We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

TJ's Mexican Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 951 Restaurants in Kuta
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wen't to this place after reading some of the reviews. The food was not bad, though nothing to rave about, and the margaritas were unexceptional. The staff was friendly enough. Guess if you're hankering for mexican food this is the place to go, as there aren't many choices in Kuta

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doncoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    363
    140
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Best Mexican in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went last night, the food was amazing and the strawberry margaritas were even better, my husband even ordered seconds and it still only set us back $120 for 4 people. Service was fast and friendly. Will definatley be going back next visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ami81b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not that great after all...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is an ok. mexican however for the price that you are paying and all the good reviews me and friends expected more...
Taste was ok but not fantastic. The starter of TJ nachos were not really existing nor much.

For the price that we have paid you can eat much better in Kuta. However it was a nice change to have mexican but not amazingly good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice food but waiter was snob”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Came to tj because of reviews and since we stayed at the hard Rock kuta, it was a close distance. We were served by a man, didn't read his name. He was so snob when we ask for table other than the one he gave us, he talked behind our back saying thing that aren't supposed to be said. I heard that but didn't want to argue. The reason I didn't want the table was because it was very close to toilet. So after that we just ordered, eat, and left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ij0han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Level Contributor
718 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Just as good a year later”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Was in Kuta again and remembered a good Mexican restaurant, went up Poppies lane and found TJ's. It was great, had enchiladas and taquitos, probably some of the best we've had anywhere in the world. The beef was scrumptious. Would highly recommend. Service good, nice atmosphere. If you're ready for a little Mexican, go to TJ's. The milk shakes are good too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's Mexican Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to TJ's Mexican Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing