorga Cottages boasts an outdoor pool and rooms with private bathrooms. It offers free usage of safety deposit boxes at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Free WiFi access is available in public areas. Hotel Sorga Cottages is located a 10-minute walk from Beachwalk Shopping Centre and 15-minute walk from Kuta Art Market. It takes 20 minutes to drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport from the property. Airport transfers can be arranged at a charge. Providing either air conditioning or a fan, rooms are fitted with wooden furnishings and tiled flooring. Guests can relax in the seating area while enjoying views of the greenery. Select rooms come with a cable TV. Bath and shower facilities are included in the attached bathroom. Staff can assist guests with car rentals and laundry requests. In-room dining options are possible with room service. At Sorga Restaurant, guests can enjoy a variety of Indonesian, Chinese and American dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorga Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorga Hotel Kuta
Hotel Sorga Cottages Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing